We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with friendly staff and nice owner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Symoungkoun Guest House
Ranked #115 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location with friendly staff and nice owner!”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Symoungkoun Guesthouse is located opposite Wat Symoungkoun. The guesthouse is actually located on Wat Street. So, do not miss the opportunity to join Morning Alms Giving in the morning. The guesthouse also nerby Nam Khan river and Mekong river. Sunrise and sunset can access easily in 10 minutes via walking. The owner and staff will definitely show you the Laos hospitality. Bus ticket and tour package can be book with fair price and also bicycle rental is available.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a room at the back on the ground floor. It was incredibly dark and damp. There is damp covering the walls and it smells very musty. Being next to reception also means noise throughout the evening and certainly in the early morning so don't expect any lie ins. The bathroom was also extremely mouldy and smelly and there is exposed lighting and wiring in there. Bed linen and towels were threadbare with holes in them.

The only reason I'm giving this place a 2 overall instead of one is due to the fact the staff are very friendly and try to be helpful, although their English is limited.

Perhaps the other rooms upstairs are better, but the one we stayed in was very poor so I could not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Manila
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this guesthouse. The staff are very friendly. They really do try their best to communicate with us though their English can be limited. Everyone is just so nice, from the manager down to the cleaner. The location of this GH is not at the "center." Meaning, you have to walk a couple of yards (1-3 minutes) to get here and this can work for or against this place. If you want relative peace and quiet and away from the bustle of LP, this is the perfect place for you. Symoungkoun is right in front of a monastery so you can be assured of serenity.

Complimentary tea, water (hot and cold) and coffee is served throughout the day and you can get a discounted rate if you book during the low season. They also offer bicycle rentals (the best way to go around the town) and tours.

If you want to do alms giving in the morning, you can order a basket of rice from the store next door for LAK20,000 (around US$2) and mats will be lent to you for you to sit/kneel on during the ceremony.

There is also no curfew so you can stay out for as late as you want. A stay-in receptionist sleeps on the couch in the reception area to let you in.

The room is clean but very basic with A/C and fan, tv, towels, private bathrooms, tissue and small bars of soap.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor MAY be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhotchili09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed 11 nights at this guest house...i just fell in love with luang prabang. The location of the guesthouse is amazing...on the main street but in the quiet side of it. In front there are lovely temples where you can see in the morning their alms procession. Staff is really friendly and smily. Around there are 2 yummy bakeries to have breakfast with good food and lovely atmoshpere...and on the left side also a nice spa. In stayed in room 4, the most beautiful room overlooking the temple...sometimes from my bed i could hear the monks singing while they were doing gardening...big room, air conditioning fan tv and hot water. They also rent bikes there which is the easiest way to discover luang prabang. I really loved staying at SYmoungkoun guesthouse!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeriaf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here one night as a substitute for Phasith GH when they couldn't accommodate us on the first night. Symoungkoun is at the end of the main street, near to some of the more upscale places and across from a temple. The rooms were clean with TV and AC. They offer toilet paper, soap and towels.
I would stay here again just in one of the upstairs rooms away from reception.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHY1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

The owner gave us a nice discount since the guesthouse wasn't fully booked. He has been a novice in one of the temples for three years and a knowledgeable friendly local. The young people working here are eager to work in tourism in a more friendly way than many other Laotians. Walking distance from important places, bikes for rent and at sunrise you can see the monks taking alms across the street. Lovely.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Good location,near by the main streent in Luang Prabang.and It’s only about 5 mins walk from Wat Xieng Thong.
We spend 5 nights in Symoungkoun.Every mornig you can weak up in the temple alms, and just walk out to the GH you can watch the monks collecting the alms. The room, alought very simple, but is clean and bright. Breakfast is not served. and no hair dryer >< that’s really Inconvenient for girls.The house keeper is very frindly. Alought he seems to not talk well in english, but still do his job well.We all very enjoy this trip, and really thanks Symoungkoun’s people a lot.

我們五個人是在2012年1、2月到龍坡邦6天自助行 全程都是住在Symoungkoun這家民宿 房間屬於簡單 較小 但非常明亮 乾淨 管理人員非常和善 可以用簡單的英文 加 一些肢體動作 來溝通 沒有吹風機是我們覺得唯一不方便的地方 有冷氣、電視、有熱水可以洗澡 沒有早餐提供 可以租腳踏車、機車
住在這間民宿真的是很棒 位置相當的好 清晨可以聽到寺廟的鐘鼓聲、讀經聲,民宿網頁上介紹有名的僧侶托缽 真的就在民宿前 你只要早點起床 就可以看到。另外 很有名的景點如相通寺( Wat Xieng Thong )就在附近 走路只要5、6分鐘就可以到(只可惜 我們去的時候 它正好正在大整修)
我們非常享受這次的旅行 玩的很開心 感謝Symoungkoun民宿的朋友幫忙 強力推薦

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokxai Guest House
Sokxai Guest House
#133 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nammavong Guesthouse
Nammavong Guesthouse
#200 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#55 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Senesouk
Villa Senesouk
#87 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel
The View Pavilion - Boutique Hot...
#19 of 142 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#19 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symoungkoun Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symoungkoun Guest House

Property: Symoungkoun Guest House
Address: Sakkarin Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Symoungkoun Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Symoungkoun Guesthouse is located along the mainstreet of Sisavangvong. It has 6 rooms right in the city and near to amenities such as banks/ATMs, restaurants/pubs, spa/massage, internet cafe, tourist office & tour agencies. Other famous attractions such Royal Palace Museum, Phousi Hill, Night market and a dozen of temples are all within walking distance. Every morning there are not less that 500 novices/monks walk past this guesthouse for the traditional alms giving, unique in Luangprabang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Symoungkoun Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing