We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great place, great service!”
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Stayed at the Lotus for a few nights to explore Luang Prabang and found it to be an excellent choice. Aside from the beautiful and cozy rooms, the courtyard is lovely for breakfast and the hotel's location central. The staff were also great. They were always very friendly and helpful. They even fulfilled a request from home to get my travel mate a bottle of wine for her birthday.

The only things I found a little weird at the Lotus was the lock and the shower. The locks don't necessarily lock unless you are in the room (They provide a safe in the room). Also, the shower is not in a separate room, but is separated slightly by a wall. I think it would have been helpful to have a curtain there.

Overall, an excellent choice and I'd be happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    250
    60
    13
    2
See reviews for
138
435
101
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed for 5 nights at the Lotus Villa in January. The hotel is clean, the service is great and the breakfast was superb. The staff is very helpfull about where to go and a wealth of information. I had a upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the garden area at the back of the room and the front door opened to a balcony overlooking the street where the monks came by at dawn to collect alms. Its located in a quiet residential area about 2 blocks off the main street and within walking distance to the night market and restaurant area. Its also just down the street from 2 great restaurants, the Tamarind and L'Elephant. The only negative if any is the really steep and tight staircase that takes you to the 2nd floor. I would highly recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShyBoy1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Very comfortable hotel with helpful English speaking owners, a decent breakfast in a beautiful courtyard surrounded by banana and other exotic plantings. My only criticism was the rigidity around rooms and having to change rooms unnecessarily when they could have kept people in the same room. Also, their higher priced rooms seemed worse than the lower priced rooms-noisier and smaller. But overall, the atmosphere was delightful

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed here 5 nights in February while vacationing in Luang Prabang. Our tour operator, Journeys Within in Cambodia put us in this hotel for the LP portion of our trip. They tended to put us in excellent places. Lotus Villa was great for us. Room was good and comfortable, excellent A/C, excellent shower, excellent breakfast, nice court yard for breakfast or drinks. Andrew, the owner, was on site and very friendly and helpful, but all of the staff was that way. For sitting space in your room you sit on the bed, no sofa or chairs, or sit out on your patio or balcony, and the bed side reading lamp is a little awkward.

We definitely enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Lotus Villa in February. The staff were very friendly, the location was great and the rooms were amazing! We had to delay our trip at the last minute, due to unforseen circumstances, and Andrew and Jacinta were very accomodating and agreed to refund our room if they found other occupants (which they did for our original dates). We ended up being able to go a week or so later so we were able to use our original payment for these nights. On our first night we stayed in a Lotus Room which was located upstairs and had a great little balcony onto the court yard. The room was very light and and nicely decorated. The second night we stayed there we were in a Frangipani Room which was also lovely. This room was located on the ground floor opening onto the courtyard and was slightly bigger than the room upstairs. The hotel offered free internet for guests and beautiful breakfasts in the courtyard. The location was also fantastic - close to the river and close to the main street but in a quiet cul de sac. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again if i return to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HigginsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I booked 4 nights after i had seen the very good reviews the place had ...
It has 16 rooms in two buildings separated by a small yard with huge banana trees. The structure is nice, made of wood ,and the rooms are quite pleasant but a little bit IKEA like, definitely not what i would call stylish. We booked a Frangipani room, number 9, for 65 dollars a night including breakfast (which is just ok by the way. You will get frozen reheated baguette with butter and jam, eggs , a juice and fruit.)There was no fridge in the room and the mattress was extremely hard, so hard that we didn t sleep well at all.The staff was just ok, not particularly helpful when we needed them.
What particularly struck me was the lack of atmosphere in the place , the poor welcome we got, and the feeling of being cramped up all the time.The yard is very small indeed and if you are an early riser and want to have your breakfast when they start serving it (7 15) then be prepared to get up at least 15 minutes before to reserve one of the five tables (and preferably one near the kitchen) otherwise you ll have to wait for another 30 minutes to be served.
Besides, what i didn t like at all was being asked from the first day to pay my bill. I had made a Paypal deposit of 155 dollars to reserve the room (I had had to insist on not paying the full amount when i reserved and they eventually accepted...)but they kept pestering me, asking me to pay the remaining 93 dollars as if i were in the habit of leaving a hotel without paying. I told them i was a bit surprised and was not used to paying my bill before checking out but it was of no avail. I think they fear their guests leaving their place before the end of their stay and once in Luang Prabang you will undestand why their fears are grounded. There are A LOT of better places to stay at in Luang Prabang, the most charming in this range being the Apsara. It is definitely stylish, has a view on the river, a wonderful restaurant and very friendly staff. Think twice before you book...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bacon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We came to lotus villa after 4 days in siam reap. We were pleasantly surprised by the relaxed and happy charm of this hotel. The town was beautiful and the hotel offered a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. Exactly what we needed.
The staff were lovely, always happy and incredibly friendly and we left with some reluctance. The owner, Andrew was very helpful with information and tips and obviously works very hard with his staff to create a unique atmosphere. He also donates time and food to the local orphanage which we thought was very generous.
Our room was very nice and everything worked, hot shower, air con, safety box etc and the garden was literally an oasis of palm trees and banana trees and flowers. Breakfast was delicious and very filling with free refills of coffee and fruit shakes. We plan to return next year and stay a bit longer as the town very welcoming and this trip was quite memorable

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevdav33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
755 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Property: Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing