We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I loved Lotus Villa. The location is superb. When we arrived in Luang Prabang, we walked to the hotel from the slow boat pier site. We could also walk to the restaurants and sites and night market.
The breakfasts are devine. The best throughout our month of travelling. Cooked to order and so much choice. Breakfast is served until 11 which really suited us.
I stayed at the front of the hotel and watched the monks walk by early in the morning.
There is a fridge and good quality toiletries. You have to rent a padlock for the safe and the safe wasn't big enough for a large tablet so we left the tablet at reception. There isn't a pool.
So what makes this 5 stars? It's down to Evelyn and the rest of the staff. From the moment we were welcomed, I knew we were in good and safe hands. It is a smooth operation. They know what tourists require and they go out of their way to provide it. It was like a little, relaxing breathing space in the middle of our hectic holiday. They look after you and it feels really nice.
I also like their ethical attitudes and the way they do not mark up the cost of any taxi or tour.
I would certainly stay here if I am fortunate enough to be in Luang Prabang again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rare_Pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    238
    59
    13
    2
See reviews for
130
423
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Villa Lotus in Frangipani room as a break from work in Vientiane. We were looking for a quaint hotel, good location and somewhere that was "Luang Prabang" and we found it. Evelyn, the manager, was excellent and all the staff were well-trained, attentive and genuinely warm. I have stayed at other Luang Prabang hotels at higher price points but I will return to Villa Lotus. Rooms are tropical style with beautiful touches, such as the central courtyard. The rooms are well thought out. The only thing I found lacking was the availability of face towels--handtowels being too large to shower with. We especially appreciated the cold water cooler in the lobby after long days of sightseeing and shopping. I look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoythe j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Evelyn and her staff were so friendly, warm and hospitable! I loved everything about this hotel from the location, staff, rooms, the VERY comfortable bed, to the food, it was all fantastic! I really didn't want to leave. It enhanced our trip to Luang Prabang!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnynuyorkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Evelyn and her staff made us feel right at home. The rooms were very clean and everyone was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast was yummy. Would definitely recommend!!!!! Would return!!!! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wermuthp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We thoroughly loved our stay at Lotus Villa. Our upstairs room overlooking the street was fantastic. Aside from the very comfortable room we could either sit on the balcony and watch life on the street or sit on the rear deck overlooking the courtyard area. An added bonus is the monks go right by each morning so no need to get out of your pj's! The breakfast provided was easily the best we encounted in staying at similar priced guest houses. The staff speak good English and are very helpful. Umbrellas are available free if rains threatens while going for a walk. Location is great and easy walk to all attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warwick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

A friend and I recently booked to stay 2 nights at Lotus Villa. It was my first stay, his third and we ended up extending to 5 nights.

We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room, on the first floor, overlooking the charming courtyard garden.

The room was traditionally styled but with all mod cons. Not large but adequate for us, with comfortable beds, a walk in shower and a nice outside seating area.

Breakfast is spot on, with a choice of Western or Laos, with good quality ingredients. No over cooked scrambled eggs here. These were perfect, yellow, creamy and a bit sloppy. The soup has to be one of the best I've had in Asia.

On our 3rd day, builders turned up to put in a new path in the garden. Evelyn, the manager, came to see us personally to explain about the work, apologise for the intrusion and offer us an upgrade to a larger, downstairs room, with more convenient access. The staff moved us while we were out so we were not inconvenienced.

Where Lotus Villa really excels is in it's service. Evelyn and her wonderful team couldn't do enough for us and really go the extra mile to look after their guests. For example, when we enquired about local wine shops to buy champagne for a party, Evelyn and one of her staff took off on a motorbike and returned later with champagne for us. Five star service every time at Lotus Villa and the smiles and enquiries from the staff seem genuinely, well, genuine.

Thank you all for the loveliest stay. It was hard to leave.

Room Tip: The downstairs garden rooms are larger with an in-room bathtub, nice for a couple, but I preferred o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our sixth stay at Lotus Villa and won't be our last. The staff speak good English and are extremely friendly and helpful. Even though most of the staff have changes in the last 12 months and there is a new manager, Evelyn, we quickly felt "at home".
Lotus Villa is not a five star hotel. It is,however, the perfect place to relax and to absorb the tranquility of Luang Prabang.
Breakfast is lovely whether you choose an omelette, Lao soup or other choices including fresh fruit.
The courtyard is very peaceful.
The staff arranged for alms in the morning.
You can arrange for laundry to be done for about $1.25 per kilo.
Wi fi is inconstant but this is quite common in Laos rather than an issue related to the hotel.

Room Tip: We arranged for Wat, a previous staff member, to pick us up from the airport and for a range of tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Property: Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Best Value Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing