We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value in Luang Prabang”
Review of Nam Sok Guesthouse

Nam Sok Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nam Sok Guesthouse
Ranked #58 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in Nam Sok Guesthouse for 3 nights in August 2011. We paid 70,000 Kip a night for a double room, with a fan, en-suite, hot shower and wi-fi.

The Guesthouse was very good value. We had a very comfy bed in a clean and quiet room. The location of Nam Sok is great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Very simple clean guesthouse style hotel in Luang Prabang
Walking distance to the river, Mount Phu Si, lots of shops and restaurants.
Water pressure not great but just shower at off peak times to get water.
Simple egg and french baguette breakfast served in the courtyard.
No complaints. Stayed 2 nights

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TessaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights, it was the cheapest we could find (100k kip per night between two or £4 each) but this was still over priced for the quality of the room. We had no window, the room was very dark, the shower was leaky and there were a lot of ants in our room.
We were prepared to 'rough' it as we were on a tight budget, but the room became so hot that on the last we night decided to pay for air con in our room. At reception we were told 20k kip for the night (an extra £1.60) which seemed fair for one night. Then when we tried to check out the next day we were told that it would be an extra 100k kip!! This is totally un-reasonable as we would be paying for our room twice. As a compromise the owner said 50k kip, which was still un-fair. We argued for a while but had no choice but to pay so that we didn't miss our bus to leave. Terrible service.

Room Tip: pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purple_wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in Namsok 3. the room was basic but clean with complimentary water and a hot shower. The beds weren't that comfortable but the fan was good and amazingly quiet, although the construction outside woke us up every morning. good location. the staff were friendly although they didn't speak much English and they had a good laundry service. Good price in comparison with what else we looked at in Luang probang

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Moved from Villa Merry 1 and so glad we did. This was a positive move. Close to everything. Good restuarants just down the road. The night market close. We had a back room upstairs. It had a verandah, windows that opened, and was very good including quiet at night. It is definitely worth while having a look at.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, get a back room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here after having a night of no sleep at guesthouse along the road. Really good big clean room, nice bathrooms.

Manager also really nice and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatBabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Arriving in Luang Prabang by slow boat means many backpackers racing to find a room at the same time. This guest house is just off the main street and not far from the 'dock' and was the first we checked. We returned here after a look at a couple of other places.

Rooms do vary in quality but not in price so ask to view each one if you are in a party and don't assume all are the same.

The staff are efficient and helpful but not particularly friendly - no chit chat here no matter how hard I tried.

There was a relatively good wifi connection in our room but again this varied depending on room.

It was a little noisy at times in the guest house but these are old buildings close together and you can't have everything (at this price).

Overall we enjoyed our stay here as the location was excellent and the bed comfy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Rama
Rama
#60 of 71 in Luang Prabang
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#40 of 71 in Luang Prabang
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#39 of 71 in Luang Prabang
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sokdee Residence
Sokdee Residence
#52 of 71 in Luang Prabang
88 reviews
5.8 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Sok Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Sok Guesthouse

Address: Ban Xieng Muan, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 286
Also Known As:
Nam Sok Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang
Nam Sok Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing