We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thatsaphone Guest House
Ranked #102 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, lovely stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Great location. Just off the main street but on a very quiet, leafy side street near temple and monastry. Great service. Helpful attentive staff, who were very helpful with tickets, travel etc. Nice traditional building.
AC is great, rooms are clean, and the wifi is good but doesn't work in all rooms.
This review would be 5 stars but the rooms are a little small, and the hotel could do with somewhere comfy to sit. Maybe a hammock or comfy chair on the balcony.

Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Try and get a room upstairs. More room than the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_S_Hartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
24
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Great location. Quiet, lovely street. Service was nice at first. They specifically ask that you not have food in your room which we did not. Upon returning to the guest house at 9 PM, after being out all day, we discovered that books, prescription medication bottles, and my husband's backpack had been ravaged and pooped on by a rat. Not wanting to spend the night with rodents, we found ourselves homeless at 10 with our backpacks and bikes in a town with an 11:30 curfew. Luckily we found a room. We did manage to get more than 1/2 our money back for that night but they were reluctant and it was an extremely unpleasant process. I wouldn't recommend this place unless you enjoy the company of rats. Further, we were on the 2nd floor!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxwoodcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel was really a mixture of positive and negatives.

The positives - great location (although a sign on the main street would be helpful) as it was central but down a quiet alley and the bed itself was comfortable - soft for asia.

The downsides - a really poorly designed bathroom (with a disgusting shower curtain), a noisy air conditioner, a terrace that probably used to look onto greenery but now looks on to a new building and therefore isn't good to sit at.

Neutral - the staff.

Overall - I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It's actually quite a nice guesthouse except for two things, which we couldn't overlook. Despite the central location, we were woken up and disturbed by the noisy construction taking place opposite our room (the owner is expanding his premises, but if so, his guesthouse should not be considered as peaceful and quiet as this only happens after 5pm). Next is the poorly constructed bathroom, which feels like an afterthought. It is one of the tiniest bathrooms we've ever experienced, with only enough space for the toilet and the shower, which meant that everything got wet during our shower. We were also discomfited by the sight of a blue pipe running along the side of the bathroom; the pipe is connected to the wash basin outside and we could see water/ soap suds, etc gushing inside the bathroom when we brushed our teeth, etc. The problem is it didn't drain properly but collected in a pool in the corner of the bathroom. It looked disgusting and felt unhygienic. Due to these two issues, we decided to look elsewhere. There are plenty of little known but quiet guesthouses around and they offer better value for money. I'm happy to say we found a delightful guesthouse, Lao Lu Lodge, which we wholeheartedly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Avoid the upstairs rooms facing the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here in late August 2011 and found it to be just perfect for our needs, it is only 150-200 meters from the main street but is so quiet and tucked away, the only noise we heard was from the temple drums. It is hard to describe to people how you can walk out of your hotel room and within 2 mins be in the middle of an incredible temple which is deserted apart from a few monks as there are 52 to choose from in amazing Luang Prabang. Anyway, this guest house is well run, quiet, very clean, with good sized rooms, our had aircon and a fan and a TV which we never switched on, nice friendly staff, bottled drinking water and towels everyday, and a good secure safe system and fast free WiFi internet. The staff were so helpful, we can’t thank them enough for help and suggestions of where to eat, money changers, boat times, laundry etc.

Yes I would definitely stay here again and recommend them to anyone who wants a guest house with charm and character set in between the old town and the Mekong river.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, and all are off street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NealeGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

It's on a small lane just steps from the main street and night market. The location is perfect, very quiet and peaceful but close to the action. There's a nice terrace on the 2nd floor. From here we could hear the monks in the nearby temple while reading and enjoying drinks. Our room was small, but clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and it was made daily. Very slow wlan is included. Water is a problem as some other reviewers have pointed out. Sometimes the water pump just stops working and you have to report this to the reception in order to get on with your shower. Breakfast is offered at an additional cost, but there are lots of very nice coffee shops around the corner so think twice before deciding to have breakfast at the hotel. I think it's a very good budget choice and i would stay here again. We first booked for 3 nights but ended up staying 6. I would recommend to pay a bit more for a room on the second floor as you will have direct access to the terrace. First floor doesn't have as nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taatelikauppias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Such a peaceful lane. I'm the only guest here, and 2 other guesthouses in this lane appear empty. This looks the nicest. Just 50m from the main drag, and maybe just a 100m the opposite way to the Mekong - via a pretty deserted Wat. Paid $15. Should've haggled more... Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yousonofabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thatsaphone Hotel
Thatsaphone Hotel
#148 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatsaphone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatsaphone Guest House

Property: Thatsaphone Guest House
Address: Main Street, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Thatsaphone Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing