We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on our trip”
Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Apsara
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

During our one week in beautiful Luang Prabang we ate here 3 times. The food was spectacular, heavily influenced by local and Thai flavours and textures with enough of a twist to make it unfamiliar and exciting. Mushrooms with rice flour and slow cooked buffalo cheeks a standout.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for The Apsara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We began our trip to Laos with 4 nights in Luang Prabang, and were both so glad that we decided to stay at The Apsara. What a wonderful hotel!

The place is full of character - rooms are large, open, airy and beautiful, with wooden floors, high ceilings, a comfortable and stylish four poster bed, and an excellent bathroom. We opted for the Upstairs Superior River View room, which opens up onto a balcony with a view over the Nam Khan river. We loved chilling out on the balcony looking down on the river and enjoying watching the world go by. Only very slight drawbacks were that the bath taps did not run, though this was not the end of the world, and on Sunday morning there was no power so we had to have cold showers before leaving - though this is apparently a Luang Prabang problem, so no fault at all to the hotel!

The restaurant area is also terrific - you'd think having it right in the hotel lobby wouldn't work well, but it does. The terrace is right by the street, overlooking the river - such a terrific setting. We didn't have dinner at the restaurant unfortunately, but we did enjoy an evening cocktail (the house cocktail here is an absolutely delicious lychee and lime concoction, created by the owner of the hotel - don't stay here without tasting it!) and also enjoyed our breakfasts here. The breakfast starts with fresh fruit which differs each day but was never anything other than delicious, followed by toasted french bread and a pair of jams that also differ each day, you then get a choice of dish to be cooked for you, I sampled, on different days, the eggs with bacon, the chai pancake, and the rice porridge, and thoroughly enjoyed all of them, and my friend really loved the omelet. All this is washed down with a cracking pot of coffee. We looked forward to our breakfast here every morning, and on our final morning our tuk tuk driver was thankfully happy to wait 10 minutes for us to finish our breakfast before taking us to the bus station, and thank goodness!

I also can't say enough about the location. This is a quiet part of town, but still only a very short walk to everything you will want to see in this amazing town. We loved the location right on the Nam Khan, and as an added bonus it's right next to Tamarind restaurant which is where we ate our favourite meal in Laos, and also opposite the Khem Khan sin dad restaurant which also provided us with a terrific eating experience.

The staff are really helpful and efficient here. The Lao gentleman that picked us up from the airport (included with the room we stayed in) was a particular highlight, entertaining us with stories and providing us with loads of helpful information, and the English gentleman that checked us in was also terrific, staying past his shift one evening after the restaurant had closed to make us a late night cocktail. We booked our minivan to Kuang Si through the hotel, and while it was expensive at $50 we were glad to be able to do the trip in our own time, rather than sharing with others, and we were glad not to be taking the long journey in a tuk-tuk! Everything you could possibly ask for, the staff will provide - staying here really is a top class experience.

At $130 a night a river view room at The Apsara is obviously expensive by southeast Asian standards, however for us it was absolutely worth it. It was a real pleasure waking up here every morning, and coming back here each night after wonderful days exploring Luang Prabang. I really loved staying at The Apsara, and was disappointed when I had to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spangove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nothing to complain, rooms, food, staff, location, all quite nice. No idea what to improve. Value for money to. Would come back and would recommend to travellers coming to Luang Prabang to stay here. We stayed there for a week.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a nice hotel, with tasteful interiors, clean and spacious rooms and a super comfortable bed. We stayed in a room downstairs in another building. These rooms go directly onto the street, however, street noise is not a big issue since you will wake up early anyway (daylight, roosters, cats; this is Laos at its best and you better get used to it if you intend to travel in this region. And since it gets dark early too, you'll find enough sleep).

The location of the hotel is perfect, the prices are reasonable indeed, compared with other guesthouses located in the vicinity, and the staff is very welcoming. And most importantly: They do have a great restaurant, do try it out!

However, we were not so happy with the concierge services: We tried to book 3 trips through the hotel: Firstly, our onward travels to Vientiane, they were not able to get us a driver. Secondly, a boat trip on the Mekong including lunch and a visit of the famous caves, they forgot to book a day before and on the next morning the trip was fully booked. Thirdly, and finally, an Elephant trek: We asked them to book with Elephant Village (an organisation they do promote themselves) in order to avoid an experience with mistreated animals. We only realised that they booked (contrary to our instructions) a trip with an other organisation when we stood in front of the animals and saw a wound on the head of an Elephant - quite sad. Thus, we advise to book with an agency in the center instead.

Finally, if you're traveling between December and February: Be aware that it can get cold in Laos, below 10 degrees celsius at night, and that both restaurants and most of the hotels/guesthouses are not built to keep you warm (open windows etc.).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreasB_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

An excellent vacation staying over New Year. After a long road trip from Vang Vieng we were warmly greeted by Ivan, the owner, who made us all feel very welcome. A great New Year's dinner was a perfect start to 2014. The food and service was great and noticeably a notch above the more local eateries. The wine list is well put together and is very reasonably priced, a bargain compared to Bangkok. All in all a wonderful stay and I welcome a speedy return to The Apsara for the ambiance, serenity, dining experience and overall great holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATHA-BGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed in the lovely Apsara Hotel which overlooks the river in the little town of Luang Prabang, Laos while we were travelling in Asia. Although the Hotel is small the rooms are a good size with a large bathroom/shower which also have a small balcony with a view of the river. The Owners are lovely and every morning served a beautiful, if simple breakfast on the ground floor. The breakfast included fresh orange juice, eggs, home-made jam and bread. The Hotel is situated very close to the middle of the town with many Restaurants. At night the streets were turned into outdoor street markets which sold a very wide variety of goods and it was great fun to barter.

Room Tip: Book a superior room which is on the first floor and overlooks the river.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet3197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Without a doubt our favorite hotel in Luang Prabang. Second time here, with both stays extended at hotel because it felt like being with family, centrally located, superb restaurant , amazing staff, in a very comfortable room. You can not get more value for your dollars the. A stay at the Apsara

Room Tip: Staff will happily help you in all your needs
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 68 in Luang Prabang
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 68 in Luang Prabang
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#12 of 68 in Luang Prabang
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Address: Kingkitsarath Rd | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £38 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Apsara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing