We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond...”

Bamboo Tree Lao Cooking School and Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 220 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: US$2 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: NEWLY OPEN February 2014, Bamboo Tree Traditional Lao Cooking School and Restaurant offers a wide range of authentic Lao and Lao fusion dishes. We offers day and evening cooking classes in day classes are taken there after a visit to the Phousi market , where we are introduced to the unusual and intriguing ingredients that are the basis of Lao cuisine. After the market we back to cook Lao dishes in the authentic Lao style at our restaurant. Evening classes are shorter (No market tour). Authentic and exotic Lao cuisine, Chef Linda has held cooking classes for over ten years. Learn over 6 recipes plus more surprise by the chef, enjoy eating your food that you cooked, desserts, local wine or whisky, receive certificate and cook book( over 20 recipes)
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The cooking school was my first experience of Bamboo Tree and I have been back many, many times since. Chef Linda, not only teaches you how to cook beautiful, fresh Lao food, she also shares her passion for food and cooking, which has been with her since she was very young. The trip to the market was informative and the class that followed was fantastic all round. My friend and I produced 4 delicious dishes that we chose from the recipe book, so as the old saying goes, the proof is in the pudding, and our pudding was great thanks to Linda's teaching.
The restaurant has a great atmosphere, attentive, friendly staff who go beyond in their efforts to make sure you have a good night, and as always, the food is fantastic!

Thank JulesHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalynlpb, Owner at Bamboo Tree Lao Cooking School and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Julie
Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy that you had a great experience in our class, and thanks a lot for always come to our restaurant :) see you again soon and do not forget to try our drinks <3
Best regards,
Linda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 440 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Last night my partner and I ate dinner at The Bamboo Tree Restaurant.
The food was the best local fare we've eaten in Luang Prabang and we've been coming here for many years.
The waiter was very friendly and attentive which added to the general feel good attitude of the evening. They played cool modern music on low volume that added to the easy breezey atmosphere on the verandah.
Now to the food! For starters we had the Sin Savanh which was exactly what it's name implies (Beef Heaven).Succulent little mouthfuls of dried beef drenched in flavour, served with a delicate chilli jam . This was the star dish of the night.
We also had the little ground sticky rice parcels that were wrapped in aromatic edible herbs and softened cabbage, Lovely morsels indeed!
For main we had a Chilli chicken dish and a Caramelised Ginger Pork dish which we chose to eat with sticky rice. We accompanied these with a fresh tomato salad with local fresh basil.
Every dish was thoughtfully executed and presented and really delicious!!!!!
The house wine comes in little carafes holding at least a glass and a half of lovely light French wine for a very reasonable 35,000 kip. My partner drank Beer Lao.
Our total bill was 300.000 kip including drinks. I would highly recommend EVERYONE visit this seriously good addition to the Luang Prabang food scene :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalynlpb, Owner at Bamboo Tree Lao Cooking School and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thanks Christine<3 we are great that you love our foods and had a good time in our restaurant, all our staffs are students, they are working and studying so they love and try to speak more English. well we hope that to see often while you are in LPB and we hope to have a chance to introduce you more dishes and some great drinks...
thank you very much
My Regards,Linda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

They have very good food and waiter is very freindly , the local food is very dilicious i love it, i will come back here

Thank Xaikhamla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalynlpb, Owner at Bamboo Tree Lao Cooking School and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thanks Andrew , we're really glad to hear that you appreciated the attentiveness and knowledge of our staff. Thank you again, we hope that to see you again and give us a chance to introduce you more about Lao foods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have bin here twice. Once for a drink and some apetisers. You don't come here for The cocktails. You have to go here for The food. It's fine local food with a good taste! The second time we went for a whole meal. The only thing here is that you have a little time. Also there english is not that good but The iT is word iT. The food is great!!

Thank Cowboy_henk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalynlpb, Owner at Bamboo Tree Lao Cooking School and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Cowboy_henk53, we are so sorry if you did not enjoy the drink due to that day our bartender did not come and all our meals are made fresh to order so it may took up to 25 mins,Maybe more if we are very busy it is worth the wait. Anyway we hope to have a chance to made a great drink for you, thank you again for your visited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful experience - a truly unique and personal experience. We started with a great market tour, then came back to the restaurant, where the chef taught us about the history and elemental components of cooking in Southeast Asia before showing us how to cook five dishes - with time for plenty of hand on practice. An exceptional experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalynlpb, Owner at Bamboo Tree Lao Cooking School and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thanks Pat, we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Bamboo Tree. Best of luck for cooking from our cookbook at home, Please try and do not forget to email me if you have any question :) enjoy your cooking...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Tree Lao Cooking School and Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Bamboo Tree Lao Cooking School and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing