We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in central position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Reserving a room at Lotus Villas was easy over the internet and you can pay by Paypal. I had booked a “lotus room” which was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the courtyard garden. The shower room was spotless with lots of hot water and soft towels.
Lotus Villas is situated on a quiet road conveniently halfway between the Mekong river and the main street – both only a very short walk away.
Breakfast is lovely and you can choose to eat it either in your room or in the garden courtyard. The staff are delightful, friendly and helpful. There is free internet in reception with complimentary coffee and tea. Lotus Villas was a peaceful place to return to after exploring wonderful Luang Prabang.
This little town is changing! We first visited two years ago. Now there is more traffic although it is still a sleepy little place. The magical night market has been relocated off the main street and the morning produce market was definitely more “sanitized”. Two years ago we saw many “strange creatures” for sale to be eaten – not anymore. Despite the changes, Luang Prabang can still cast its spell. You could just stay here indefinitely. I would certainly come back to Lotus Villas.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2008

Nice clean comfortable rooms with nice courtyard. Very good breakfast included in the price. Near the Mekong and Nam Kam Rivers as well as restaurants and bars. Free internet available for free. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Transfers to airport can be arranged. Very chilled place next to beautiful temple. Laundry can be done at the hotel. Rooms are very simple but stylish. Howver there's no phone, tv or refrigerator. Rooms are a bit overpriced though.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gigi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

My wife and I have just returned from 11 days at the Lotus Villa.
Initially they could only take us for 9 nights and arranged other accomodation nearby for the missing period but then had a cancellation and we were able to stay with them by changing rooms. This brought us to Room 13,which is one of the cheaper rooms and the best in the hotel! Being on the side it has 2 extra windows which adds to the light.
The stay was memorable and the staff excellent even with the odd language problem (not with the Australian owners!)
If we wanted anything then it was provided -one only had to ask.
The garden where breakfast is served is being rapidly turned into a jungle with tropical trees and flowers.
Of course one can always find a small quibble but this is a new place which is improving every day and we count ourselves very lucky to have stayed there.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MarlenaDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

Very nice place, small but confortable room with a nice balcony. Adorable staff, Sangob, Nou, Tic, are all very friendly and helpful, feels like family. The Australian owners are good to talk to too. Fantastic location, one block from busy main street on a charming little street in between a few temples. Nice courtyard and breakfats. Only missing a few amenities in the room: no shampoo or shower gel which could be expected for the price. Nice clientele. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coerlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

The hotel is in a good location but service offered is not appropriate to the price. Numerous small details were poor. Staff were unable to organise an appropraite vehicle to collect my parents form the airport despite at least a weeks notice and also were planning on meeting the wrong flight. we ended up with the luggage in an open truck getting wet in the rain. There are plenty of vehicles in town and it would not have been difficult to arrange a car. The owners contacted me shortly before my stay to say the price of the room had increased from my confirmed booking (by a few dollars a night) made directly with them, originally claiming I had not specified the number of people in the room and then making no appology when I provided evidence that I had acrtually specified clearly the room occupants. I felt they should have honoured the original confirmed booking.
Other small details, like the failure to provide a spare toilet roll in the room, the cheap slithers of soap, and the 'only one coffee/tea' refill policy at breakfast sit better with a property in a cheaper price bracket. Details of the rooms are also unfinished, like wire covering on lamps.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank visitor0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in one of the more expensive rooms, and 1 night in a cheaper room, based on availability. Both were great. The main difference was that the pricier ones were bigger, and had a beautiful bath tub in the room which was very romantic.

The linens were so nice that we asked where we could buy some, and picked them up in Vientiane for our bed at home! The decor was minimalist and beautiful, and all rooms are quiet, cool, and have French doors opening onto the main patio. They also serve a nice big breakfast that's included in the price.

The location is fabulous, just 1 block up from the Mekong and a 5 min. walk into the main part of town. The brother and sister who own the Lotus Villa were really nice, and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank J-Roh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

A clean, new hotel with large, bright rooms in a convenient location in the old part of Luang Prabang. A pleasant courtyard for breakfast. The Laotian staf were very frendly and helpful. We wanted to book another couple of days after our return from a side trip up the Nam Ou, but the hotel was fully booked. We were surprised that the proprietors gave us no help in finding another hotel.

The hotel, while very pleasant, is overpriced for the facilities provided. No phone, fridge or television. No laundry service. The shower is in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IreneAOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#12 of 68 in Luang Prabang
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 68 in Luang Prabang
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £58 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing