We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic room, terrible service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nam Sok Guesthouse

Nam Sok Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nam Sok Guesthouse
Ranked #59 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“basic room, terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights, it was the cheapest we could find (100k kip per night between two or £4 each) but this was still over priced for the quality of the room. We had no window, the room was very dark, the shower was leaky and there were a lot of ants in our room.
We were prepared to 'rough' it as we were on a tight budget, but the room became so hot that on the last we night decided to pay for air con in our room. At reception we were told 20k kip for the night (an extra £1.60) which seemed fair for one night. Then when we tried to check out the next day we were told that it would be an extra 100k kip!! This is totally un-reasonable as we would be paying for our room twice. As a compromise the owner said 50k kip, which was still un-fair. We argued for a while but had no choice but to pay so that we didn't miss our bus to leave. Terrible service.

Room Tip: pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple_wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    14
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in Namsok 3. the room was basic but clean with complimentary water and a hot shower. The beds weren't that comfortable but the fan was good and amazingly quiet, although the construction outside woke us up every morning. good location. the staff were friendly although they didn't speak much English and they had a good laundry service. Good price in comparison with what else we looked at in Luang probang

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Moved from Villa Merry 1 and so glad we did. This was a positive move. Close to everything. Good restuarants just down the road. The night market close. We had a back room upstairs. It had a verandah, windows that opened, and was very good including quiet at night. It is definitely worth while having a look at.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, get a back room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here after having a night of no sleep at guesthouse along the road. Really good big clean room, nice bathrooms.

Manager also really nice and helpful

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatBabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Arriving in Luang Prabang by slow boat means many backpackers racing to find a room at the same time. This guest house is just off the main street and not far from the 'dock' and was the first we checked. We returned here after a look at a couple of other places.

Rooms do vary in quality but not in price so ask to view each one if you are in a party and don't assume all are the same.

The staff are efficient and helpful but not particularly friendly - no chit chat here no matter how hard I tried.

There was a relatively good wifi connection in our room but again this varied depending on room.

It was a little noisy at times in the guest house but these are old buildings close together and you can't have everything (at this price).

Overall we enjoyed our stay here as the location was excellent and the bed comfy.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

I spend 3 nights there, I took the 20 USD room at the back, more peacfull and bigger, excellent room, nice and big HOT Shower, wooden floor.
TV and free internet at the loby, very nice staff.
For this price do not hesitate!!!
Central place, great and nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexfrombrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney,australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

at $15 a night this guest house was the only accommodation i used in luang prabang that had constantly available hot water shower.it was also very basic but located near the mekong river ,opposite the couleur french restaurant and 15 metres from the entrance to the night market.a 100 meter walk brought you to the main shopping street.luang prabang has two major problems to overcome in its race towards being the prime tourist destination in laos...HYGIENE and lack of HOT water,the latter due to use of what appears to be cheap chinese electrical wall heaters and even cheaper thinner chinese electrical cabling that makes their 220v system ineffective.i suspect the namsok has thicker electrical cabling...the namsok is also near the boat wharf where,due to lack of landing facilities and the steep unassisted climb ,many serious accidents have occured requiring medical evacuation to bangkok...in regards to food hygiene,joma cafe,the big tree cafe on the riverfront,les elephants (expensive) the scandanavian bakery and the aforementioned french restaurant appear to be the exceptions to the generally appaling food concepts in luang prabang....there is also a good dvd store in walkman village in center of shops ($2)

  • Liked — hot,hot water
  • Disliked — usual laos low bed
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank whrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#58 of 70 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sa Sa Lao
Sa Sa Lao
#7 of 135 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#25 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Luang Sokxay
Villa Luang Sokxay
#45 of 135 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Sok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Sok Guesthouse

Property: Nam Sok Guesthouse
Address: Ban Xieng Muan, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 286
Also Known As:
Nam Sok Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang
Nam Sok Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing