We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Apsara
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Pleasure”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Apsara was truly a pleasure. The room, with balcony overlooking the Mekong, was very attractive and comfortable. The only issue, first night only, was noise fom the adjoining room. Staff were very pleasant and eager to please. Breakfast was excellent. Location was perfect in this lovely city. The lights across the street on Christmas Eve were beautiful! The restaurant was excellent. Would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    135
    34
    18
    4
See reviews for
40
194
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

After being in Nong Khiaw and Muang Ngoi we checked in to this hotel for 1 night (they were full the day after and we had to move to another hotel). Upon arrival we were treated very well and the cool water being served to us while checking in was so delicious after a long days trip.
The price is a little steep compared to other cheaper alternatives in town (we paid 85$ for 1 night in an upstairs room) but we enjoyed the stay and felt it was worth the money.
The room was spacious, high to the ceiling, lots of windows & balcony and with a good bathroom. All usual amenities.
The bathroom looked a bit worn out though - but not in any way bad and we still enjoyed using it.
All in all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookingfordru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

A friendly and relaxing hotel which is well sited in Luang Prabang.
Enjoyed our stay and the staff were excellent. Ivan the owner sets the atmosphere and standards.
Will go back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed three days at the Apsara and loved it. The rooms are huge with a little porch, a stylish if slightly dysfunctional bathroom (granted it looks nicer without shower curtains) and a beautiful large bed. Staff is lovely and very helpful, breakfast fine and available until midday and the location on the Nam Khan river and close to everything is unbeatable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Plus : great restaurant, good location and comfortable room. We will be happy to recommend it

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank instantnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This building has a lot of history behind it, and you can sense that it's seen a lot over the years. Still, I expected a little more for what I paid for, even though it was the best place we stayed at on our 3 week trip through Thailand and Laos. Location is everything, this place has the best in the town. We saw all the attractions in the town by foot with a 4 and 6 year old. Our first night was a little tedious as we felt a a little locked in by the double shutters and dark windows, and the air conditioner rattled an inconsistent rhythm throughout the night while the ceiling fan scratched away in it's unbalanced orbit. But other than that, the room was great, what a difference a high ceiling and a little extra space can make for a family of four. We were in the downstairs as children are not allowed upstairs, and it was super quiet, both from street noise and other guests. We only ate breakfast at the onsite restaurant, I believe they have worked on improving the breakfast menu based on other reviews I have read here. And their coffee was excellent, good strong laotion coffee served from a fresh moka pot was the best I had.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dacky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

enjoyed our stay at the Apsara, good value 'superior' upstairs rooms have balconies overlooking the river, big comfortable beds and huge bathrooms. Staff very helpful and nice breakfasts - generally relaxed and easy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbottomley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Property: The Apsara
Address: | Banks of the Nam Khan, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Apsara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing