We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure.”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A treasure.”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

There seem to be 2 kinds of 5 star hotels. One has an army of staff, every conceivable pampering, an enormous buffet, and other signifiers of luxury. The other kind offers perfect peace, restraint, taste, and understatement. The Satri House is an example of this second kind. It has museum quality art, a lot of it. Also two swimming pools of jade green tile as well as natural pools for lotuses and turtles. The larger pool is long enough to swim laps in but the water is bracing. The bed screens (hand woven natural materials, of course) surround your poster bed in way where the gauze hangs straight and never touches the face. Such quiet and taste is simply not to be had where I come from (Washington, DC) or anywhere in else in North America, except maybe a museum after hours. Satri House seems to be affiliated with some other Asian hotels called Secret Retreats or something similar and I would search them out on my next trip to Asia.
On the down side the restaurant is too fancy for dinner (there are better choices in LP) and the breakfast menu is limited. I found the service much to my liking because it was unobtrusive and newer fawning. But if you like a big staff it might not be for you. One charming detail: they suggested a tuk-tuk to the airport rather than a more-expensive taxi. Whether or not you find this pleasing might be a good tell of whether or not this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Our room had 4 working French doors (!) 2 on each side. I would ask for a room with working French...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Jonathan,

First of all we would like to thank you for posting your impression after staying at Satri House.
We're all delighted to read that you find the property to be very pleasant, relaxing and beautifully decorated. We try our best to make you feel like if you were in a "home away from home".

As you mentioned, we are part of the luxury group Secret Retreats. All our hotel are located in Asia and all of them provide luxury experience, unique design and relaxing atmosphere.
Do not hesitate to check out our group website for more information at www.secret-retreats.com

Thank you again for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
We're looking forward to welcoming you again at Satri House Secret Retreats.

Best regards,

Satri House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    114
    27
    19
    6
See reviews for
100
292
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

This is a high class hotel which is pleasant enough but could be much better. Having just come from the River Resort in Champasak (reviewed separately) we were spoilt by the superb service of that hotel which this one came nowhere near matching.

The hotel is a collection of colonial-style buildings arranged haphazardly with 2 pool areas, which were surprisingly large for a town centre hotel. The buildings are very stylish and the pool areas looked inviting. They were never crowded during our stay. The location is in the western suburbs of Luang Prabang - an easy 15 minute or so walk to the night market and the town centre, or a short tuk tuk ride (costing around 30,000 kip). There is some noise from the surrounding houses but that is perhaps to be expected in an urban area.

The room - we were in room 223 for 4 nights. It was a spacious room, stylishly decorated, with a lovely large balcony (although no view). That said, the room was impractical in some ways. The windows had outside shutters which were a nuisance to open and close, the toilet was separate from the bathroom, and the shampoo and bath gel were in glass containers in the shower compartment, which could be extremely dangerous if they were dropped on the tiled floor. The room had wooden floors, very nice but creaky and noisy in places. The room's air conditioning unit seemed quite old and was noisy, especially as it is situated directly over the head of the bed. The room had ceiling fans, but these were useless as one speed was very slow and the other speed was extremely fast and noisy.
The doors all slam shut and so are noisy. This is a problem as many guests rise very early (6am) to see the alms giving ceremony in the town, it is not easy to have a lie-in.

The most disappointing aspect is the breakfast, which is poor for a high quality hotel such as this. It is not the usual buffet selection, but instead you have to order every item. Sometimes you get a menu, sometimes you don't. The choice of Laos food was very poor (basically 3 soups). Essentially every time you get some orange juice, tea/coffee and French pastries, and then have to ask for anything else, such as muesli or eggs. On our final morning the service was chaotic, we waited ages for the juice, had to ask twice for muesli, we didn't get the fruit or pain au chocolate we asked for, they had run out of yoghurt for the second morning. It is a shame, as the breakfast room is pleasant and it was not busy - the breakfast was disappointing and simply not good enough for a hotel which appears to think it is one of the best in town.

We found the staff pleasant enough, although clearly not trained to the level of those in the River Resort.

We ate out at the Blue Lagoon, l'elephant and Tamarind restaurants. All were fine, but Tamarind is Lao food only and l'elephant is on the pricy side. We liked the Blue Lagoon as it had a good range of local and Lao food at reasonable prices with quick service.

Overall the Satri House is a pleasant, very stylish and attractive hotel, but it needs improving in some aspects.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Townsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your impression on Tripadvisor.
It is a joy to read that you liked your room and the facilities provided.

We will continue to improve our services and our employee's skills in order to provide better service to our guests.

We thank you for your constructive review and hope to welcome you again at Satri House.

Best regards,

The Satri House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent 3 days' stay at this charming, very stylish, homely cool hotel. Everything is in perfect sync to enjoy a great relaxing experience: the beautiful rooms (we had 2 lovely rooms), the lounging opportunities in the salons or in the garden, on a sunbed or in a pagoda, or on the room terrace, or near the pond, or in the cosy bar or in the 2 tempting swimmingpools...Any place in the hotel, consisting of 4 houses offers a specific unique spot to endulge, and the total picture radiates a relaxed exotic athmosphere. It is most enjoyable for the senses with delicious food as well as the friendly personnel and the nearby bubbly town, which can be explored by bicycle (available when needed). A real gem hidden in beautiful Laos with a striking right balance in comfort, luxury and zen....

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank annavanacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SatriHouseMGMT, Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Anna Vanacker,

The team of Satri House joins me in thanking you for having chosen our hotel in Luang Prabang and for taking the time to post such a kind review.

It's a real pleasure to read that you found Satri House to be that beautiful and quiet.
It is true that the size of the property always gives you the opportunity to find some very charming and relaxing places around the hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your impressions.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again at Satri House if you come back to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

The Satri House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our favorite part of this hotel were the grounds and the pool. The outside areas are beautiful and very peaceful. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff did a good job with the turn down service including mosquito spraying each night. Service was slow at the restaurant and sometimes we had to ask for things multiple times but the servers were friendly and, with all the charming cafés and restaurants a short walk away in town, it wasn't that big of a deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller008058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for posting a comment following to your stay at Satri House.

We appreciate your constructive comment and remarks. We will, of course, do our best to improve our services.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you plan to travel back to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Satri House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk res
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel about 10 mins. walk from town. It is a converted 'palace' with numerous public rooms.
Breakfast is lovely (we eat out)......a nice little bar. Our room was large and airy.
The problem, which others have mentioned is Management....the front desk staff are poorly trained and do not understand easy questions. Check out was a minor nightmare with three people who seemed to occupy our room and their charges applied to us! We soon sorted it out!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Kattyukres,

Thank you for your comment and remarks on Tripadvisor.
All the team strives hard to provide professional service while improving their english level.

Thanks to your comment we will keep working on improving our service and make sure to reach our guest's satisfaction.

Your sincerely,

The Satri House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at Satri House for New Year Eve 2014 for 3 nights and the overall experience was a nightmare: there was no heating system in the rooms, in the restaurant in the spa whereby our total bill for 3 nights was over 1,800 USD. It can be cold in Luang Prabang at that time of the year and hotels and restaurants all over the city provide small heating devices to their customers while Sathri House did not. Internet was not working properly. As there was no kettle in the room, I asked for "hot water for a tea" at 11pm and got the reply that the kitchen was closed. One of the staff organised a boat trip for us and we found out the following day that we paid 100% than the normal price. When we addressed these issues to the General Manager of the hotel he acknolewdged it (including in an email) apologised but failed to provide a partial refund/ discount on our total bill. We were offered instead an upgrade for our next stay as if leaving in London we were likely to come back to Luang Prabang ... the whole experience was highly upsetting, unprofessional, despite the beauty of Luang Prabang and its temples. I strongly advise NOT to stay at Satri House as there are lots of other Hotel/ Boutique Hotel which offer much better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheSyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Virginie,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday in Luang Prabang.
I totally agree with you that at this time of the year, the weather was exceptionally cold in Laos.

I would like to mention that we did put extra heater everywhere in the restaurant as in your room.

I would like to mention an other very important thing. You complain about a 100% extra charge for an excursion. The thing i don't understand is that you never speak about any problem like this when we spoke during your stay and before you check out. You definitely mentioned the cold weather but never noticed to me this extra charge.

In the email that you sent to us, requesting a 40% refund of the entire stay, you were complaining only about the weather and threatened us that if no refund were done, you will then post a very bad comment on Tripadvisor and many other website and media.

When i read that you said that i "approved" an extra charge for an excursion that i never heard, i find it rude as it is totally wrong.

Be aware that Tripadvisor is a way to express your review, sharing real feelings and real facts with others.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our 4th visit to Luang Prabang and I was really looking forward to staying at the Satri Housefor the first time. Despite all the other glowing reviews unfortunately it just didn't push all the buttons for us. There are lovely antiques all over the hotel and the rooms and bathrooms are very stylishly decorated and well appointed with beautiful asian pieces of furniture and touches but... Most particularly the rooms were noisy. Not because of the cockerels as in Luang Prabang you can't escape them but they are very echoey. I don't know whether the walls are hollow, but it was as if our neighbours were in the same bedroom except they weren't being noisy. The staff are lovely and very friendly but lack training and speak little English. Breakfast in particular was a shambles. Most mornings there were several staff milling about but no-one actually in charge. In four mornings we were never actually given a menu although they do exist so we would look around at what everyone else had and order from there. I ordered breakfast one morning which never arrived although the owner who arrived after us was served immediately. Reception is manned overnight but not by any managers until around 9.30am so if you have a question requiring an answer you need to wait. Not ideal if sightseeing starts at 9 o'clock. It was quite cold whilst we were in Luang Prabang. I think when the weather is better this hotel would come more alive as it is in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Not ideal for elderly people or if you have difficult walking as there are steps everywhere and ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maynris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Maynris,

Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.

We're happy to read that you loved the property and the staff. In the other hand, we would like to apologize for the bad impression that the breakfast gave you. We are, every day, improving our quality service and the team is working hard to keep it constantly.
We are surprised about the comment regarding the managers at reception as, every day, one supervisor starts working at 06.30am. Those supervisors are the one who can deal with all your questions, inquiries, bookings,...

Thanks to your remarks we will keep improving our facilities and services.

Your sincerely,

The Satri House's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Property: Satri House
Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing