We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse
Ranked #134 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Expensive food”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The food is expensive for "NON-guest". The taste is so so cause it's ABF. I ate 1 ABF with smallest bottle of local water, it costed me 80,000 LAK which is about 320 THB. This is the most expensive ABF dish I've ever had. There won't be next time for me unless I am staying there as a guest.

Stayed March 2557, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kumiko_fontong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I ate and hung out here a lot both times (3 years apart) quite a bit because the location is great. You can be real close to the sidewalk which you'll love or hate.

They do reliable western and thai/lao food that is safe to eat and tasty. They also have pretty reliable wifi which makes it a good place to spend some time with a midday Beerlao.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here on the recommendation of friends and was not disappointed. We requested a room overlooking the Main Street and night market. There was some noise but not excessive and worth it to be able to sit and watch the world go by, including the Monks collecting alms at 6.30am. The breakfast was very good and served by a young and friendly staff. The room though small was clean and comfortable, this is an old building so expecting 5star luxury is not realistic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front share a balcony, perfect for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to stay and have lunch. The cheese & ham sandwich is great.

The wifi is not so good and there are some flys, but it's beautiful and good.

You can pay with visa credit card, which is not so common, and there is a 3% fee over the price..



Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnaAnibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Location and the balcony view! Main tourist street, sisavangvong road, night market, restaurants and the royal place! The room was clean and cosy but very pricey! (we paid $50 a night). Restaurant service was average.

Room Tip: Ask rooms with Sisavangvong Road street view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anton296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in Room #5 which looks over the back yard and has 2 twin beds pushed together. We chose that room because we were concerned about the noise from the nearby night market but that wouldn't have been a problem. The room was tight but very clean and the bathroom was shower only but also very clean. The staff was not very helpful in answering questions about directions to various shops or advice about what to see & do.The location was great. Breakfast which was included was modest. But they have great hamburgers if you need a break from Asian food. Waiters had very limited English.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms. We looked into the middle room looking over the street with a balcony which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The location in the heart of Luang Prabang, right next door to the first night market stall was excellent. The three rooms at the from have wonderful balconies overlooking one of the main streets along which the monks pass each early morning. We had room 3, the middle front room, and it was well furnished but a bit tight for space. However the large balcony made up for this and was a convenient place to store our large bags to maximise the space in the room. We didn't mind the showers being in the toilet space but you do need to make sure that the loo roll is safe from the shower! The staff were all very helpful, especially Ms Farng, who changed our flights, booked transport, and advised on changing money. Each morning I went down to the restaurant early and they were happy to give me two mugs of boiling water to make our early morning tea on which my wife insists! We certainly didn't find the staff rude, as some other reviewers have suggested. We enjoyed the breakfasts. I agree with other reviewers that is a little overpriced but the brilliant location more than made up for that and I would certainly stay there again and recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with the lovely balconies; as other reviewers have suggested room 5 is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonB-Ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.6 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#32 of 69 in Luang Prabang
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#23 of 261 in Luang Prabang
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse

Property: Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse
Address: Sisavangvong Road | Ban Chamkong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing