We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thongbay- A peaceful guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thongbay- A peaceful guesthouse”
Reviewed 8 August 2007

We stayed at the Thongbay guesthouse in vientiane for one night in july 2007. Im not entirely sure how we even got onto thongbay, however im glad we did as it is a lovely and relaxing place to stay.

Our large air conditioned room (which accommodated 2 adults and 2 children) was $15 per night. The room is tastefully (and modestly) furnished and clean. The rooms are actually contained within a renovated building that reflects a traditional lao residence, with many secluded and quite sitting and relaxing areas.

The gardens are also very nice with several open-huts that are perfect for having a few drinks and a light meal.

The guesthouse also has a kitchen that offers a range of meals which are reasonably priced. The staff and manager are all very helpful and can also organise tickets, transport, tours etc. A traditional laos cooking course is available at the guesthouse, although we did not do this.

As other travellers have mentioned, it is out of town a bit, however this is not really an issue as tuk-tuks are everywhere.

We would stay here again

  • Liked — The overall relaxing ambience
  • Disliked — Although we had email confirmation from our end, they didnt seem to have our booking when we got there
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsDandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    141
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
143
447
108
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

What a nice place! A colleague of mine recommend this place to me and I'm happy she did.

We had a riverview bungalow which was great. It was good to sit on the little 'balcony' after a day of sightseeing, doing tours. The rooms are really comfy, nice and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The guesthouse is a bit out of town but you can actually walk to the city centre (about 20min) or hire a bike from the guesthouse. There also call a tuk tuk for you if you neither want to walk or cycle.

The bungalows have no aircon, only a fan.

Breakfast is served at your little balcony. They have a little 'lounge' where you can get food or watch a DVD.

  • Liked — The balcony where you could relax after a day of sightseeing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BerlinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

My husband and I stayed at this guesthouse for 4 nights and we loved it!! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the bungalows were gorgeous. We got a room with a riverside view (which I definately recommend) and it was such a pleasure to come back after a day of sightseeing and sit on the porch and stare at the amazing location. This place is a little ways out of town but we used the bikes provided by the guesthouse to cycle into town each day. The cycle was a pleasure (flat road) and it only took us about 5 min to get there. You'll find it helpful as well to explore the town on bicycles.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and were very sad to leave. We will definately stay there again on our next trip to Luang Prabang.

  • Liked — locatin and gorgeous setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philadelphiavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

My husband and I stayed at Thong Bay for several nights and, generally, enjoyed it. The rooms and resort are clean and pleasant, but a bit sparse and dated. We had a room overlooking the river, which made the experience very pleasant. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast served to the room was a nice luxury. The affordable laundry service was also useful. The resort, however, is a bit far from town (about 2-3 miles). The free bike did make things easier, but it was still a bit of a pain to go back and forth. Also, our room had no hot water and on one morning we found about a dozen worms under the bath mat. These cons, though, are expected given the hotel's country location (and the staff adequately addressed these issues when notified). Plus, you couldn't beat the price. All in all, if you want a more rustic place by the river and are on a tight budget, Thong Bay is a good choice.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank MJGRAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Dream Boutique Resort
My Dream Boutique Resort
#4 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Property: Thongbay Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongbay Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing