We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, clean rooms”

Villa Merry Lao-Swiss
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Merry Lao-Swiss
Ranked #125 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice staff, clean rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed 3 nights here and found it comfortable and clean. I recommend it if you don't mind climbing stairs or walking a bit to get to the more interesting parts of town. I'd consider staying here again but would also look at some of the smaller guesthouses.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awelles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
310 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

The young man, Paul, who is the receptionist/porter/short-order cook is incredibly friendly and efficient. When I checked in, the first room had a funny smell in the bathroom, the next one had a rattling air-conditioner, so he patiently escorted me to a third one.

The place is quite good, but you could probably find equally good places at the same price closer to the main street. The roosters mentioned in earlier reviews continue their morning crowing but what do you expect, this is not the big city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

We booked this hotel online ahead of time and wished we had waited and found something when we got to town. It was ok, but we definitely could have found a better deal in town. The location is good. There is a great bar and traveler's book store (with free movie showings) across the street. Everything is in walking distance. We felt safe walking around at night. The staff were extremely friendly, but often gave us incorrect information (he didn't seem to have any idea where a laundry shop was, but spoke confidently when he told us directions). The rooms were also ok/reasonably clean/a bit noisy. Breakfast was slim, but the banana pancake was incredible!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lam0246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

The staff was very friendly, the rooms are very clean. I would recommend Villa Merry Lao-Swiss.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennymsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

i ate the rooster it was lovely bit salty. 5 Nights quiet and relaxing. The porter was brill really good lad. Early morn breakfast was no problem. Late nites were no bother either. Good location well worth a stay. $30 per nite great value. Bamboo bridge was washed away in the flood.
Cheers for a great stay

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redarmy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

We reserved this guesthouse/hotel in advance. It was $35-40 a night, so we expected it to be really nice. I had read the reviews for the place and some were outstanding and others not so positive. I have to say that no one should stay here especially in room 1-1. Adjacent to the window of room 1-1 there is a rooster pen. These roosters don't only crow at dawn, but all throughout the night. We had a terrible night's sleep. The room had moisture issues and was not clean in addition to the noise. The one plus was that the bed was comfortable and they let us store our bags there during the day as we had to find a new place to sleep that night and were leaving on a tour all day. When we came back for our bags, someone had just checked into our old room. I ended up meeting up with this man on the street later that day and told him to buy earplugs. The next day I ran into him again and he was also checking out because he could not handle the roosters. Don't stay here is my recommendation!

Helpful?
1 Thank Marci123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2007

Villa Merry Lao Swiss was our best choice in Luang Prabang for 5 days: building is not so old, rooms are very comfortable, people are friendly, and it was a good price-quality rate… you feel like at home!
The hotel its placed in a quiet street, not so far from de centre, you can walk or take a tuc-tuc (cheap).
Thank you
Oscar and Silvia from Barcelona (Spain)

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank omm_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Luang Sokxay
Villa Luang Sokxay
#52 of 136 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phasith Guesthouse
Phasith Guesthouse
#95 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Merry Lao III
Luang Prabang Hotel by Villa Mer...
#16 of 136 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Shayada Guest House
Villa Shayada Guest House
#123 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Merry Lao-Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Merry Lao-Swiss

Property: Villa Merry Lao-Swiss
Address: Phousi Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Villa Merry Lao-Swiss Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing