We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Trip arranged for the pair of us by Audley Travel.

Had room upgrade !

Mountain /Pool view they have 4 of them. Extreme comfort and luxury . Hot and cold running service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAISASOSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

a wonderful oasis in this unesco heritage city in Laos. Knew it would be nice as it is an orient express hotel but could not imagine how special it is.The staff changed my room 3 times as i need to have wifi which was just being installed throughout all of hotel. Gave me a chance to check out several lovely rooms.Very spacious, charming rooms with lovely terraces some large enough to host a party,. By the time you read this the wifi will work everywhere.
The young French chef is very attentive and meals are excellent.
Made the mistake to eat out at a restaurant that was horrible and sorry i did not dine more at residence where the wine list and the mixed drinks were world class as well as the food preparation..The lighting through garden and infinity pool is totally romantic at night and very charming.
I surely reccommend it to all except families with small children. It is a very quiet place and they want to keep that element of serenity which does not bode well for little kids.
Every member of the staff makes you feel special and it is a great place.
it is 7 ks out of the city but the shuttle is always available to bring you and pick you up but then why leave at all?

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonneka187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for staying with us at La Résidence Phou Vao and for sharing your positive experience with others. Your opinion is very valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and in ensuring that your expectations are met each visit.

We are most delighted to learn that you enjoyed our 'very spacious and charming' rooms as well as the meals in our restaurant and the general service at the hotel.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao as it would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Luang Prabang!

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

i like the pool and when you are in the hotel room sometimes, you get the mountain view and the food tastes good, and there is so many activities to do in there.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamawesome24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We had three nights in this splendid hotel at the end of February. Our (mountain view) room was very spacious and well equipped. The food was excellent and the staff efficient and friendly. The hotel is beyond reasonable walking distance to the old town but they operate a free shuttle service. The pool and spacious gardens are highlights. The internet is free but not high speed. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hasherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for staying with us at La Résidence Phou Vao and for sharing your positive experience with others. Your opinion is very valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and in ensuring that your expectations are met each visit.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments in noting that you found our staff efficient and friendly, the food in our restaurant excellent and that you enjoyed our spacious, well equipped rooms.

It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Luang Prabang!

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

From the moment we stepped into the lobby we were treated to a warm welcome from the management, all staff and porters. The resort design, layout, room design, landscaping and maintenance of gardens was ouytstanding in this special setting.
The restaurant, quality of food and service was a credit to the food and beverage manager, chef and waiters. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamc39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

A lovely hotel with very attentive staff made our all too brief stay a wonderful experience. Service in all respects to a very high standard. Charming and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon in August 2009. The hotel was perfect, the service was impeccable, the view was breathtaking. This hotel is located on a hill overlooking Luang Prabang - the view was amazing! They always had a car available to take us into town - but we found ourselves spending much more time in our beautiful hotel that we usually do when we travel. I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic breathtaking trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2010

Dear Client,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We certainly hope that your future plans to visit Laos include La Résidence Phou Vao, because the only thing better than welcoming you, is welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Address: Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £285 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned atop a hill, gazing across the sacred mountains, Belmond La Résidence Phou Vao is an unforgettable place to stay. Its calm, tranquil ambiance echoes that of sleepy World Heritage town of Luang Prabang - former royal capital of Laos - spread out below. Designed in a traditional style, this intimate hotel is gemmed with teak, silk and fresh cotton accents. The hotel's Phou Savanh restaurant is famed for its wonderful French-influenced local cuisine while Doc Champa bar offers guests a range of Laotian and classic cocktails. The award-winning Mekong Spa blends ancient techniques with modern understanding to ensure complete indulgence and well-being and is the first luxury spa in Luang Prabang, Laos. Furthermore the hotel offers a gym, boutique, tours & excursion desk, meeting room and organic garden with cooking class area. The hotel's 34 suites are elegantly furnished with emphasis on local styles and materials. The combination of parquet and traditional Lao textiles creates an immediate sense of peace and space in all suites. Large windows provide plenty of natural light and open onto the exotic gardens. A conveniently arranged terrace offers privacy, comfort and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing