We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the tired old "Kaki Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Tulip Jeddah
Ranked #108 of 174 Hotels in Jeddah
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Having had very good ecperiences in other Golden Tulip hotels, I booked this one for a trip to Jeddah and was surprised at the low room tariff. From the moment I arrived, it steadily becamr clear why the rate was so low.

"10 minutes from the airport" was, I suppose, strictly true, but the airport they were measuring from was the one that closed 25 years ago - the airport that is now in use is more like 45 minutes away, and more during busy traffic right through the town centre.

The hotel turned out to be what used to be the "Kaki" hotel and although the web site description claimed that it had been refurbished (some years ago), it was hard to see anything that had been refurbished except for the outside of the entrance (on a side-street). The location is beside an elevated main road, in a very run-down area of Jeddah, and the hotel really fits in here. From the outside the hotel looks as run-down as the areas behind it. The inside matched that, with carpeting that looks like it has been there since the hotel was built.

The view from my room was of what appeared to be derelict warehouses and appartments (though some of the appartments did have washing hanging out of the windows)

There were signs of some refurbishment in the room, with some fairly recent bathroom ceramics, but the bath had not been included in the refurbishment and was old, with a thin limescale film on the inside.

The advertised "free WiFi" was sort of true - as long as you didn't mind spending your internet-working hours in the lobby. There was no internet available in the bedrooms.

The whole impression was that the places was tired and grubby. The staff (when visible) seemed disinterested. Next time, I'll find somewhere else to stay in Jeddah

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

Usually I look for hotels that are located in posh parts of a city but this time I had the chance of staying here.Initially I was a bit put off because of its location write in the middle of a market place that looked like a vegetable farmer's market.The arabic music playing at the swimming pool was enjoyable and it was close to Eid.Gradually I was changing my idea about the hotel.
I went for a walk in the evening and spotted a grand shop for sweets and another nearby selling wonderful Indian pancakes called dosas...typical from South india.I had a sumptuous dinner and now i can say Golden Tulip Jeddah gave me some of life's simplest pleasures,thus making my stay here really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller than usual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FannyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I was planning to stay in Jeddah for three weeks, and the company booked this hotel on the basis of 4 stars rating. It was a mistake. In my opinion it's not even worthy of two stars.
Here is a sharing of some of my experiences there:
- No hot water on the morning and in the evening, only a slightly warm orange and dirty water, and when reported to the reception they said that it was a general problem.... this lasted for the 7 days passed there.
- Extremely noisy air conditioning system that can not be deactivated, I was forced to buy ear plugs to hope for some sleep.
- Very bad bed that seem older than me
- Super over priced and bad breakfast, and nothing nearby for breakfast either.
- Nothing interesting nearby unless you were interested by Indian&Pakistani food and shopping.
- Mainly non interested staff (with some exception of course), I reclaimed three time to change the battery of the TV remote controller, with no result (I've buyed some myself just to confirm that it was a battery issue); another example is the fact that they asked 4 SAR/€ for the currency change??? even the Meridien asked for 5Sar/€; (you could even get 5,2 on the Balad)
- Globally the hotel is old and it's decrepit, and there is no apparent effort to renovate parts of it.

I definitively urged the company to book me another hotel, and I'm never putting putting a leg there again.

Room Tip: Flee flee from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabii_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I was at this hotel, cheap but extremely bad. Dirty, room with street view where the windows was useless as the noise seamed to be inside my room.
Internet not working except if you are in a 3m² area in the lobby and that nobody is using it at the same time.
Swimingpool discusting where nobody would every think enter into it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vedi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Read some bad reviews but for the price it was absolutely fine. Comfortable bed, dark and quiet (had room at back). It wasn't spotless or unblemished (some rust stains in bath, carpet on the old side) but this isn't Europe nor a luxury hotel and it wasn't dirty. Clean linen and towels. The room service was fast (but with obligatory 15% service charge) and the food wasn't bad. Wi-fi in the lobby, large gym, the pool wasn't enormous but at least there is one. The staff were friendly enough and helpful and no language problems. They had my taxi ready at 5.30am. Not in an area where you can walk to much. Ask them to pick you up at the airport as taxis rip you off of course - it should be about 70riyals from the international and 50 from the domestic terminal (I wasn't on business).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Bad higine, bad cleaning, poor ameneties, towels are not clean, bad attitude of house keeping personel

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 12 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeddah hotels
0 mi away
Al Nabarees Al Masi Hotel Apartments
0 mi away
No photo provided
Tafwij Hotel
#75 of 174 in Jeddah
3 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Wed Plaza Hotel
#38 of 174 in Jeddah
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Al Nawras Jeddah
0 mi away
No photo provided
0 mi away
AlHyatt Jeddah Continental Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Jeddah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Jeddah

Address: Old Airport Road, Sitteen Street | PO Box 2559, Jeddah 21461, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 174 Hotels in Jeddah
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Tulip Jeddah 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Jeddah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing