We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply superb!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simply superb!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Everything is completely perfect. When you need to get off the spinning world, this is the place where you get off. The service is perfect. The chef of this hotel is one of the best chefs i have ever known. Every plate he serves is combined perfectly making it a masterful one. Our room was not smelling very good when we arrived and they immediately moved us to another one. They take you to downtown in a shuttle at your request practically. We took a full day tour on the Mekong river and it was the most amazing experience. It is an extension of the hotel. The little boat where they take you is perfectly equiped so ot feels royal.
Everything about this hotel is perfect to relax.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChuRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRPV, General Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear ChuRE,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your expedience at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our services, the restaurant and the tour arranged through us.

Thank you also for the additional background information for fellow travelers

Already now we are looking forward to welcome you back to our little corner of paradise soon again.

Kind regards,

John Dopere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    77
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
122
410
44
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Excellent service. Outstanding surroundings. Food was delicious......menu was quoted in US$ which was a treat, after converting got the past month.
Easy access to the most delightful town...shuttle service was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy+Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRPV, General Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Nancy+Louise T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It's a great pleasure to read that you had a superb holiday with us in Luang Prabang.

Kind regards,

John Dopere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

GM was so kind and present. F&B staff are very attentive. Front desk staff were very helpful. The best spa. Great team work. Well prepared for outdoor trips. The hotel is stunning over the great mountain view of serenity and great atmosphere. It was my special first trip in Luang Phrabang. And it was excellent treatment and great experience of La Residence Phou Vao. Can't wait to be back in the next winter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patchara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRPV, General Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Patchara D,

Thank you very much for your your review. It's with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your break with us in Luang Prabang and we are very happy to share your feedback with the rest of the team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in January next year.

Best wishes,

John Dopere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There is no word of "unsatisfied". Everything is more than perfect. Staff are very nice and friendly. For the spa, it was so good and you felt relax with professional therapists. The room is very beautiful with a nice view. You can spend your time alone on your own small terrace of your room. That was a wonderful holidays that I ever had. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gessarin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRPV, General Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Gessarin M,

Thanks for sharing your experience. It's a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to share your review with our Mekong Spa and the rest of the team.

Already now we are looking forward to welcome you back soon again.

Kind regards,

John Dopere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

From the moment we arrived the hotel staff and management were exceptional: warm, welcoming, helpful, attentive, but in a very gentle and respectful way. The tour up the Mekong River , visiting villages and the caves on the hotel's own luxury flat river boat ( including king bed for nap on return if desired) was exceptional, as was the day trip up to Tat Kuang Si Waterfalls ( this one a bit overpriced tho).
Pristine pool is beautifully positioned to enjoy view of frangipani trees, the town and hills beyond, and a short call to the bar, where there is a surprisingly extensive wine list including Australian and NZ wines. Enjoyed a great evening meal poolside at the hotel, and two great meals at restaurants in town, booked by the staff, including drop off and pick up. Exceptional all round. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view facing town centre below probably quietest and great views to Mt Phou Si Budd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickJE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRPV, Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear RickJE2014,

Thank you very much for staying with us and to share your experience. It was indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind compliments have been passed on to my fellow Team Members. At Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, special emphasis is placed on staff training and it is always rewarding when guests voice their appreciation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

John Dopere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Looking around you in Luang Prabang you may appreciate this place as a long shot from its surroundings. What attracts one to this time forgotten place in Laos (Luang Prabang I mean!) is true and unspoiled authenticity, a travel way back in time, serenity, millennia of history to almost touch, humility, piety, you get it…
In this atmosphere, and surrounded everywhere by backpackers living in as meager conditions as the monks, La Residence Phou Vao it’s a oasis of relative luxury and very hard intended first class service one may say, but I would not go so fast…
And here is why:
One may argue how difficult would be to replicate the level of service, amenities and general conditions one would expect in the western world so far away from it. The difficulties of training local people, to import some of the ingredients, etc.
But then one should not command the same level of prices as in the-so-far-away western world!!!
And this place would probably be considered exceptional at 30-50% discount versus what they ask for, flaws and all.
But at the prices they feature compared to what others do around them they may as well get their act together. In the western way!
At least the slurs of cheap accommodations around are offering an honest deal: low price low quality.
An example: sipping cocktails in the bar I was given the wine list to choose a bottle for a special dinner occasion booked long time in advance.
After choosing three consecutive ones and been told (each time after a waiter’s 5 min trip to… “the cellar” I guess) they are out of stock on that particular one, I gave them a break and asked for a list with the actual available wines. I was given one with only three or four. I choose a 2005 French bottle of red tremendously overpriced but said to myself: Hey! It’s a good year plus you are where you are!
But then I blew my top when instead of that I received a bottle of the same wine from 2009 and when I protested was told that in Cambodia the year is an approximate matter. I’m not kidding you!
Now: a scene like this in a $50-100/night place would be normal and funny.
But when you pay $6-700/night for the room and that dinner was $500 for two, then it becomes not so funny anymore.
To set the record straight, I was offered the wine at 50% discount after raising hell a little, but, regardless, I hope you get my point on the level of sophistication you can expect.
Otherwise, the rooms are generous enough and clean, the lobby luxurious and tropically outdoorish, the swimming pool clean and practical, the grounds well maintained and the staff courteous. The breakfast is skimpy and three starish but better compared with what the monks have.
I’m not sure if the Aman is a better bet or this place remains one’s only bet to decent accommodation.
Luang Prabang commands more modesty and is worth being a bit less demanding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes-Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRPV, General Manager at Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Hermes-Ro,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Whilst I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our destination and facilities, I was very disappointed to learn of the frustrations you encountered during your dining experience. On behalf of our staff, please accept my sincere apology. We are committed to exceeding the expectations of our guests and will be providing further training for our staff on how to handle such situations as well as looking at ways to improve the accuracy of our wine list to ensure others do not experience similar frustrations.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your honest feedback.

Sincerely,
John Dopere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is our fourth time in the hotel. We visited 2005, 2006, 2007 before. This place is still kept so well. Nothing seems to have changed after all the years. The interior design of the room is very open air, making you feel blending in with the natural surroundings. A total relaxation. We have been to many top end hotels and this remains our favorite.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hsin+Hsin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Property: Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Address: Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned atop a hill, gazing across the sacred mountains, Belmond La Résidence Phou Vao is an unforgettable place to stay. Its calm, tranquil ambiance echoes that of sleepy World Heritage town of Luang Prabang - former royal capital of Laos - spread out below. Designed in a traditional style, this intimate hotel is gemmed with teak, silk and fresh cotton accents. The hotel's Phou Savanh restaurant is famed for its wonderful French-influenced local cuisine while Doc Champa bar offers guests a range of Laotian and classic cocktails. The award-winning Mekong Spa blends ancient techniques with modern understanding to ensure complete indulgence and well-being and is the first luxury spa in Luang Prabang, Laos. Furthermore the hotel offers a gym, boutique, tours & excursion desk, meeting room and organic garden with cooking class area. The hotel's 34 suites are elegantly furnished with emphasis on local styles and materials. The combination of parquet and traditional Lao textiles creates an immediate sense of peace and space in all suites. Large windows provide plenty of natural light and open onto the exotic gardens. A conveniently arranged terrace offers privacy, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing