We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gem in Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We had a fantastic stay in the Lotus villa with Andrew and his team. The staff is brilliant, always smiling and always trying to help and make your sty comfortable.
The room was not elegant but typically lao style and we liked it. We didn't mind the stairs up, don't be afraid, just 10 little bit steep stairs and you get to a room with private balcony and a balcony facing the street to watch the monks in the morning. If you mind the stairs, you can choose a romm on the groundfloor facing the lovely garden.
We had breakfast in the garden, a brilliant one with fresh, warm baguette and lots of other things. The coffee? I don't care because they have different kind of teas.
The best, ask Andrew or the staff about the orphanage - we were really impressed and took something special back with us in our hearts.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiki68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2010

On arrival to Luang prabang by jumbo from the bus centre, there was no one spruking for accomodation at Lotus Villa.That is a good thing, rooms are popular and booked well in advance.
The rooms are new and are amazingly maintained always painting,restoring,polishing.
We stayed for 11 nights and at first thought this was to long but we needed a place to recharge our selves.The breakfast here was stunning fresh local bread ,jams,fruit, lao coffee all served in the beautiful courtyard.
Laundry services were fast and affordable.
Free computers down stairs.
In a great part of old Laung Prabang, close to the mekong which has lots of river bars and resturants a ferry terminal and short walk to the main street.
Yes the rooms do not have TV so if you want tv simple dont stay here!(read the web site!)
We stayed in the lotus rooms great balaconies for reading, drinking, relaxing enjoying each others company!
No fridge we would of liked a fridge BUT again read the website no mention of fridge do not pressume this stuff.fridge is available at reception.
Staff are attentive,helpfull,friendly,personal and understanding.
The owners are Australian and have a great bussines model i.e money to local orphanges,fair pay pratices,educating staff,talk to the staff as peolpe and not slaves and have great eco practices.
We would talk to the staff and owners regularly they would remmeber our names great us with a big Lao smile we would have a laugh.
The girls at reception would be very helpful with local tours,give great advice for restuarants,shopping,local wats and do and donts!
Simple a Great place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinotremeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

The Lotus Villa is enchanting, relaxing, and feels like coming home. We spent three weeks this time - plenty of time to really get to know the people at the hotel, the town and the region. We were encouraged by Jacinta, Richard and Andrew to ask staff to join us on their off times, and we did. Ghee, Lea, Sangub and Khamla were all able to spend some time with us. So we got to see the area through their eyes, and it was great.

We stayed in a Frangipani room again. The floors are wooden, there are louvered shutters, a rather neat in-room shower, and a verandah. Luang Prabang is a compact town, and you have the advantages of living side by side with your Lao neighbors. This means the monks at the wat next door as well as observing birthday parties and weddings.

We were invited to try out one of the new Orchid suites. They are beautifully decorated, with a bedroom and a lounge/twin bedded room which can be separated at night for privacy. You also have your own private balcony overlooking the quiet street. For us the utter highlight was the "rainforest" shower, though the room also contained a very large bathtub.

Breakfast is included, in the quiet, treed garden. Staff are lovely. Hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marian_from_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

We stayed here on advice of the many good reviews and were not disappointed.
Wewere on a flying trip to Luang Prabang(only 1 night but wished we had stayed longer).
There are a couple of negatives but as the room book says...please write an honest review.
Pros : The staff are excellent. Jacinta?? on the front desk is just soooo good at her job...you feel so welcome and she is just so lovely and helpful. We briefly met Richard the ex kiwi owner...you can't tell by his accent......and he also seemed to be a genuine nice guy. He was so right too ...we need to come back. Luang Prabang It is like the Lao version of a large Bangalow/Eumundi/Bellingen all in one with rivers on both sides
...a must to visit.
Location is quiet but still easily walkable to Main Street and the rivers.
The garden setting between the 2 wings is very inviting for an afternoon drink or you can relax on your private balcony in some rooms...ours was a Lotus Villa I think and very comfortable.

Cons. Maybe slightly overpriced for its location as there are many similar establishments overlooking river...although some were quite expensive...best to weigh up your options. It may be the best quality and value for its location.
One annoying problem in rooms which I believe has to be addressed...no divider/shower curtain between toilet and shower recess so if you don't mind a wet derriere after each shower you will be ok. A suitable aesthetic solutionmust be possible in keeping with the rest of the beautiful rooms ( a bit dark too unless you open all shutters etc.)
To sum up: Lovely hotel with excellent staff and good location which needs a few minor improvements...would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weliketoleavehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

A wonderful guest house with a quaint courtyard and an extremely relaxed setting a block away from the main tourist attractions in Luang Prabang, Laos. We stayed in the Orchid suite that was newly renovated and established for families. One king bed and two twin beds in one overly large suite that can be divide with wooden panels for sereration / privacy. The staff was amazingly nice and the owners were readily avalable to share their insights to the activities around the area. Our expectations of both the guest house, the town and the amazing scenery / countryside were far-exceeded. Andrew, one of the owners, noted that many guests come in and note that the quiet surroundings and friendly Lao people bring many people back for more. We were here for three nights and could have easily doubled it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJenkins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

The Lotus Villa is a good middle class choice directly on the pensinsula / old town within walking distance to all major sights and the main street (<5 mins). The B&B offers basic accomodation, good breakfast and has super friendly, helpful staff.
What I did not care about too much are some details about the rooms. They were a bit too basic to really justify this being a "boutique hotel". Some of the wiring was adventurous and the rooms smelled stuffy / damp - probably due to the fact that the shower never really dried properly. So unless they address this, they'll have a serious problem. The room type I stayed in was - aptly named - Water Lilly.
Would I stay there again. Yes and no. Service / Location - definitely a yes. Rooms - rather a no.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank epicentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

This cute little place did not stand out from the outside. However, once you’re inside one of the rooms and see the back terrace, it’s like a little tropical paradise. Staffs were knowledgeable, courteous, and prompt. The price was affordable and came with sumptuous breakfast as well as complimentary internet. Clean, down-to-earth, modern, and tranquil.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayce_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
1 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#24 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 71 in Luang Prabang
402 reviews
6.1 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
252 reviews
0 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: £51 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing