We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Five star?”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Not at all sure that this qualifies as five star except in one respect - the prices. Whilst I have no real
problems with the hotel as such the quality is most definitely not 5 *. The rooms are a bit worn, the acoustics from the bathroom are off putting as is the opening into the bedroom, the lack of a separate shower is not good - I have a bad back and stepping in and out of the bath is problematic. The beds are rock hard although the hotel provided two soft covers which helped. The prices in the restaurant are European city centre prices as are the drinks. If the food was Michelin starred I could just about understand it but it most definitely is not - average at best is how I would describe it. The commercial logic of this escapes me - unsurprisingly the restaurant was completely empty when we were there despite the hotel being full. Crazy?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    77
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
125
414
45
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Perfectly located.... Dinner at the Pool is delicious and romantic. There are not many sunchairs at the Pool side. Rooms are nice but we had to change After check-in because of a noisy Generator. We very much like this place. The view from pool and room is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roemsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel about four PM and were led into a beautiful open aired lobby opening up to a serene setting of an outdoor fire pit burning and amazing gardens. After having a welcome drink we decided to have a ninety minute massage that had to be one of the best ever. After the massage, we were like "melted butter" and decided to eat in the hotel rather that venture out. We had a drink by the outdoor fire pit and then ate in the restaurant. The food was not "hotel food" and the meal was delicious. The next day, after touring, we sat by the pool, had a drink, and enjoyed the amazing view. The whole experience at this hotel was just so casual and "laid back", yet elegant and service oriented. The management, especially the hotel manager, was always involved with the guests, and insured our stay could not be better.

Room Tip: There are only 34 rooms and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesol6718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

La Residence Phou Vao is a gorgeous hotel. We had a room with fabulous pool mountainview which I highly recommend. Decor is gorgeous and landscaping very pretty, all lit up with lanterns at night. Dinner by the pool was excellent and very romantic.
This hotel outshines any I have ever stayed at with it's outstanding service. We forgot a wallet in the safe, which housekeeping immediately found and handed in to the front desk. They proceeded to look up our departing flight information and sent a porter to the airport, who got through security in order to personally hand us over my wallet ten minutes before we boarded plane. I have been unable to thank and tip all the people involved with this extraordinary effort but would like to praise them in public for great team effort and wonderful service to their guests.
Thank you to the staff at la Residence.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchgirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRPV, General Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Dutchgirk

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and with the TripAdvisor community.

We are glad to know that you had a wonderful stay here with us. We are flattered by the compliments you have given our hotel, our rooms and our staff. These wordings will be shared among every department as an inspiration to give our guests the excellent service that you deserve.

It is our hope to be in service with you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

John Dopere
General Manager
La Residence Phou Vao by Orient-Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONTEFRACT
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a great place to stay and close to the airport (15 mins). We arrived towards the end of evening service in the restaurant, but were accommodated with no problem.
The food was simply first class, wonderfully spiced and very tasty. Another contributor commented about the cost of wine by the glass....yes, at $18 per glass it was too expensive, but that should'nt detract from a really good hotel restaurant.
The grounds are well kept and sadly we didn't have time to use the pool.
The hotel runs a shuttle into town at pre-defined times. We were waiting one evening and the shuttle didn't arrive. The hotel manager, John, immediately took us in his own car...a really nice touch and a charming man who always made time to talk to his guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david1960uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Calm, mysterious morning fog, attentive service, fantastic breakfasts, dinner by the pool-divine!
After a busy two weeks in Myanmar we were ready to relax. Lovely swims, excellent massages,comfortable room-paradise!

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the pool have a view that is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_borins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is just an excellent hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like a welcome family guest. The service is superb and the hospitality first rate. We were upgraded to a suite which was luxurious and spacious. The room was spotless, quiet with a large bathroom with all the goodies. We used the restaurant which was lovely and the bar for less formal eating where the choice was good and the service, again, was terrific. The hotel is on the edge of town so gets the benefit of being quiet and the complementary shuttle to town worked fine and was available on demand. One of our best stays anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Property: Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Address: Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned atop a hill, gazing across the sacred mountains, Belmond La Résidence Phou Vao is an unforgettable place to stay. Its calm, tranquil ambiance echoes that of sleepy World Heritage town of Luang Prabang - former royal capital of Laos - spread out below. Designed in a traditional style, this intimate hotel is gemmed with teak, silk and fresh cotton accents. The hotel's Phou Savanh restaurant is famed for its wonderful French-influenced local cuisine while Doc Champa bar offers guests a range of Laotian and classic cocktails. The award-winning Mekong Spa blends ancient techniques with modern understanding to ensure complete indulgence and well-being and is the first luxury spa in Luang Prabang, Laos. Furthermore the hotel offers a gym, boutique, tours & excursion desk, meeting room and organic garden with cooking class area. The hotel's 34 suites are elegantly furnished with emphasis on local styles and materials. The combination of parquet and traditional Lao textiles creates an immediate sense of peace and space in all suites. Large windows provide plenty of natural light and open onto the exotic gardens. A conveniently arranged terrace offers privacy, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing