We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nammavong Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santi Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Meuang Lao(Luang Prabang)
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
4
14
6
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
14
6
5
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Do not stay at Nammavong Guesthouse Luang Prabang, Laos. We were lured in from the slow boat with the promise of a decent room at a cheap cost. The room itself was acceptable and at only 50,000kip it was a fair price. It is a family run business so we did not expect money from our room to go missing. We had 50GBP stolen from our room when we went out for the day sight seeing. When we confronted the staff they denied all knowledge of the incident and became quite angry that we had even asked. One of the staff members even asked us to sign a piece of paper saying that we would not go to the police when we threatened to do so. All in all you must avoid this place.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Hannahfish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We found Nammavong Guesthouse to be a great location for our time in Luang Prabang, it was a great price and we enjoyed that it was a little bit outside of the center (like a 5-10min walk). It was close to many of the temples, which was awesome for the early mornings watching the monks collect their rice, and I enjoyed that it was quiet and quite empty. We found the people very friendly and helpful and also loved the cheap bike rental. The room itself was pretty small and some days they had the air con turned off (we didn't pay for air con so I understood why it was off, but also some days it was on) and the bathroom wasn't the greatest. It was pretty small overall for two people. I wouldn't recommend it for the most romantic place for couples, but I would say for backpackers or budget travelers, it's a great choice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for five nights in march, price was very good compared to most around.
Room was fine and apart from one night surprising quiet(we were on the first floor).
Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is alittle out of the centre but its a pleasant walk so not a problem.
All in all good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrShaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and at first were very happy with it, a lovely period-style building with clean, cheap rooms in a quiet location away from the 'hustle and bustle', which is almost non-existent in LPB.
On the day before we were leaving, we counted our money before heading out for a final day of sight-seeing. We discovered 500,000 kip and US$20 that was kept in our money belts had gone missing from the very bottom of our bags, however i-pods and other valuables were not taken. We know for a fact that it was not a case of us not accounting for what we had spent as we keep a strict tab of our daily spending.
After triple checking our belonging to no avail, we went down to reception to confront the owners, and after discovering they did have spare keys, even for the padlocks, we told them about the missing money. This was met with blank stares and mutterings of "oh" from the staff (most of which suddenly busied themselves with other things). After stating that we would be going to the police station to make a report, and that we would be informing lonely planet, rough guides etc. we were assured that the boss would be told and something would be done about it.
We came back later that day, and were told by the same member of staff that they thought it could have been another person working there who had not turned up for work that day. They said he would be contacted and asked about the money.
After checking back a couple of times throughout the day, it became apparent that no effort was being made at all to resolve the matter. To add insult to injury, the staff were actually quite rude and obtuse, and offered no apology whatsoever.

We have since discovered that we are not the only unfortunate people who have had money stolen from locked and secured rooms at this guesthouse. It seems that there is a pattern in the thefts as each time, money has been left behind along with other valuables.
Simply put, we would advise that people avoid this place however nice and friendly it seems upon arrival. Also note, that there was no option to store valuables in a safety deposit box.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben_Attoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I stayed at Namma Vong Guesthouse for one week in January 2010 and it was exceptional. I befriended the young staff and family, including three-year old named Seng Ah Tit (who I taught to play marbles), and wound up teaching English school for two nights courtesy of the owner's daughter, Mrs Pong, who also assisted in my sponsoring Novice Onsi for two years of his English education ($220 USD). The location is superior--right outside the walls of Wat Xieng Thong, and across the road from the Mekong River--and the young staff exceptionally friendly, with good English. I was invited to join many games of petang in the empty lot next door, sharing BeerLao with the lads, and even helped set up their new bicycle rental business by making signs. The room was clean, the water hot, and the air conditioning cold--what more could one ask? Morning monks'alms-gathering is right outside, a process in which the owner's wife participates--this family is Buddhism at its best. The person who left the blog about the theft I suspect has confused this guesthouse with another one--Namma Vong is exceptional value, friendly, and in an exceptional location.

Peter Heron

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterHeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews