We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon in August 2009. The hotel was perfect, the service was impeccable, the view was breathtaking. This hotel is located on a hill overlooking Luang Prabang - the view was amazing! They always had a car available to take us into town - but we found ourselves spending much more time in our beautiful hotel that we usually do when we travel. I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic breathtaking trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao, because the only thing better than welcoming you, is welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

If I close my eyes, I can still see the temple atop Mount Phousi at night, the gold chedi magically alight and seeming to float in the mists. I can still remember the delicate duck ravioli with crunchy bean sprouts in a fragrant broth we ordered from room service our first night. I can still feel the chilly night air as we walked along a lantern-lit path to a candle-lit spa pavilion, and massages which were nothing less than transcendent.
There are only a few things I could fault about Residence Phou Vao and the four nights we spent there last year, but there are many more I could rhapsodize about. Is it acceptable to rave about a breakfast buffet and the creamy home-made yogurt, the soft scrambled eggs and tasty french bread without sounding like some post-colonial horror? The service is so remarkable as to leave you humble; to ask more of anyone would seem barbaric.
The location on the outskirts of town is truly not a problem. We never had trouble finding transportation home from downtown. In fact, the night we had spent all our in-pocket dollars and kip at the night market, we found a driver to bring us back to the hotel and wait while we went to our room to get the fare.
What would I do differently? Book a mountain-view room and eschew the pool view, as dinner is served on the terrace below your room and it’s less than romantic to hear diners carrying on late into the night - the view from a mountain room is just as stunning. I checked before I left. I’d schedule more spa treatments, lots more spa treatments. They’re an unbelievable bargain. I would find more time to eat breakfast. I would tip the staff even more than I did -- they deserve it.
Some memories are so lovely they almost hurt. It’s taken me a year to write this review, because the memory of Laos is so poignant. Residence Phou Vao added immeasurably to our visit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comment on the tripadvisor website, your recognition of the extra care we take makes it all worthwhile.

We are most delighted to learn that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, and that you found our spa 'transcendent' and the staff 'remarkable'.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Lao hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Had a great stay there in Feb. Service was outstanding. Staff couldn't have be nicer or more friendly. I agree with all of the other reviewers who rated this as "excellent". Things to note:
- most of the reviews that are not "excellent" are older or had some issue with their reservation or hotel arranged tour. Everything about the property is outstanding. You will have a memorable stay here.
- the hotel is not located in the town. It is very close to town and the hotel always had available transportation to town so it is no big deal. I have stayed in the town before and I personally prefer to stay at a lower end place where I can roll out of bed and walk around the town.
- La Residence Phou Vao is not for value or budget minded travellers. Everything they do is first class but it comes with a price.

If you can afford it this is an incredible place to stay. Rooms were very comfortable. Food was fabulous. Service was over the top. We didn't want to leave. Everyday when we woke up we called the airlines to see if we could move our flight out by a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Résidence Phou Vao.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao, because the only thing better than welcoming you, is welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We booked a Mountain and Pool View Room and when we walked in we had a beautiful view of the mountains and a temple off in the distance. The bed (with mosquito netting) had flower petals all over it and there were even flower petals in the toilet. The room had a beautiful terrace with 2 beds. The service was outstanding, food was great and the bar was a wonderful place to start the evening. We had a couple's massage ($110/90 minutes) and it was so romantic and relaxing. It was wonderful to come back from dinner and find the mosquito netting over the bed and a plate of Macroons to snack on. The bathroom was huge, clean and well appointed. The staff were so friendly and they always took us into town whenever we asked. Luang Prabang is such a beautiful and yet undiscovered place and I can't wait to go back. The only other hotel that I think compares to this one is the Four Seasons in Chiang Mai, Thailand. If you do come to this part of the world, please stay here. It fills early so you'll need to book at least 6 months in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanzanoNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal observations regarding your stay at La Résidence Phou Vao. Your opinion is very valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and in ensuring that your expectations are met each visit.

Additionally, we would like to thank you for your kind comments in noting that you found the service at the hotel ‘friendly’ and ‘outstanding’, the spa 'romantic' and that you appreciate us trying our very best to make your stay a special one.

It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Luang Prabang!

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

La residence is a very unique, charming, refined hotel. The rooms are fantastic and furnished with style, beauty and all the comfort. Upon arrival i was upgrade to a mountain-view room with a fabolous terrace overlooking Luang Prabang central hill.
Breakfast buffet is one of the best with fresh bakery and local breakfast options too.
The swimming pool area is very charming as well.
Management and staff are of superior quality, also compared to other "orient Express" hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angienyc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed for 7 nights in Oct 2009 with our then 16 month old daughter. From the moment we arrived we were blown away by the beauty of this hotel. It is small and intimate and the staff are exceptional. The fresh flowers all over the hotel - changed each morning - were gorgeous. We stayed in a mountain view room next to the infinity pool.

The rooms are massive and stunningly designed. The king size bed was luxurious and covered in a romantic mosquito net. Our baby had a beautiful teak cot and her own mosquito net hung from the ceiling - a thoughtful touch. The large outdoor terrace had two chaise longues and we spent a lot of time there, enjoying the extensive range of complimentary specialty teas and Lao ground coffees (the room has its own plunger and glass tea pot). The bath is huge and the bathroom is generously sized and looks out at the terrace and across the tree tops.

We stayed in a mountain view room and strongly recommend the extra expense for this - the view out to Mt Phousi is incredible. You can also get this view from the pool and restaurant though, if you can't get a mountain view room. The infinity pool is stunning and we enjoyed the glass of hibiscus juice that was delivered to us each time we set up camp by the pool.

Dinner in the restaurant, beside the pool, was a delight. The food is incredible, and the table decorations and pretty candles spread all over the hotel were gorgeous each night. Breakfasts included crepes with chocolate sauce, exotic fresh juices and the usual works cooked to order.

There is a free on-demand shuttle into town - ready within minutes of requesting it and starting from 5.30am - so the location sightly out of town is no problem at all.

We have stayed in many top end hotels all over the world and consider La Residence Phou Vao the best value we have ever encountered. The size of the room and beauty of the furnishings and all of the special touches (I didn't even remember to mention the nightly mini tray of macaroons on the pillow with turndown service) left us feeling the hotel was a bargain compared to many places you pay a similar amount for. We had a fantastic and romantic time, despite travelling with a baby (!) and strongly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a very special experience in a beautiful natural setting.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cannotpacklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Résidence Phou Vao.

Additionally, we are most delighted to learn that you consider our hotel 'the best value ever encountered' and that your stay was a 'very special experience'.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao as it would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Luang Prabang!

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We visited Luang Prabang over the Valentine's weekend and we truly got to say that our stay at La Residence Phou Vao is indeed the highlight of our trip. This hotel is fantastic in many ways. First, we booked into Room 502 of their mountain pool view room that has a beautiful view of the infinity pool and Phousy temple. In the evening, the hotel specially lights up the Phousy temple so that guests can enjoy the night view while having their dinner at the Phou Savanh restaurant. The food is really up to high standards having prepared by their French executive chef Mr Nicholas Reynard. He is both versatile in preparing both French cuisine as well as Asian food. The General Manager of the hotel, Mr Phillip Bissig, is a very friendly and nice person who, despite his high position, took the time to speak to the guests to find out about their hotel stay as well as to address any concerns that we may have. Also not forgetting to mention the very pretty and kind Miss Nina, who is from Austria, who always is smiling and making the guests feel comfortable. Overall, this hotel really has high service standards and i will definitely recommend people to come and try this hotel to see for themselves what i meant. You will not regret your decision.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal observations regarding your stay at La Résidence Phou Vao. Your opinion is very valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and in ensuring that your expectations are met each visit.

Additionally, we would like to thank you for your kind comments in noting that you found our hotel 'fantastic', and the staff and management ‘friendly’, ‘kind’ and 'versatile'.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao, because the only thing better than welcoming you, is welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
783 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Address: Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £241 - £557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned atop a hill, gazing across the sacred mountains, Belmond La Résidence Phou Vao is an unforgettable place to stay. Its calm, tranquil ambiance echoes that of sleepy World Heritage town of Luang Prabang - former royal capital of Laos - spread out below. Designed in a traditional style, this intimate hotel is gemmed with teak, silk and fresh cotton accents. The hotel's Phou Savanh restaurant is famed for its wonderful French-influenced local cuisine while Doc Champa bar offers guests a range of Laotian and classic cocktails. The award-winning Mekong Spa blends ancient techniques with modern understanding to ensure complete indulgence and well-being and is the first luxury spa in Luang Prabang, Laos. Furthermore the hotel offers a gym, boutique, tours & excursion desk, meeting room and organic garden with cooking class area. The hotel's 34 suites are elegantly furnished with emphasis on local styles and materials. The combination of parquet and traditional Lao textiles creates an immediate sense of peace and space in all suites. Large windows provide plenty of natural light and open onto the exotic gardens. A conveniently arranged terrace offers privacy, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing