We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to avoid”
Review of Culture Guesthouse

Culture Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Culture Guesthouse
1 review
“Place to avoid”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse is located in the center of Luang Prabang. The prices are relatively low and beds are not that bad. However, there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling, the sink was leaking and we could hear the water pump functioning all night long.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Augustin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
2
8
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 6 am and the receptionist made us pay for the whole night which can be understandable but the room was insanely noisy with a water pump active all night which is around 60-80dB. There was a big hole in the roof of the bathroom and the humidity was out of control.
It should be forbidden to rent such a room and the owner even asked us to leave at 11.30 so 5 hours after checking in. Insane.
Avoid room 1.5 at all costs and this guesthouse in general...
Price paid for the 5 hours: 150k kip

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Luang Prabang is a lovely town full of beautiful guest houses for a much better price than this one. The hotel is fine in terms of a building but the owner is not a very nice man. The man who works on reception is nice enough. We booked on Agoda and paid for our stay in advance. This caused great confusion for the hotel manager and owner as they had forgotten their Agoda log in details and the hotel email account password. They spoke to Agoda several times during our 3 night stay and yet still wanted us to pay again. On our last night they called the police on us, which was very distressing and annoying seeing as we had paid, they knew we had paid and that it was their problem for forgetting their passwords! The hotel owner did not care and seemed to find the ordeal funny. Agoda were helpful with us and refunded our money and we quickly left. We found a much nicer, cheaper and cleaner guest house on the street next to this one. I'd recommend avoiding this place - I wouldn't trust leaving your valuables in the room and if anything goes wrong, they would not help you at all! The strangest experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This guesthouse is located in an excellent place, rooms are clean and prices for them are relatively low. Staff is friendly, wi-fi is free. You can order a bus to go to other cities here, or rent a bycicle to ride along the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandershalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culture Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culture Guesthouse

Property: Culture Guesthouse
Address: Vat That Road Ban Horxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing