We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Villa Merry Lao-Swiss
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Merry Lao-Swiss
Ranked #125 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hostel is kind of ancient, but it's part of the charm. We stayed in Cottage Number 3 (I think there's 1 and 2 kind of close by as well). The receptionist was a super-efficient and helpful Vietnamese girl named Thu. She was very sweet. We had to switch rooms because our bathroom had a drainage issue and she was really helpful through it all. It's kind of inexpensive and cosy. But I'm warning you, the hostel is really old and a bit behind the times!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manasis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

my wife and i stayed 9 nights at the villa merry lao 3 hotel in phousi road. our room was on the first floor. in all the 9 nights we stayed there the room was not made up or serviced once. every 2-3 hours the level in the toilet would rise to just below overflowing, slowly receding and then a horrible stench filled the bathroom and room. the exhaust fan was not working in the bathroom, so we just had to grin and bear the sewerage smell. the location is not good as it is right opposite a "nightclub" and the noise is bad, although a handyman had an attempt to put double glazing in.(not very effective). it is about a 20 minute boring walk to the nightmarket. a much better position at more competitive prices are the guesthouses behind the general post office and behind JOMA(famous coffeshop and bakery) from there to the nightmarket is about 5 minutes. merry laos 111 is run by 2 girls, one, about 5-6 months pregnant) looks after the breakfasts and supposedly the rooms. the girls are trying very hard to please everyone and they do a good job, i think the problem is the owner has 3 hotels and tries to run them on the cheap.
my wife and i are both in our mid 70's and have stayed at many guesthouses, but we definitely made the wrong choice here.
there is plenty of accomodation in Luang Prabang, just take a tuk-tuk from the airport or bus-station and ask to be dropped off at JOMA and you will have dozens of very attractive guesthouses to choose from at more competitive prices.we were really surprised to see some comments of TA members actually recommending this place, although we do agree that the girls are doing their best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastBatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Had a great time during our 3 day stay here. Very nice young lady at the check in desk. Rooms were nice but AC froze up every day. Comfy beds and great spot to watch the giving of alms in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at Villa Merry Lao III two weeks ago (Feb 2012) for 4 nights.

Thu, who manages the hotel was so lovely and helpful with suggestions on places to visit, including best times to go, etc. She was so attentive that when I had returned to my room for a nap after an early start, she came to check on me when she hadn't seen me for a few hours saying she was worried I might be sick and couldn't get downstairs (I was travelling alone).

The room was a great size, very clean. I had no problem with TV reception has mentioned in a previous review, however I was on the 3rd floor and was only able to access the WiFi on the ground floor which was a little disappointing.

Location is great for dining & bars being straight across the road from most of the recommended bars, which have a curfew of about 11pm so you aren't kept up all night with noise.

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Villa Merry Lao, big thanks to Thou!

Room Tip: I stayed in a Superior Double Room (see photo) which was $28 per night. Some may consider this quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The room is big enough but quite basic. There is a television in the room but reception is horrible so you cannot really watch any channels. Free wifi is good. Breakfast provided is pretty good as well. Across from many pubs which is good for us. Staff is the biggest draw in the hostel! Receptionist is always smiley and helpful. Makes you feel really welcome in the hostel all the time!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were very comfortable at this hostel - it was well located, large and spotlessly clean - a great place to start our Mekong holiday . All the staff were very friendly, and as others have mentioned, the Receptionist, Chou, was wonderful, meeting our every need. Nice breakfast and nice atmosphere, and good security. Highly recommended, thank you Chou :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cessandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

This hotel is in a good location. The rooms are very nice. Bathroom had a window into the room, which was a bit odd, but not really a big deal.

The staff were all lovely. Especially the young lady on reception. She was very helpful and chatty.

Breakfast was included. All very nice. I really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sair1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Luang Sokxay
Villa Luang Sokxay
#52 of 136 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phasith Guesthouse
Phasith Guesthouse
#93 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Merry Lao III
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Mer...
#19 of 136 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Shayada Guest House
Villa Shayada Guest House
#124 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Merry Lao-Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Merry Lao-Swiss

Property: Villa Merry Lao-Swiss
Address: Phousi Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Villa Merry Lao-Swiss Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing