We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JanenDave
Rotherham, England

Perfect riverside position

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2024
The hotel is very friendly and welcoming. Our river view room had a large bed, fridge, TV, kettle and air conditioning which was very effective. The shower room was quite large with toiletries included. Position is great for exploring Luang Prabang and walking by the river. Breakfast is in a lovely riverside spot, served in a pleasant way with fresh fruits, eggs and toast and cereal.
There is very little storage space for clothes etc. and only 3 hangers.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£81
  • Expedia.com
    £96
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • StayForLong
0.2 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£62
  • Expedia.com
    £87
  • Agoda.com
    £55
  • StayForLong
    £98
0.4 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£83
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • Agoda.com
    £65
  • StayForLong
    £73
0.7 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£46
  • StayForLong
    £46
  • Agoda.com
    £44
  • Expedia.com
    £54
0.5 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£48
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £49
  • Agoda.com
    £39
  • StayForLong
0.6 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£63
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
    £61
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
£65
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £70
  • Agoda.com
    £52
  • StayForLong
    £64
1.0 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£17
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £14
  • Expedia.com
    £17
0.6 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Dining area
£13
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    £13
0.0 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    £124
  • Agoda.com
    £106
  • Hotels.com
    £110
0.8 miles from Sala Prabang Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
111
177
59
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
177
59
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river breakfast is served night market bed was comfortable main street hot shower mekong balcony riverside properties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

The pictures are a little misleading. The room I had was smaller than that advertised in the pictures. The room was also a little old and dated but they do have a certain charm.

The key thing about the hotel is the location. It is very short walking distance to everything, making it ideal for sightseeing.

Room tip: Would recommend for solo travellers rather than couples.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank n0wshadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024

Fabulous little hotel in Luang Prbang across the road from the great Mekog River. Suri - maybe Souri - was knowledgeable, helpful & friendly, providing invaluable local information. Breakfast was a highlight, situated in an open air cafe opposite the hotel, with views of the river & great coffee. The hotel is within walking distance to the main streets & restaurants.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2023 via mobile

This was my first trip to Luang Prabang and I could not of been made more welcome, 3 nights at the Sala Prabang was magical. I had a good size room with a balcony looking on to the Mekong, the bed was comfortable and I had everything I needed in my room. The breakfast outside looking onto the Mekong was great and substantial. There are two members of the team I would like to give a special mention to and they are Chomsy and Sing Thong, you could not meet more helpful and friendly hotel staff. It has been a pleasure Sala Prabang and for a first time visitor to Luang Prabang I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2022

Sala Prabang has two properties a few doors apart, each characterised by bouganvillea. Check in seems to be at the main property while we were in the second one. It is a converted house (that's normal for Luang Prabang). There are various steps and stairs which might be difficult for the elderly. The room was spotless with a comfortable bed, modest facilities and a good, hot shower. Breakfast is served on a river side terrace across the road offering a simple. but satisfying selection and nice views of river life. A number of other riverside restaurants are also within a short walking distance. Temples, boat rides, the Palace and so on are also just minutes away on foot..

Room tip: If you want a river view, arrange this before hand. Not all rooms face the river.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JPHStVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2022 via mobile

I choose this hotel due to the decoration style and location also now rate is good. Hotel is small but convenient, location is great ; nearby by the river and tourist attractions. Staff service is excellent, all are very helpful with smile. Room is good, clean but wall and ceiling need to touch up.
Breakfast is not variety, I prefer to have local foods outside the hotel.

Room tip: Don’t expect full breakfast.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Nok_Chanokporn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews