We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review April 7 2014”
Review of Villa Maydou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maydou
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We just has a wonderful holiday at villa Maydou . We stayed in 5 days of the beautiful rooms with my husband . The room was huge, beautiful, sparklingly clean . In there is very good service , and we has small relax in outside the room with view to garden, and sometime we played swim . Very good Breakfast .... All of them it's very nice hotel , we are so happy for good chosen .....:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NittayaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just had a wonderful week at Villa Maydou. We stayed in one of the beautiful rooms with pool view. The room was huge, beautifully decorated and sparklingly clean. All usual hotel amenities worked well, especially air con/fan, vital in hot season! Each room seems to have its own unique Laotian art and the communal areas are peppered with works of art/buddhas which make it beautifully unique. We had a gorgeous balcony area with comfy seating and dining table so we could eat outside our room if we wanted. The food is great - especially the breakfast. Location is great - don't be put off by the fact that it's not right in the centre - the hotel has bikes and it's only a ten minute potter away. But most memorable was the exceptional service I received from the proprietors who took me from clinic to clinic, at their own time and expense, to find a vaccination which I urgently needed. They could not have been more helpful or obliging.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elspethmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Tucked away behind the busy roads of Luang Prabang, Villa Maydou is a hidden gem. A little tough to find, but such a treat when you do. The boutique property is lush and tropical and the guest rooms are designed to match. Each is modern but maintains the ethnic integrity of Laos with beautiful dark woods, local textiles and bath products. We even had a bathtub! The property’s new pool was under construction while we were there (early February), but will be the cherry on top for this property once completed. The hotel’s restaurant and bar area are beautiful and the complimentary breakfast was delicious (and so much food!). We were upgraded to a gorgeous "treehouse" suite above the main lobby and couldn't get enough. A great boutique experience in LP.

More about our stay in Luang Prabang at www.thetaleoftwotings.com

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Spent three nights here in a comfortable room with wood everything! Beautiful quilts on the beds and details on the duvet covers; small sitting area outside the room with view to garden - again all wood in the Laos style. Quiet restuarant surrounded by garden, good service. Pleasant breakfast and the two evening meals we had were fine. The plus turned out to be the swimming pool now open in the garden next door where two new houses were in the process of being completed.Able to spend a couple of relaxing afternooins here. Used the bikes to explore the watsin LP. about 10 mins cycle ride. Tuk tuk to the morning market 10.000kip each.Would return here and stay in one of the pool facing rooms. Loved Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Maybe now new pool open.. a pool room? We would have enjoyed that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tearlejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in one of the new rooms just completed

The hotel is located next to a temple so could be noisy if a festival was taking place but otherwise very peaceful

Its a 10 to 15 minute walk or 4$ taxi ride into town

The restaurant survives both Local and international food at reasonable prices and the staff cannot do enough to help you

The icing on the cake is the now completed swimming pool in front of the 2 new blocks

Room Tip: Get one in the new blocks just built they are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is located on traditional houses. Comfort is really good considering the difficulty to convert old houses. It is very charming and far from hotels soulless. I we can go back to Luang Prabang we will go back there

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georges D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed at the Villa Maydou in January. Initially booked a room for two nights but the moment I checked in to my room it was clear to me: I need to extend my stay for at least one more day.

I had a very lovely room with access to the nice garden. The garden was more than lovely.

The hotel is just next to a temple (Vat Meuanna) which gives it this special touch.

Albeit the hotel is not in the city center, they more than helpful and friendly staff provide all guests with bicycles and the ride from the hotel to the town takes not more than 10 minutes.

Riding with a bicycle around Luang Prabang is probably the best idea.

If you stay at the Villa Maydou you will feel like in a different world. The hotel matches the wonderful city of Luang Prabang: out of this world, peaceful, charming and endearing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charim_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
906 reviews
5.9 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maydou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maydou

Address: Ban | Meuna, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £63 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Maydou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maydou is located in the historical center of Luang Parabang former royal capital of Laos. Villa Maydou shelters four buildings, they are located inside a large tropical garden. Two of them are registered by UNSECO Word Heritage; thanks to the renovation they give the opportunity to live the authentic experience with a modern comfort. The other two recent buildings maintain the traditional charm of the property. It offers a salt pool, free bicycle rentals, free WiFi and a 24-hour front desk. Free parking is provided. Villa Maydou Boutique Hotel is a 4-minute walk from Phousy Hill and a 10-minute walk from Royal Palace. It is a 15-minute walk from the city centre. Luang Prabang Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Rooms are decorated in wooden furniture. A fridge and minibar are provided. Bathrobes, a hairdryer and free toiletries are included. Mail and currency exchange services are available for convenience. Airport shuttle service is offered at a charge. Staff can provide laundry and ironing service. Guests can enjoy a selection of local Laotian dishes, as well as Asian and French cuisine in Villa Maydou Bar and Restaurant. A selection of wines, coffees and teas are also featured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Maydou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maydou Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing