We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place, with the best towels!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Apsara
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A lovely place, with the best towels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

A lovely room although quite noisy as a local family lived on the other side of a wall & didn't seem to ever sleep! The location was great and the staff very helpful & friendly. There was only one hiccup, a problem with one of the minor staff members that I would have thought was serious enough to offer some form of compensation i.e complimentary meal/drink or a percentage off our room, even a sincere apology would have been enough. However this didn't mar our stay in the delightful Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    134
    34
    18
    4
See reviews for
40
193
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

We stayed at the Apsara at the end of October for 6 wonderful nights. We booked having read great reports on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Everything was perfect right from booking directly with the Apsara via email till the end of our stay. We booked a superior room which faced out the front of the building. The room was very large, had an enormous comfy bed and was mimimally but very tastefully decorated with beautiful wooden floorboards and the hugest fluffiest towels ever. The food was probably the best we had in Luang Prabang. Breakfast was lovely - great fresh french baguettes with homemade jams. What made the Apsara so special for us, however, were the staff. They were so helpful and friendly and always smiling. The location is also good - overlooking the river and one street back from the main street. Nice and quiet. The whole place is so relaxing. We thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — the staff, the food, the huge towels
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank massies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

This is a great hotel. It is off the main street so it is quiet. Walking just a couple of blocks puts you in the middle of town so the location is great. The rooms are clean and very comfortable (with a/c and hot water). The food at the hotel is wonderful and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tnshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

We stayed at the Apsara for 4 nights in November in a standard upstairs room. Wonderful location on quiet street overlooking the Nam Khan River. Luang Prabang should be explored by foot and the hotel was close enough to walk everywhere. Our room was beautiful and charming, with dark redwood floors that creaked and Lao silk weavings. Delicious breakfast included- eggs, fresh french bread, delicious homemade jams (their banana jam was SO good!) and Lao coffee/fresh squeezed oj. Hotel also has a bar & restaurant- try their whole fish and Luang Prabang sausage. Friendly staff and Ivan (the owner) was so helpful in planning our stay. Would highly recommend The Apsara to family/friends and will stay here again on our next trip to Luang Prabang.

  • Liked — Room, location, food
  • Disliked — the shower - troubles with standing water
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneworldmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

I stayed in the Apsara for 4 nights. The hotel is in a fantastic location. We paid $60/night and had a lovely, clean room with a huge bathroom. Breakfast was included (eggs, baguettes, fruit) and the hotel provided us with plenty of bottles of water during our stay. We had an in-room safe, A/C, and a porch area with 2 chairs, but no TV. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We looked at several hotels/guesthouses in Luang Prabang and this seemed to be the best of the mid-range priced hotels. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rseifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

A slightly blowsy, unpretentious, old lady, but one you'll love getting to know. Great location, just 50 metres off the main street. Overlooks the river. Delightful staff. Wonderful, stylish food. Period rooms with creaky wood floors, eclectically furnished and decorated. Beds okay, just, a bit firm. Did I write great food, it is. Would I go back, sure would.

  • Liked — Location, casual style, food.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dlr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

After reviewing The Apsara online, four of us travelers decided to stay there in two rooms for several days. The hotel is as previously reviewed, a beautiful place to stay in Luang Prabang. If management fixes the Security Issues outlined below, I'd strongly recommend it; otherwise I'd recommend never staying there unless you want to risk loss of any valuables in your rooms.

Management is way too lax on security for their guests, in my opinion. Our safes were opened multiple times and we lost a total of approximately $1,200 of our cash to employees of the hotel. The manager did what he could to refund, through comping the rooms, part of the money; stating that it had happened before. But, we remained shocked at losing money through inappropriate access to the room safes, and even after the refund they gave us, we lost about $600 net.

I pointed out that the rooms were not secure as the staff left them unlocked daily during cleaning; and the safes didn't reset passwords when opened with the master key (the method used to steal our money).

Management seemed to miss the idea of overall security as an issue needing serious and immediate attention. Hopefully they will replace the safes with ones that work appropriately, and the balcony doors will be locked. Management stated 'those doors only open to the balcony, so only other guests with balcony access could get in' as if that weren't sufficient threat to security. Many thefts are from other guests, just think of hostels across Europe.

Anyway, the hotel is beautiful and convenient, but security is a threat to the guests from the prospect of in-room thefts. If security is addressed, this hotel would be rated a '5' rather than a '2' or even a '1'.

Helpful?
6 Thank Jeremyg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Property: The Apsara
Address: | Banks of the Nam Khan, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Apsara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing