We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & Gentle much like Luang Prabang”
Review of Oui's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oui's Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple & Gentle much like Luang Prabang”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed over a week at Oui's and were looked after superbly. The room on the 1st floor was good, comfortable, and a nice place to relax, the room on the ground floor was not as good however it was cheaper and as we were bounced from another hotel was very gratefully received.
When staying you should use the services of the sisters brother Mr Hongkeo, an upmarket TukTuk Driver. He showed us Laos from the perspective of a Lao national, taking us to ethnic villages which were not on the tourist route, climbing mountains to see spectacular vistas, guiding us around the local food markets and explaining the food eaten by Lao people, as well as showing us the more tourist orientated villages. Dusty, Dirty and fantastic!!! Thank you all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward_bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at this lovely simple guest house run by three sisters ... it was a great location, a simple, clean comfortable room with gorgeous plantation style chairs to relax in on the balcony and the three sisters are very courteous and accommodating. Great breakfasts (included in the price) in the little front courtyard. The location, away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist section but really close to everything, made it ideal and in the evening there was no shortage of restaurants close by, along the river. It was peaceful, easy and extremely reasonable ... a lovely haven!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms share the balcony and the end room upstairs has windows on either side which gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskeeweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Oui's Guesthouse is a bit overpriced and further from the buzz of Luang Prabang, but it's really cozy and impeccably clean.

Breakfast is really good and made on the spot for you, the sisters are nice, welcoming and speak good english.

I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

In a quiet old town area on the river Khan is this peaceful, spotlessly clean little guesthouse run by three lovely sisters. After a few days we really felt like part of the family, they were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble.They speak excellent english, price includes a simple yet adequate breakfast. It is only a short stroll to the excellent Watts nearby and there is great evening dining at the many nearby riverbank eateries with many coloured lanterns providing a welcoming ambience. Local transport was inexpensive to check out the local attractions which might be too far for easy walking, though we found walking the several routes into town proper were a great way to explore and find so many interesting places and cafes. We are both over 75 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I was satisfied with this guesthouse for a number of reasons. It's location is pleasant- a little away from the centre in an area next to the river that has many of the more upmarket boutique style guesthouses. The owner was pleasant, the room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was included in the price.
What prevents me from giving it a higher rating is that I think it is about $5 pernight overpriced. We paid $25 (low season) for one of the more basic rooms downstairs. The room was of a good size and well apppointed however it had absolutely no outlook. The windows opened to a brick wall less than a metre behind and there was a roof of sorts above the windows that prevented any natural light from entering. Very dark but on the plus side, it made the room very quiet to sleep in.
The rooms upstairs are probably very nice but they are more expensive however.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luang prabang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

HI
My Mum and I are coming to the end of our 2 week stay at this family run, beautifully decorated , traditional yet modern guesthouse. .... and have found it (after 2 DAYS trekking the streets of the old town!) - a haven overlooking the Khan river - in this little city crammed with hotels guest houses of varying quality and price.
Ot - (Oui's sister) is SO helpful and manages to help with all requests... with grace and a smile!
A mid-range price... we were so happy to find high standards of service (eg. daily cleaning and fresh towels) ... with a choice of delicious breakfasts served in their charming, garden patio, are included.
Close to the junction with the Mekong, on the Khan river ,Oui's is away from the busier roads, with nicely decorated, comfortable rooms(air con and fan, choice of 2 showers, modern electrics...) Upstairs has its own spacey balcony with nice big lounge chairs.
Mixing old style with modern convenience... and family caring feeling - we were happy to get back here after hot days touring the sights - especially after mucky trips upriver on local boats (what a contrast!)
Roger - Oui's husband - who is usually around in the mornings, has been a great help too - a mine of information about the town, the country... a great host!
There is some building work going on nearby - but that's the case all over this old town, and the builders have civilised hours - so that's fine...
Occasional music from the small restaurant in the next block occasionally plays--- but not after 9pm ... and is quite muted... so that was OK too..
Its doesn't have a restaurant, but the sisters can provide simple food (organic shakes, hot drinks, sandwiches...) available in the day time. There is a huge choice withing a short walk of full meals - my favourites were a short walk around the corner - - along the Mekong for evening sunset view over dinner...

I can thoroughly recommend a stay at Oui's!

ENJOY!

Sara
p.s.The sisters also have a brother who has a taxi - so that's convenient for pick ups/ days trips too!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraLeighRolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This guesthouse is situated at the quiet end of Luang Prabang but ironically the location isn't quiet at all because opposite the hotel is a restaurant/bar that plays Thai pop songs loudly from about 2pm to 10pm every day. At the time we stayed there was also a house being renovated or constructed next door, and the sound of building work went from 7.30 to 6 pm. I found the noise levels really spoiled our stay there.

The rooms were clean but small. There is a working TV and a rail rather than a wardrobe for clothes. There were no insect screens on the door or windows and, rather bizarrely I thought, there was an extractor fan in the wall but no ceiling fans. Consequently we had to keep the air conditioning on all night to ward off mosquitoes. The shower is positioned so that you shower the toilet and toilet paper as you wash. In our bathroom, it took ants about 10 minutes to find the toothpaste we put on the basin and they were soon swarming all over it.

Breakfasts were nice and mostly included in your room fee but you do pay extra for smoothies etc. The laundry service is ridiculously expensive. They charge a few thousand kip per item, whereas if you walk ten minutes down the road you can get your laundry done for 10,000 kip per kilo.

The staff were friendly enough if approached but did not go out of their way to tell you anything. For example I had to ask about breakfasts. I would not stay here again nor recommend this place to another traveller.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peanuthead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#19 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
#23 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#28 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ammata Guest House
Ammata Guest House
#52 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Symoungkoun Guest House
Symoungkoun Guest House
#114 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#46 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oui's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oui's Guesthouse

Property: Oui's Guesthouse
Address: 14 Sukkaserm St | Ban Kili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oui's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oui’s Guesthouse is a small family-run bed and breakfast featuring a beautiful location on the River Kahn, garden breakfast cafe and personal friendly hospitality. A spacious balcony overlooks the river and mahogany wooden surfaces abound with tasteful modern furnishings. AC, Cable TV, Refrigerator and Laundry Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oui's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oui`s Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing