We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Lao Spirit Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lao Spirit Resort
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We did the 5 day package which includes offsite activities such as trekking to villages, kayaking and elephant bathing at the waterfall, as well as a massage on the deck of your room. This resort has only rooms and a restaurant (no pool), so I suggest booking a package if you bore easily. Young kids won't find anything fun to do here.

The grounds are nice. The restaurant is open all day long. The rooms are freestanding bungalows that are large, comfortable and very tastefully designed and furnished. They have a balcony with a great view. The shower is huge and is outdoors and enclosed for privacy. I loved it and wish I had one like it at home. Our room also had an indoor bathtub, but I don't think all the rooms have that feature so I suggest you request one if you want a tub.

There are two rows of bungalows. The higher row is set back from the river somewhat but has a high vantage point view. Ours was the lower row which is closest to the river. Basically the view out our window was jungle, river, and mountains and was quite picturesque.

The included activities were nice and I'd recommend you include them. At the waterfall, you can add on other activities when you arrive. I added the zip line. It's pretty expensive but I'd gladly do it again. It's a tour of the treetops down a mountain on several runs. They are good about safety so you don't need to be experienced.

When driving to the resort, I saw signs for other resorts along the river that I was unaware of when booking. I have no regrets and am glad I decided to stay one night in Luang Prabang and the rest of my time at Laos Spirit.

Room Tip: Lower bungalows have great view of river. Not sure all rooms have tub + outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ_MinneMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

Delightful, private, peaceful place to stay if you want to be away from it all (especially nice for romantic couples who want a break from the hustle of touring SE Asian cities). You can use this as a base to explore the river, the falls and the Elephant Sanctuary, but this is a get away from it all and be in nature destination.... The gardens are beautiful, filled with butterflies, and even a few birds. The bungalows are large, with private terraces overlooking the river. Delightful, Bali style outdoor shower, with small niches containing Buddhas as well as toiletries. Staff is very friendly, though, other than the manager and owner, do not speak english (universal sign language and a smile go a very long way). In the late afternoon, one visits your bungalow with menu to ask your choices for dinner. As they explain, with only 5 rooms, the staff is small, and should everyone decide to head for dinner at the same time, everyone would wait longer than they'd like. So, with the labor intense pre prep done, whenever you arrive for dinner, meals arrive in a timely fashion, and nothing is "out" despite the remote location. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent. It was pouring rain by dinner time one evening, and the manager arrived with a second umbrella to supplement the one in the room, to ensure we kept dry on the way to the restaurant bungalow. This is a place to go to unplug ; no tv, no phone, no wi fi signal. Large fans, but never even needed to turn them on. There is a village in walking distance, but as it rained almost constantly, didn't make the trek. Most of the staff live on the premises in a separate house; some come from the nearby village. My only issue: though there were lights above each bed (and good mosquito net), the light wasn't enough for reading, so did need to use my headlamp.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beardiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We enjoyed our three days at this beautiful place but felt that for the prices they charge a few little extras would have made all the difference. The bungalows are very pretty with a stunning vew but there was no fan on the terrace and it became too hot to sit there at times. There is no air conditioning which was fine while we stayed there. The restaurant was quite good though it seemed again to be a little penny pinching, such as some choice of breakfasts did not allow you to have juice. We did an excellent trek whilst there with a really good guide, but also did a kayaking trip which seemed very expensive for the time we spent on the water. Wifi was only useable in the reception area. All in all it was a good stay but we felt that for what it cost it was a little basic in terms of amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinecoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

When travelling through Laos we stayed at the Lao Spirit Resort for three days. Very beautiful well-kept area with 5 stylish bungalows with view overlooking the Nam Khan river. All are equipped with a panorama the balcony, a dreamlike view the nature has. The friendly staff greeted us at once and we were brought to the most beautiful bungalow I have ever seen. Polished, dark wood. A big comfortable bed. Beautiful furniture. An amazing outdoor shower. In the restaurant we enjoyed breakfast with a beautiful view, and had a wide selection of food and drinks. All was freshly prepared, and came from the region. The breakfast was inclusive, the prices for the offered dishes and snacks in the restaurant were appropriate. Generally, the staff was always personally concerned with my well-being, and we constantly felt well-cared for.
The best places we ever stayed at. Definitely an experience of its own.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brad2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This place looks promising. Just 5 bungalows high over the river Nam Khan? The rooms are luxury basic but with very large outdoor showers. No AC and no TV and despite an assurance of a strong wi-fi signal we could not even detect a network on any device anywhere in the resort.
There are no phones in the room so if you want anything you have to walk to the all day restaurant.
However here is the problem; the staff speak either poor or no english (except the lady on reception) and so getting anything ordered takes forever or the wrong thing turns up.

We discovered by accident that the set menu for dinner was only a third as long as the full menu. This was apparently negotiated by the tour firms who dont want the full a la carte offered. Now this is a shame because the full menu is lovely and the Lao food we had was excellent. Nems which were fabulously light followed by pork and ginger that was first class. We also had excellent green curry. In fact the full a a carte is ridiculously cheap and the property should refuse to go along with the tour companies.
Wine and drinks are very inexpensive but again it took an age to get the wine we had ordered.

The property needs a pool and spa to help relieve the days exhaustion after trekking and riding elephants.
A good start but attention to detail will make this place a must visit.

Meanwhile the tented camp in Chaing Rai is the pinnacle of this type of resort. A shame it cost 10 times more.

Room Tip: They are all the same but some front directly to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HertsFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We spent 2 days here, after 2 days in Luang Prabang town. It was a complete change. It is quite isolated, and accessible via a very dusty and rocky road. Your'e not quite sure what to expect. When you arrive, you are greeted by a very quiet and serene place. There is not much to do at the place itself, so don't expect lots of fun stuff. Its just a place to unwind and take in the peace and beauty of the place.
There are only 5 bungalows, so its never busy. The rooms themselves are very attractivly done out and have ceiling fans. There is no AC, as it would not be keeping with the eco friendly theme of the place. The fans are adequate though.
Watch out for the gekco that seems to live in number 1 and 2. It is a bit unsettling at first, but you get quite use to it when you know what the noise is coming from. You may never see Norman (Thats what we took to calling the geko), but you will hear him.

There are treks that you can go on. We went for a 4km trek. Its not too bad, as long as you keep hydrated, and wear long sleeves and trousers. Don't go in shorts. You will be bitten to pieces.
We are vegeterians, and food is always an issue for us whenever we go anywhere. They do have some veggy choice at the resteraunt, but not huge. Keep some snacks in you room in case you get hungry.
Overall, a great place to jus chill out. Would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khayam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were told by friends that this resort was the best trip experience of their lives. That seemed like high praise, but it is indeed an incredible place. We are not people who crave isolation, but somehow the Lao Spirit makes it very special and not remotely lonely. We did the package with an elephant walk, a trek to a neighboring village of 682 people (one of the best experiences) and a swim in a waterfall. An amazing day. The rooms are lovely, with very comfortable beds and a wonderful bathroom (with a great outdoor shower). The restaurant is great with an extensive menu. The entire staff is delightful. It's a great value, but more importantly a great experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
6.7 mi away
Parasol Blanc
Parasol Blanc
#16 of 71 in Luang Prabang
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
6.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#37 of 71 in Luang Prabang
104 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
904 reviews
6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 71 in Luang Prabang
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Spirit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Spirit Resort

Address: Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £79 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lao Spirit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located 15 km outside of Luang Prabang city in beautiful jungle area. We offer 5 beautiful styled Bungalows with a large terrace and an appr. size of 45 square meters space. The bungalows are built in a traditional style from local craftsman and artists. Materials of wood, stone and an interior of antique furniture give each bungalow a unique atmosphere. There are no electric appliances like aircon and TV which may disturb the laid back atmosphere of the resort. Bathrooms with tub, open air shower and a big terrace facing the river offer peace and relaxation to the guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lao Spirit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lao Spirit Hotel Luang Prabang
Hotel Lao Spirit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing