We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base to explore Luang Prabang” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal base to explore Luang Prabang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

Great location in the UNESCO area of Luang Prabang, and also pretty quiet, apart from the rooster in the house across the road... which just adds to the charm.

Rooms had good aircon and were decently-sized, each with a balcony with table+chairs, perfect for reading at night. Service was excellent - very friendly staff and the Aussie owner is also very willing to offer advice.

Two PCs in the reception for web-surfing and while there was Wifi it wasn't so reliable in the room, but then you don't go to Laos to surf the internet, do you?

Breakfast was available every morning in the courtyard with an a la carte menu offering baguettes, eggs, fruits, juices, coffee, and the local noodle soup which I can't recall the name of but it's a lot like Vietnamese pho. Better breakfasts probably available elsewhere in town but it was more than adequate for us.

Very chilled-out place in a very relaxed town, I'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco9nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    237
    59
    13
    2
See reviews for
130
420
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

I fully endorse the previous half dozen reports. This is a well-run homely place, not really a hotel, more an upmarket guest house, very conveniently placed for most of what you want to see in this wonderful town. We had a first floor room, which was comfortable and clean, and the slightly eccentric layout of the shower and WC was something we got used to. We liked the veranda to our room overlooking the courtyard, and very much enjoyed the fine breakfasts. Aircon worked fine, as did the wi-fi. Minor drawbacks - the room safe isn't big enough to hold a (notebook) laptop; the steep curving staircase is a nightmare with a heavy suitcase (and the staff don't offer to help); the rooster across the road keeps earlier hours than we always appreciated. I'm sure you could find cheaper places in LP, but we always felt comfortable here and are happy to recommend it.

If we go again, we would go Jan/Feb, not March. In March it really is hot, and the local farmers' slash and burn bonfires make the air hazy enough to reduce visibility quite noticeably - we never saw the top of the hill in the centre of Luang Prabang, and it's not very high!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

This is a charming small hotel located on the edge of the town center, walkable to everything the town has to offer. In our 5 night stay we upgraded from a first floor $68USD room to a second floor $78USD room to take advantage of the balcony offered in the upstairs rooms. The rooms are roomy, clean and comfortable. Large beds, ample A/C. The owner and staff are extremely nice and very helpful. Breakfast is generous. Location is quiet yet close to restaurants and shopping. Prices are cheap for food and shopping (negotiable in most cases). Incredible night market. A cab ride to/from the airport is $5USD.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed at the Lotus Villa for 3 nights and had a fabulous stay. The room was beautiful; with the front door facing the street (top floor) and a balcony over the courtyard. The owner we met was very friendly and gave us some great tips. We had trouble getting the hot water working our first day (user error - we were turning it in the wrong direction and not letting it run long enough), and he immediately helped out to make sure it worked.

The breakfast in the courtyard is wonderful; I highly recommend trying the Khao Soy (soup) from breakfast. It's similar to Vietnamese Pho, but even better. You have to give it about 20 minutes one you order, so we're just get up and tell them to start getting our soup ready while we got dressed.

The free internet in the lobby was very helpful, as well as the lock rental for the safe box in the room. You just pay a deposit for the lock and get it back upon checkout. The only downside is the rooster across the street which got us up early every morning...but that's no one's fault! We got used to it...and they're everywhere in town. :)

Luang Prabang is a wonderful town and we loved it there. March was a bit off the usual because of the farmers burning in the mountains - so, very smoky air. We loved our visit, and the Lotus Villa was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybershaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Stayed at the Lotus for a few nights to explore Luang Prabang and found it to be an excellent choice. Aside from the beautiful and cozy rooms, the courtyard is lovely for breakfast and the hotel's location central. The staff were also great. They were always very friendly and helpful. They even fulfilled a request from home to get my travel mate a bottle of wine for her birthday.

The only things I found a little weird at the Lotus was the lock and the shower. The locks don't necessarily lock unless you are in the room (They provide a safe in the room). Also, the shower is not in a separate room, but is separated slightly by a wall. I think it would have been helpful to have a curtain there.

Overall, an excellent choice and I'd be happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

Stayed for 5 nights at the Lotus Villa in January. The hotel is clean, the service is great and the breakfast was superb. The staff is very helpfull about where to go and a wealth of information. I had a upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the garden area at the back of the room and the front door opened to a balcony overlooking the street where the monks came by at dawn to collect alms. Its located in a quiet residential area about 2 blocks off the main street and within walking distance to the night market and restaurant area. Its also just down the street from 2 great restaurants, the Tamarind and L'Elephant. The only negative if any is the really steep and tight staircase that takes you to the 2nd floor. I would highly recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShyBoy1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

Very comfortable hotel with helpful English speaking owners, a decent breakfast in a beautiful courtyard surrounded by banana and other exotic plantings. My only criticism was the rigidity around rooms and having to change rooms unnecessarily when they could have kept people in the same room. Also, their higher priced rooms seemed worse than the lower priced rooms-noisier and smaller. But overall, the atmosphere was delightful

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Property: Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Best Value Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing