We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luang Prabang Homestay
Ranked #40 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Comfortable and relaxing homestay”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had stayed here for 10 days.
It is located 5 km away from the city. It takes a 15-20 min driving from the town to the homestay in the village called Ban DonMai.
Some people might want to be more central to the town, but I preferred a quiet nights sleep in a village.
I relaxed and read books, sitting in a couch on the balcony next by my room.
The room was very clean and clearly well maintained. There is free wifi available.
I rent a motorbike as a reasonable price or took a tuktuk when going out.
Henri-Pierre and Kham are very friendly hosts and eager to please. They cooked and served Original Lao and French foods that were very delicious. We ate them together outside, chatting.

I highly recommend this homestay if you are staying in Luang Prabang and looking for a friendly and quiet place.

To Japanese looking for a hotel
とても居心地の良く、過ごしやすいところです。
町からは離れているため、単なる観光だけでなく、普段の人々の生活を垣間見ることが出来ます。
ゆっくり滞在する方にはオススメです。

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryo-jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife and I came across the homestay website entirely by accident and decided to book a night and see what it was like. We stayed two nights, and wish we could have stayed longer. We have been travelling for a few months and to get to stay somewhere that really made us feel at home was brilliant.

We had a trip to the local market with Kham to pick up ingredients for a homecooked meal on the second night and were then walked through the cooking process. We got tuk tuks to and from the centre, though we could have hired a motorbike if we had wanted to. There is a fantastic little restaurant at the end of their road for typical Lao soup, and we ate there on both days!

Henri-Pierre and Kham have made a huge effort to make their beautiful home welcoming and we were not at all disappointed.

The bed was blissfully comfortable, the rooms had everything you could need and the toiletries in the bathroom surpassed what you generally get given in a five star hotel! We have already decided we have to come back and explore Laos more and will definitely be booking in again at the homestay when we return to Luang Prabang, as well going on the overnight village tour they will be offering once their new baby is old enough to travel with them!

(On this note, their newborn baby is the quietest baby ever, and we had wonderful nights sleep both nights we were there!).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had a magical time staying with Henri-Pierre and Kham! We originally planned on spending just two days in Luang Prabang but after arriving and enjoying a wonderful home-cooked meal on their outdoor patio and hearing their stories about Laos we decided to stay for a full five days. Each day we rented their motorbike and rode into town or went exploring waterfalls and returned home to enjoy a wonderful Laos meal and great conversation. Kham and Henri-Pierre were dedicated hosts that went to great lengths to ensure we had a fantastic trip. They provided advice on what to do, lent us a cell phone in case of emergencies and graciously shared meals and insights to the local culture. The space is a bit off the beaten path, which we loved. It's a 15-20 minute drive into the city. It was incredibly clean and with fresh towels and great touches like fresh towels daily, water left by the bed and basic toiletries. If you're looking for a chance to learn about the culture, have an authentic stay in Laos and meet a wonderful family, this is a great option that I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have started our bicycle travel in Laos from Luang Prabang. We have chosen this location and we have no problem with carrying our bicycles, taking a shower and any other needs. It was a perfect place for have a rest after long flight and only 5 km from city center and few minutes from airport. We have easily reached Luang Prabang sights by calm country road along Mekong river on our bicycles.
If you stay here you got full floor with separates bedrooms and two bathroom, but was really great is a big terrace. You could rest here, take a dinner and see a sunset.
On first floor there is a kitchen, in case if you want to cook by yourself.
This location is good for families who avoid a tourist crowded places.
Henri-Pierre & Kham is a nice couple and hospitable people. We get a lot advice about travelling in Laos from them, cause they working in tourist industry.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank life2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
5.1 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#32 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
12.0 mi away
Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort
Nam Ou Riverside Hotel & Resort
#41 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang Homestay

Property: Luang Prabang Homestay
Address: 13, Ban Don Mai, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km north of Luang Prabang downtown this three bedroom Lao cottage is yours during your holiday in Luang Prabang. Our rooms are all fully furnished and decorated in style with the typical Luang Prabang hand-woven textile and handicraft. Two dbl rooms are located upstairs with access to the patio and the terrace and one twn room on the ground floor with garden view and access to the lounge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing