We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and great location”

Hotel Pension Jammal
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baalbeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Pension Jammal
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Baalbeck
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Situated very close to the ruins of Baalbeck, this place is run by very friendly and helpful staff.
The room I stayed in was larger than I expected and had a nice bathroom ensuite.
I'd suffered from traveller's diarrhoea when I arrived and the owner and night-watchman were very kind and came to my room to see if I needed anything.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanHolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

Jammal consists of a pension and a hotel, and is located in two buildings straight across eachother on the main strip. In winter time, only the pension part is used, but when it is more busy, the hotel part across the street also opens. The location is very close to the baalbeck ruins, but the entire town is rather small anyway.

We stayed in the pension part, so my review will only cover that. The rooms are small, but clea and come with attached bathroom and good hot showers. There is no aircon (i suppose there is in the other building), but since we stayed in winter time, this was no problem. Heating is done by somewhat scary mazout burning heaters, but they do a decent job at heating the rooms, although it does take some time to get warm.

There is some communal space where all the rooms are located around, and this is a nice addition since the actual rooms are rather small. There are nice chairs and tables, and a tv with a rather limited selection of english channels.

The staff here are very nice: The owner is a very friendly retired doctor that speaks english very well, and is very helpful in answering anything you want to know, including best methods for transportation etc. He also cooks up a nice breakfast in the morning. The night watchman Ali is a very nice person too, but his knowledge of english and french is limited at best.... but he makes up for it with good gestures and a friendly smile all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Unfortunately, there are no good places to stay in Baalbek. Palmyra Hotel is a dump, when we checked it out in April 2010 it was cold, dirty and without sheets in the army beds...

Jupiter Hotel was as bad. Jammals place had some kind of bed-linen, towles and our own bathroom. Diesel heater for warm water (took hours to get warm) and diesel heater for the room (we didn't use it). The room was not very clean.
But doctor Jamal is a friendly guy and the zataar bread we got for breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swedishjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reddcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Pension Jammal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Jammal

Address: Rue abdel halim hajjar, Baalbeck, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Bekaa Governorate > Baalbeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Baalbeck
Number of rooms: 223
Also Known As:
Hotel Pension Jammal Lebanon/Baalbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing