We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Amir Kabir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esfahan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amir Kabir
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Run”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I was there in late March of 2013.

It is once listed on the Lonely planet guide and it is no longer listed.. I guess there are good reasons for being de-listed. The place is old and dirty, the floor of the rooms are dirty, the bathroom and toilet is downright terrible With flies flying around...

Single rooms are tiny, really tiny...Like capsules sized..and the walls are like paper thin...you can easily hear what others are talking.

It is located on the main street but relatively further away to major slights and attractions.

I was planning to stay in Isfahan for 3 nlights and turned out I couldn't stand that place and flee away with an overnight bus on the 3td night.

Good hotels in Iran are inexpensive , treat yourself better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilfredwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    43
    37
    17
    16
See reviews for
3
28
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stayed in this hostel back in 2004, and came back in 2012. Nothing has changed. the same people, the same facilities, the same lack of treatment of the hostel. This could be much much better. Although my room and bathrooms were not dirty, everything looks as old as Esfahan monuments -also things don't look clean. Well located and very famous. I got a private room with my girlfriend, I mean the room was OK. Price is also ok but this hostel needs love.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I've stayed at Amir Kabir in June 2009 and again now, in June 2012. In that time absolutely nothing's changed and already three years ago the place seemed to have passed his best time. The rooms, toilets, showers are not dirty, but also not clean. The breakfast is fair value, but not very rich. Great things about this place: the nice courtyard, the possibility to meet other travellers (still seems to be the place where everybody goes, altough there doesn't seem to be a good reason for that) and the helpful staff. For the same value you can find better places nearby, but if they would invest a little something, this place could be great again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed in a triple room for 4 nights at 350,000 R per night including breakfast. This seemed fair value though I suspect there are other similar hotels around that might be better value.


The room was pretty small but they managed to fit 3 beds and a sink into the room. The beds and the pillows were a little uncomfortable but the room was clean and we didn't see any of the bed bugs described below. The shared bathrooms were acceptably clean but not brilliant. Breakfast was OK but fairly simple - bread, jam, boiled egg, tea, packaged juice. The free wifi worked in our room but only just with a very weak signal. The room has large windows onto the courtyard to you need to make sure the curtains are properly pulled if you want privacy.


The guys at the desk were very friendly and helpful. A lot of tourists stay here so it's also a good place to meet other travellers.

The location is quite good - around 10 min walk to the main square and around 20 min walk to the river. There is a simple restaurant across the road and others on the same street.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We spent 5 nights –stupid us- in one of the dorms in Amir Kabir. Three different people slept in one of the beds and I could see how every time the maid came and folded properly the same sheets. Well, we the others in the room joked initially, since you cannot expect extreme cleanliness, just found it dirty and laughed… until I got BITTEN 132 TIMES IN ONE NIGHT BY BEDBUGS. Not kidding, counted because I got cream on every bit because of the tremendous itch.

I complain, show it. Then one guy comes and gets aggressive with me (he works with the maid and feels offended, funny though when they do not cleaned at all). The manager says “Well, we will fumigate the room, it does not matter if we change the sheets, bugs are in the wood”. Much easier: the take the whole bed walking on every belonging in the room –one Blackberry charger smashed, poor English girl to find another one- and take it to the roof, while spreading bugs all over. Well, another fumigation.

Not enough? Nooooo… We forgot 1 nice comb in the shower and asked if they found it. Answer: “the maid said she found something made of plastic with hair on it and threw it away”. Well, could be. But then one German-Australian couple got their trousers hanging to dry stolen in the roof, where only the staff has access.

Rude, impolite, and liers: 100% opposite to the rest of Iranians, so just avoid it.

Ah, if you are an overlander driving, forget about a place to park around, not even a motorbike, since there are works. Worst, dirtiest hole in an amazing town which deserves a nicer hostel, not disgusting Amir Kabir.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estebangc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We liked Amir Kabir and met a lot of very interesting guys travelling around the world at this place. Even it`s listed in LP, it remains good hostel for a good value, but somebody can find it not so clean or convinient.

The thing we liked that manager at reception can arrange tickets for a bus without any extra fee and you have not to go to bus station to buy your ticket.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boris_texnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Amir Kabir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amir Kabir

Property: Amir Kabir
Address: Chahar Bagh St, Esfahan 81464, Iran
Region: Iran > Isfahan Province > Esfahan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Esfahan
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing