We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree - fantastic spot, great value!”
Review of Namkhan Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Namkhan Riverside
Ranked #17 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I had been staying in another hotel but walked past this gem & immediately booked in for 2 nights. $25 for a lovely room with a deck overlooking the river. Great breakfast. Staff very helpful. Beautiful wooden flooring. Close to everything. Loved it!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank MikeKellyIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, General Manager at Namkhan Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Micheal,

Great to have you stay, and so glad you enjoyed yourself. Luang Phrang is a very special place and always has so much to see and do. Hope to see you again sometime. Happy travelling.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Namkhan Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I came 2 times in this guesthouse, 6 nights in total.
There's something special in this place something which makes you feel good, especially due to the warmly welcoming of Ben the manager who is such a nice and caring person and his team always with a smile.
The day I arrived in Luang Prabang, tuk tuk didn't know this guesthouse and just let me somewhere in the street near another guesthouse which has almost the same name, I was lost in town at 10pm and the owner came to pick me up where I was!
Rooms are very pleasant, good size, very clean, wifi is running well, and good view. It's quiet and location is perfect, just down to phousi mountain and 3mn walk from the main Street !
Breakfast is also good with different dishes to choose (eggs, pancakes, cereals, Lao soup, toasts) and fresh juices coffee & tea.
You can't expect a better choice !
Ben, i'm sad to leave your place thank you for your warmly welcoming which made my stay so pleasant and I wish you all the best for the future !
Florence

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Flo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, General Manager at Namkhan Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Florence,

Warmest "Sabaidee" & "Bonjour" from Namkhan Riverside Hotel in Luang Prabang,

We are very happy to know we helped contribute to your fond memories from your first & Second trip to Luang Prabang and truly appreciate your recommendation to friends.

It was a pleasure to read your exceedingly kind praise of our hotel on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back as our honored guest at the next available opportunity.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

we initially booked to stay here for two nights but when we arrived we got such a great welcome from Ben, the manager, and had a great room with a balcony over the river. so we stayed for four more nights. at £13 a night with breakfast included it's a real bargain considering how nice it is.

the hotel is still very new and all the staff seem to be continuously making something or other better each day. the rooms are clean, great hot showers, nice balcony, good A/C, and you can pick your choice of breakfast and it's served on your balcony - or alternatively at the riverside dining area.

Ben has great English and always keen to answer any of your questions, give restaurant or activity recommendations and even sort onward bus journeys.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, it's been one of our favourite places we've stayed in 7 months of travelling.

Cheers Ben!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, General Manager at Namkhan Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Bryan & Jenny,

Warmest "Sabaidee" from Namkhan Riverside Hotel in Luang Prabang,

Thank you very much for your kind words - we are delighted that we could welcome you at Namkhan Riverside Hotel during your stay in Luang Prabang Old Town.

I am grateful for your appreciation of the service which indeed is our biggest asset. All colleagues are trained to be authentic, friendly, and gracious and provide a service attitude that is above expectations.

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we are glad to have provided you with a memorable experience. The entire team looks forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.

Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had been staying across town before deciding to finish out our stay in Luang Prabang at Namkhan Riverside after reading some great reviews.

Firstly, the room was perfectly sized with a comfy bed, TV, AC, hair dryer, and a super powerful shower. Also, everything was very clean. We also had some laundry done here which was very easy to do and came back in great condition. The breakfast menu was one of the best we experienced on our travels ranging from pancakes to omelettes and included fruit shakes at no extra cost!

Staying at this new hotel isn't actually about the great facilities, it's about the exceptional service and the outstanding staff. Ben, the manager, is probably the friendliest and most hard working person in the whole of Indochina. His welcoming nature and 'cannot do enough for you' attitude made our stay at Namkhan Riverside the most memorable of our entire trip.

We hope that Ben and his staff get more and more positive reviews (that they deserve) and that allows them to flourish in the future as they really deserve it from all of the work that they put in.

We also have to say that Ben's English was excellent which really helps. He even compliment my girlfriend as we were on our way out for dinner - what a lovely man!

If you've got the option, make sure you check in here for a memorable stay in Luang Prabang, and help this hotel become recognised as one of the best in the area in the future!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, General Manager at Namkhan Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Ben & Eleanor,

First of all, we would like to thank you for selecting Namkhan Riverside Hotel as your choice of accommodation while visiting Luang Prabang.

Your great feedback on Tripadvisor website is much appriceated. We are so glad to know that you are satisfied with our room, location, our service and we are especially grateful to hear that you would be happy to stay at Namkhan Riverside Hotel.

We- all staffs are very happy to service you. We hope that Namkhan Riverside will be your second home when you travel, It's our pleasure to listen and share everything with you.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments us on site, those are our rewards and a feedback drives us to maintain our high standards for future guests. we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel service. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you visit Luang Prabang in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Ben,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This brand new guesthouse surpassed every expectation by far.

We were staying at another guesthouse across town, when by chance we wandered past this one. Ben, the Manager, welcomed us warmly, and showed us his sparkling new place. We fell in love!

We stayed in a room overlooking the river, with a private balcony, AC, TV, hot water, comfy bed and a duvet made for dreaming. Brekky is fresh fruit plus whatever you want i.e. pancakes, eggs, noodle soup etc SERVED ON YOUR PRIVATE BALCONY! Literally overlooking the river!

The rooms are spacious and clean. But for us, the highlight was the level of service, which as truly exceptional. Every time we saw Ben and his team, they greeted us with a smile, and a level of personal service that was incredible - even remembering personal details like what brekky we liked, and where we had been that day. We were made to feel so welcome, and it was a pleasure to make friends with everyone here.

We ended up staying 8 days we loved it so much here.

An exceptional property with top quality service, we have no hesitation to recommend Ben and his team. Thank you guys for making our time in Luang Prabang so memorable!

Room Tip: We chose a balcony room, but they are all lovely!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Eprineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, General Manager at Namkhan Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Emma & David,

Warmest "Sa bai dee" from Namkhan Riverside with love,

We are very happy to know we helped contribute to your fond memories from your first trip to Luang Prabang and truly appreciate your recommendation to your friends.

It was a pleasure to read your exceedingly kind praise of our hotel on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back as our honored guest at the next available opportunity.

Hope you are enjoying Nong Kiaw and the rest of your trip in Laos as well

Your sincerely,

Your friend Ben,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked our room through agoda.com after reading some good reviews on here, and all I can say is that the reviews were spot on. When we arrived we were welcomed by the most friendly people. We got a good welcoming drinking (water, yahourt and banana) and our bags were brought upstairs. The room is big, best hot shower I ever had in SEA. It was clean like the rest of the hotel. Lovely breakfast is included in the price, exellent pancake and mango shake. The staff who works at front desk is very helpul, he speaks English very well and explained to me a lot of interested things like Laos History, Monks, things should do and shouldn't do in Lao,..I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vudieuminh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, General Manager at Namkhan Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Our Valued Guests,

On behalf of the whole staff, we are grateful to you for the wonderful comment being presented here, which meaningfully encourages and supports us on our way of development. Reading yours, we know that we are doing the right things and our attentiveness has been well-recognized, and truly, we are touched by you also. Especially, It is our pleasure to have you with us on a special occasion. We are glad that our team has done a good job and created a pleasant suprise for you.

In addition, we thank you for recommending Namkhan Riverside to your friends, family and the upcoming guests. Your truthful review is valuable not only for us, but for the ones who are looking for a smart choice of accommodation in Hanoi for an enjoyable vacation as well.
Our primary goal is fulfilling every guest’s satisfaction, accordingly we keep striving harder in order to improve both facilities and services to the best possible, and your patronage is important for us in deed.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Namkhan Riverside Hotel and bring to you another 'day for a life time' in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just finished our 6 day stay at namkhan riverside. Its an absolutely beautiful place to stay with not one negative. Rooms are well decorated, immaculately clean and the airconditioning works well. The shower was a rain shower and was lovely water with water as hot or cool as you like. And Ben the manager is so helpful and friendly Would definately recommend and if we return to Luang Prabang we would definately return

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben T, General Manager at Namkhan Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Emily & Declan,

It has been a great pleasure to welcome you at Namkhan Riverside hotel and thank you very much for taking the time to review on your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience in Luang Prabang and particularly value our hotel.

It is always encouraging to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services. Your kind words will be shared among the team as I am sure that this will serve as a motivation to our staffs to continuously improve our services.

We hope to welcome you back to our Namkhan Riverside Hotel for another journey in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 68 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 266 in Luang Prabang
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namkhan Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namkhan Riverside

Address: 20 Phousi Road | Ban Aphay, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £16 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Namkhan Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namkhan Riverside Hotel, located in Town Center, Luang Prabang, is a popular choice for travelers. Situated only 0.5 Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Namkhan Riverside Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. The hotel provides car park, pets allowed, BBQ facilities, Wi-Fi in public areas, lockers to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's garden are ideal places to relax and unwind after a busy day. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Namkhan Riverside Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Namkhan Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing