We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The haze ruined it”
Review of Mount Phousi

Mount Phousi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.30*
and up
Half-Day Luang Prabang City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The haze ruined it”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I walked up Mount Phousi for sunset at the end of March. It's 325 some odd steps to the top. Because of the time of year, the haze was bad, much worse than it was at street level, so take this into consideration if you are there around the same time of year. Because of the haze, the sunset wasn’t much to see, but it was certainly crowded.

On the way up, you can buy a ticket to enter the small temple at the top. I assumed I was paying to go up, so didn’t question anything, but if you don’t want to enter the temple, no need to pay anything on the way up.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    944
    1,255
    480
    62
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lovely views over Luang Prabang and surrounding countryside. Stay for the sunset over the Mekong river.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haydn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantasic Veiw”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this trip. The walk up the stairs doesnt take too long although it is hard work. The veiw from the top from all sides is a fantasic reward. The temple itslef is pretty average but I was aleady aware that might be the case. I would recomend to do this to anyone staying in Luand PraBang.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as bad as everyone thinks”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I do agree the place should be free of charge. What I hated the most was the ticket counter was about 60 steps up and away from the plain sight from the bottom of the hill. From the ticket booth and beyond, it's another 190 steps up. It's not that bad! You get a panoramic view of the LP area. Went in the AM and not a lot of foot traffic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We went up on a pretty cloudy day so it meant that it wasn't too busy but you could still see far and wide across Luang Prabang.
The temple isn't very impressive but the view is worth the 20000 kip fee.
It only took us about 5 minutes to climb up and it wasn't that bad.

Helpful?
Thank britishtraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Phousi also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Mount Phousi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing