We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Satri House
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We arrived at Satri House after a long seven hour car journey and had a very warm welcome from the staff and manager of the hotel. The hotel is beautiful, with a warm character and atmosphere. Our room was spacious, elegant and very well equipped. . The bed was large and comfortable with a mattress topper and very good quality pillows. Best nights sleep of the whole holiday. Well appointed bathroom with large shower and constant supply of hot water.
The grounds are well maintained and very nice swimming pool which was well attended by the hotel staff. We had dinner once at the hotel which was delicious but we ate the rest of the time in town where there was more choice and atmosphere. Don't let the position of the hotel put you off,(10 minute walk out of town) as tuk tuk's are always available and very cheap.The lack of English spoken by the staff was not really a problem as one of the managers always seemed to be around. A nice touch....the manager let us stay in our room after check out time to enable us to have showers etc as we didn't leave until late in the day for our flight. My only criticism was they had run out of tonic in the bar so I had to go without my G and T !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gitract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    105
    27
    19
    6
See reviews for
88
270
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Great grounds. Fab food. Completely covered in artwork. Could not count them all in our suite! Suite however quite strange the liv rm was separate. You had to exit room, lock it and go next door to non private space...we never used it. WIFI was very limited and slow. 10 minute walk to start of main area. I would take tuk tuk to far end of town and work back. As great as it was I would stay along small river on backside of old town that was best part of town quiet but one block from action

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We were surprised at how close we were to just about everything. Location was perfect, so central -- night market, fresh market, currency exchange, good restaurants, temples, the river....

I enjoyed the quietness of the hotel with the lush gardens. Having a library with all sorts of magazines and books was a marvel idea. The rooms were fairly large. Not everyone in the staff was proficient in English though, but they were very polite and trying their best. I must make special mention of a young gentleman named Domingo, who went out of his way to address all our group's needs and concerns.

I enjoyed our overall stay at Satri House and would recommend it to others.

I would have liked in-room coffee/tea service.

Because of the ponds in the premises I noticed mosquitoes but fortunately, I was never bitten.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milfloresdemanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Beautiful and exquisitely appointed property. Large and warmly decorated rooms. Well manicured grounds. However, the service provided just isn't what I have come to know as the standard for a Relais & Chateaux. The staff are lovely but they do not speak English for the most part (yes, I know I am in Lao) and it makes it very difficult to score points for service when simple requests are not understood -- at all. The manager and the restaurant supervisor are working to address a recognized gap and were very helpful in doing the extra to make our experience pleasant (much appreciated) but the staffing issues do need to be addressed to meet the expectations for a Relais & Chateaux and the price that goes along with that.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travelthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in satri house for 8 nights end of feb 2012. The hotel and grounds are absolutely immaculate and our room which was a junior suite was huge with a seperate toilet and bathroom and huge shower down 3 other steps that was almost another room. We had a twin room as requested and the twin beds do not have mosquito nets so I voiced my concerns to manager and he immediately offered to upgrade us to the satri house suite when it became available the next day. He said that he would make the housekeeping staff aware that they needed to spray our room thoroughly on the first night so that we didnt get bitten and sure enough there was not a single mosquito still alive when we went to bed. We liked our room so much that we stayed in that one rather than move and the room was sprayed every night so in the whole holiday I didnt get a single bite.
The pool areas and gardens were beautiful and were swept and cleaned several times a day. The restaurant was lovely and we had huge fresh breakfasts every morning.
Our room was made impecibly every day and fresh water bottles and sweet treats were placed beside our bed every night. The staff were hard working and very polite and gracious. They went out of their way to be helpful and their english language was very good. One of the managers, 'Keo', really spent a lot of time making sure that our holiday was care free and he really deserves a special mention for being a truely wonderful person and a great asset to Relais chateaux. The location was excellent, just a 10 minute walk to centre of town or 2000 kip (about £1.50) tuc tuc ride if it had to go the long way round as centre pedestranised at night for market. We always felt completely safe walking back to the hotel at night, even though we were 2 females together, and there was without fail always a staff member waiting at the gate. Air conditioning in room was excellent. Hotel provides complementary bikes with their own locks if you fancied a trip to town or the nearby phousey market and we used them regularly. The restaurant supervisor even got up at 4am in the morning on our day of departure to kiss us goodby and give us a packed breakfast. All in all I would definately recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
778 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

On the edge of Luang Prabang - a 15 minute walk from the "centre".. In a quiet street in lovely gardens with plants; terraces and swimming pools. Hotel comprises a number of (french style?) colonial buildings. Rooms comfortable; lovely beds, noisy air conditioners and not very functional "wet room" type bathrooms which flood when used. Rooms have a slightly musty odor to them.
Good restaurant - Lao food is suitably altered for western hotel type taste. Reasonable breakfast. Staff are very nice nd helpful but there is a language barrier )and perhaps a cultural one too) which means that things do take time/don't happen as they should. Pleased with the choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
297 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our recent stay at Satri House was extremely enjoyable - it is more like staying at a friend's house than staying in an hotel. Checkin in the sitting room was a very pleasant experience and I love the wood fire in the evenings! The attention to detail and the decoration were fantastic. The hotel is located a little out of the Old Town but it is easily walkable. The advantage of this is that it boasts 2 swimming pools, which are not allowed in the Old Town. The gardens are beautiful with lots of interesting nooks and crannies. Our room was great, apart from the mosquitoes which were ever present - thank goodness for the mosquito nets at night! It would also be very handy if there was a small mirror in the toilet! I think that the bed was like sleeping on a cloud - beautiful!
Breakfast was great but the coffee was very ordinary - any chance of improving on that? Now I am being picky, but I also think fabric napkins would be an improvement instead of paper(yuk!) ones for breakfast.
I just loved this hotel and would certainly return when next in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Property: Satri House
Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing