We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$227
US$174
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara Rive Droite(Luang Prabang)
US$125
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Palais Juliana(Luang Prabang)
US$109
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
US$75
US$73
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Spirit Resort(Luang Prabang)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveller rating
589
263
67
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
263
67
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus rootevery morningquiet streetbanana treeswhere breakfast is servedthe main streetlovely courtyardopen showertamarind jaminner courtyardmonks walkalms ceremonysticky ricenight marketalms givingexcellent breakfasttak bat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
409 - 414 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A real peach of a boutique hotel is the Lotus Villa Laos in Luang Prabang. The hotel is just a 15 minute drive from the airport. All the important places to visit are near by. The breakfast area almost looks like a wooded forest and it is wonderful to have breakfast in such surroundings. A peculiarity that is hard to decipher the absence of TV or even music. Nevertheless, one should not complain as you are better off not watching TV. The people are simple with simple aspirations. There is much to see near the hotel such as temples and local life. Being a hotel employee myself, I was taken in by the rooms especially the terra cotta tiling and furniture and took photographs to see if we could do up a room back home at the hotel where I work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rianja, General Manager at Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Monica B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write! And I apologize for the delay in responding.

And if I may, Monica, I would like to use "your space" for a minute to also apologize to the previous reviewers I have not yet written to. But in the beginning of December I was in a very bad cycling accident. And though back at the hotel now, my fractured left arm is in a cast, and I am typing one handed. Plus the cracked ribs & broken collarbone make being at a keyboard somewhat difficult!

But that does not mean your review (and the others) are any less appreciated. Monica, your comment about our design is particularly appreciated, as we are very proud of our unique design approach. Also, thank you for reminding everyone we are TV-free, and that we also stay away from the 'canned' music found so often at other hotels.

Finally - you are in the hotel business too! That makes your comments high praise indeed. We will continue to do our very best for all our guests, and to live up to your lovely review.

Once again, many thanks, and may all your travels be safe and happy ones.

With Best Regards,
Evelyn

Evelyn Napier
General Manager
Lotus Villa
So thank you Monica, and to the previous reviewers, for uyour patience and

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A very well run hotel with attentive staff who are eager to please. We stayed twice during our tour here - we stayed upstairs for two nights with balcony on both sides of the room, ensuring good ventilation. Most important - the beds were very comfortable and ensured a good night's sleep. Room #5 was a little noisy for early in the morning with the person delivering the alms rice ringing the doorbell at 5.30am, but the upstairs location was great for photographers. When we returned we mentioned this to Evelyn, the manager and we were moved into a room at the back for the next stay. It was great to have a fridge and access to a kettle for morning coffee. We didn't have to travel far to see the monks collecting alms as they passed right by the hotel - some of our best images were taken from the balcony. We ate several meals at Joy's Restaurant and highly recommend it for Laos food. Joy also cooked us french fries and chicken one night when we said we were missing Western food, so she is highly adaptable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisier but a little bigger and great for viewing the alms ceremony. At the back they are quieter and a bit smaller.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldinel752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

very good location, friendly staff - everything written by fellow travellers -
but nobody mentioned the exceptional good quality of the beds -
something extremly important after an interesting but exhausting day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexis246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is a very well-run little hotel with attentive service from the manager, Evelyn, and her excellent staff. It's perfectly located on the quietest of the four streets that run the length of Luang Prabang's narrow peninsula, where the most picturesque wats and old colonial buildings are located. And it's nicely removed from the busy main street that's home to numerous bars, shops and the Night Market. Several outstanding riverfront restaurants, including Tamarind and Sala Cafe, are just two short cross-blocks from the Lotus Villa. The landing for the wonderful Bananaboat Tours is also close by. We enjoyed staying in one of the second floor Lotus Rooms, which have private balconies overlooking the lovely interior courtyard. Breakfast is served in the courtyard and it was first rate!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had booked to stay 3 nights at the Lotus Villa in a Water Lilly room but on account of an admin error ended up being allocated an inferior room. Upon learning of the mix up, Evelyn and her staff moved us into an available Water Lilly room, found us alternate suitable accomodation,moved our luggage and on top fully refunded us the cost of the accomodation. She was most apologetic of the error by the booking clerk and more than compensated us for the inconvenience by personally ensuring that we were completely satisfied. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any one visiting Luang Prabhang.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews