We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thongbay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Set right on the Nam Khan river, the views are just lovely from the riverside bungalows. The gardens are lush, beautiful and so serene. The bungalow itself was very comfortable and spacious and had a balcony, where you could recline on loungers of sit at at table to enjoy the included breakfast. I can't speak highly enough of the staff, who were friendly, professional and genuinely caring. It is a little way out of the centre of town, but this was not a problem for my husband and I, because we love exploring places by foot (took about 15mins to walk into town) and the guesthouse also has free shuttles. Would definitely go back- highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chch_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    141
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
141
440
105
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We loved this place. We stayed for 4 nights in June/July.
The staff were so friendly and genuinely interested in us as people. Our bungalow overlooked the river, so peaceful. I like to stay in different places for the experience but would go back to stay here. The breakfast was a four course meal, brought to us at a time we said to our balcony. We felt special. There are fans in place of air con's and we found this adequate to sleep. Located where it is over the river there was a cool breeze.
The manager is a lovely Japanese man and the staff are happy which says a lot.
Excellent food if you eat in.
A masseuse who came to our room was professional. We work as massage therapists in Australia and she knew what she was doing.
The shuttle was convenient and comfortable.

Room Tip: They are nice but the bungalows overlooking the river are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie61Bindoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

located away from the main backpackers area, this is the place to be if you want some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the normal city life. the surrounds were very pretty and well maintained. breakfast was a very big spread compared to the other guesthouses we stayed at in laos. they provide free shuttles to the night market/city at specific timings (usually) an hourly interval and they are very on time so do rmb to b waiting for the shuttle early. otherwise you could still spend money on a tuktuk to get back to the guesthouse or go to the city. there are bicycles that you can loan for free to cycle but the traffic can get chaotic in the mornings. for those who are scared if bugs and creepy crawlies... unfortunately you will be very close to nature... so be armed with your insect repellants.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Incredible service, great rooms, lovely ambience, and amazing breakfast. By far the best place to say in Luang Prabang. The only minus on it is that it you need a tuk tuk whenever you leave the hotel, but the hotel does provide free shuttle service.

Overall, highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganGuy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My friends and I absolutely adore Thongbay Guest House! We arrived for a short (too short) stay in LP for 4 days and have been treated so well by the staff here. Everyone is incredibly warm and friendly. Our room is on the river, beautiful balcony and views. Breakfast brought to our room every morning. Shuttle rides to and from the airport and into town. They even did our laundry for us! (Not free but very cheap). We wish we could stay for another week! Highly recommend this place!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gb2283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had a wonderful stay with the folks at Thongbay. They made everything so easy. From picking me up at the airport in their shuttle (no charge) to serving breakfast at a time of my choosing. I really liked the location which is just out of town on the bank of the Nam Khan river. Their breakfast choices are excellent. You just make a choice the night before and say where and when you want it (on the dining terrace overlooking the river was my favorite) and it will be there at the exact time you asked for. They also have a great and punctual shuttle service from the guest house to the center of town. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. I will definitely stay there in the future.

-Mark E.

Room Tip: get the bungalow by the river. It's great for having breakfast on your own deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is very nice and cheap. The surroundings are beautiful , you have bungalows right out to the river. But there is no aircon in the bungalows, so it was simply to hot for us. The staff was so nice to let us stay in an aircon room across the street. I wasn't as nice, but worth the cold air!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Dream Boutique Resort
My Dream Boutique Resort
#3 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Property: Thongbay Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing