We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel notes and restaurant”
Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Apsara
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel notes and restaurant”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Of course, this is a great boutique hotel as others mention but I have to add that the room notes are the funniest I have read in a hotel, as well as being informative. They reflect the friendly style of the English owner. And the restaurant here is an absolute find. Excellent modern Asian fusion from an Australian chef with his front of house French Canadian wife is served at a very reasonable price. All in all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    136
    35
    18
    4
See reviews for
41
194
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

All three hotels where my wife and I stayed during our recent trip to Laos did not rate a "very good" based on our years of traveling in Nepal, Vietnam, and Cambodia. At all three hotels, the problem seems to be management.
Although we had some problems with email connections, Ivan handled our reservations in an acceptable manner. Upon arrival we discovered no WiFi in our room. The Apsara Laotian desk Internet person was unable to remedy, so it was decided that we should move to another room. Since this required Ivan's approval, he was called and arrived to discover the Ethernet cable was unplugged at the server. In the middle of our first night in Room #10, the AC stopped working. In the morning, water was dripping on the floor from the AC and the ceiling. (The guest from two doors down - Room #8 said they had the same exact problem the first night.)
We also had a sink spigot that was completely unattached and bed comforter with a blood? stain. After we explained the problems to Ms. Siew (one of two employees with English skills,) all three problems were remedied the next day. During our three days, Mr. Loun (the other English speaker) made a valuable recommendation for a "doctor" at a local pharmacy for my wife when she wasn't feeling well. Mr. Loun was cheerful, helpful and the person to seek when a front desk attendant was unable to understand my sign language (a frustrated effort on my part to make a local call from room.)
The Apsara two buildings (coincidently the other two hotels also had more than one building) require management to more be "hands on." At all three of the hotels where we stayed, the "locals" would have received a higher rating. Without Mr. Loun and Ms. Siew, our overall rating would have been "poor, with them a "good" rating, not an option with Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Upstair balconies are small, but provide a nice window onto the lively street scene. Superior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Wonderful location. Lovely conversion. Lots of real character. Upstairs room was charming. Staff and management were friendly, attentive and informative. Breakfasts were good. The evening meal we ate there was tasty, nicely presented and surprisingly inexpensive.

Oh, the WIFI was horrible in the room. And don't drop peanuts on the bedroom floor, they drop between the old ,wooden boards and are difficult to retrieve!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Loved the hotel and the staff. This is one of the most elegant hotels we stayed in during our 3-week trip and service was impeccable. We stayed in a 2nd floor double superior room with a front-facing balcony over the Nam Khan river. Beautiful! Great location, within walking distance of everything but close enough to the tip of the peninsula to feel away from the crowds. Our room had a large & comfortable 4-poster bed with 2 pillows each! The airy & spacious room has a lovely, old-fashioned feel to it, with lovely wooden floors and a step-up to the bath area. I hesitate to say “bathroom” as there is a large bathtub outside the toilet/shower room, which is blocked off with a standing screen. Never used the bathtub but the shower was fine (and, unlike another reviewer, never had a problem with the hot water running out).

Breakfast was excellent, with both western and Lao options. Juice, fruit, coffee, and homemade jam (delicious!) served with the meal. We ate dinner here one night and loved it – I wish we had more time to spend in Luang Prabang as the meal was our favorite during our stay.

Service could not have been better – someone else mentioned the lovely Catherine; she was a wonderful hostess/waitress and discreetly oversaw the restaurant staff; service could not have been better. The front desk staff was gracious and helpful with whatever questions or concerns we had.

Although there are many other places to stay, we were very happy with our choice. I’m sorry we were not able to stay longer – Luang Prabang is a languid town and this was the perfect place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Get a front-facing room with a balcony - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for four nights over Christmas. the food was superb, the service friendly, the room very comfortable. The hotel, centrally located with a view over the river, provided free bikes for guests. They arranged a great boat trip for us on the Mekong. We simply loved Luang Prabang, and the Apsara certainly contributed to our enjoyment.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room that was just on the far side of the Tamarind restaurant, at ground level. You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chausiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in this well appointed hotel. The bed and pillows are very comfy & super soft, and lovely big bathroom. Just have to be careful not to use up all the hot water too quickly, as flows like a torrent from the high ceiling fixture. The breakfast is very tasty- every day there are a different selection of homemade jams from the seasonal fruits.
I would think that the downstairs room #14 could be noisy, as it shares a wall with a popular restaurant . We however, were in the next room along, and slept through any noise, so didn't find it a problem.
A lovely place to stay, the only tiny niggle is that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess8888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We popped in to Apsara after meeting some people who raved about the food and wished we had chosen to stay there, as the accommodation looks amazing. We had a wonderful meal cooked by Melbourne born Chef Luke Clarke.
I had the pork neck which was tasty and delicious, the complimentary starter was a yummy lentil soup like no other i have tasted, for dessert we had the spiced chocolate cake with peanut butter and coconut truffle complimented with vanilla ice cream an orgasmic combination. We enjoyed talking with the gorgeous hostess and maitre D' Catherine who was doing an discreet and eagle eyed job supervising the staff, she and the staff were friendly and welcoming, service was fast. We thought the ambience and elegant decor divine. The owner Ivan was generous with his time and happy to share his knowledge. I could not recommend Apsara more highly. We will be back during this and future visits to Luang Prabang.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Property: The Apsara
Address: Kingkitsarath Rd | Ban Wat Sene, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Apsara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing