We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish”
Review of Villa Maydou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maydou
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel and really enjoyed it.
Rocked to sleep by chanting monks and sqicky old floors, it felt very authentic and special. The days were spiced up by the idea of coming back to the hotel. Breakfast was basic but pleasantly served and the staff was friendly. We used bicycles provided by the hotel to visit the town. Very much enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel was boutique as such as hotel name. Accommodation was newly and good quality, service was good with amazing receiptionist. They willing help us many things to eat and tourist destinations. Breakfast was good with flexible orders on hand. We will come back this hotel. High recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sergey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel is far away from the city center. Consists of several buildings, in part in renovation - there was noise ; located next to a monastery.
The the room is nice but not fancy. The blanket was dirty and when we have asked to replace it we were told by the receptionist that the keys of the linen store with the owner and he is not there. He didn’t arrived to open the warehouse; we slept with only a sheet and were freezing cold. We have not received any compensation for this night.
The breakfast was basic: every morning we have to ask for products, not offered voluntarily. Was not value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saaririt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting and we loved the room we had. Service is great and the food is very good (although the dinner we had there one evening was a bit on the expensive side). Staff are very smiling and helpful. The hotel is not quite in the centre of the town but it is only a short walk and the hotel lent us bikes on several occasions. The only complaint we had was that it is a bit noisy as they are building an extension to the hotel just next door, so there is drilling and hammering all day long (the extension will apparently be finished in summer 2013 so this disturbance is only temporary). We also heard the monastery gong at 4 am in the morning and when that didn't wake us up the cockerels did. But overall we enjoyed our three-day stay here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALB1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Ever entred a hotel through a temple? the villa Maydou lies tucked away off the main street just behind a temple. it's an essy walk or pleasant bike ride to the city centre but feels very quiet and peacful set in a beautiful garden. if you prefer to be away from the noisy tourist crowds in a relaxing setting, this is the place for you. A very good breakfast with fresh fruit and your choice of eggs is served al fresco in the garden pavillon. especially the upstairs rooms are verry charming. highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Our stay in Villa Maydou has exceeded all our expectations - such a beautiful location and the friendliest staff -. This boutique hotel is one of our favorite properties to date.

The setting is serene, with trees, flowers, plants and smiling faces everywhere. The Hotel is an oasis of tranquility, - two traditional houses located in a tropical garden-. It is built just next to a pagoda and we had the chance to observe the activity of the novices and the monks during the day.

Our room was tastefully furnished in the Lao style with tropical wood widely used in the architecture and interior decoration.

We give a special mention for the open-air restaurant where each day we ate diversified, delicious and genuine meals. Their local cooking is outstanding.

We recommend Villa Maydou to be the ideal place to relax in Luang Prabang in a confortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertSiemReap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed there 4 nights during a visit of Luang Prabang. The hotel is right next to a monastery. I only heard the gongs others are mentioning once in the afternoon. Maybe I just slept too well to hear them.
The hotel area is very beautiful. I especially liked the the restaurant in the middle of the gardens, where breakfast and meals are served. The rooms are lovely and spacious. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. For me the only downside was the location. It's a bit further of town than other hotels. But you can still walk or borrow one of their bicycles.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#12 of 68 in Luang Prabang
401 reviews
5.9 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maydou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maydou

Address: Ban | Meuna, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £62 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Maydou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maydou is located in the historical center of Luang Parabang former royal capital of Laos. Villa Maydou shelters four buildings, they are located inside a large tropical garden. Two of them are registered by UNSECO Word Heritage; thanks to the renovation they give the opportunity to live the authentic experience with a modern comfort. The other two recent buildings maintain the traditional charm of the property. It offers a salt pool, free bicycle rentals, free WiFi and a 24-hour front desk. Free parking is provided. Villa Maydou Boutique Hotel is a 4-minute walk from Phousy Hill and a 10-minute walk from Royal Palace. It is a 15-minute walk from the city centre. Luang Prabang Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Rooms are decorated in wooden furniture. A fridge and minibar are provided. Bathrobes, a hairdryer and free toiletries are included. Mail and currency exchange services are available for convenience. Airport shuttle service is offered at a charge. Staff can provide laundry and ironing service. Guests can enjoy a selection of local Laotian dishes, as well as Asian and French cuisine in Villa Maydou Bar and Restaurant. A selection of wines, coffees and teas are also featured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maydou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maydou Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing