We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, noisy room and staff issue” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ali Qapu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esfahan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ali Qapu Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Esfahan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice location, noisy room and staff issue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel itself is fine but had a room at the back near an air conditioning unit which was noisy and others in my group had street rooms which apparently were even noisier. I got ripped off in the lobby by a waiter overcharging but as it was only about US$2, I guess I shouldn't complain. It's best feature is its location which is great for the bridges and the Imam Square which are the main sights here

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Josh116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    25
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
4
23
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights.

Hotel location is great! Only 2 minutes walk to Si-o-Se pol bridge and 10 minutes walk to Naghsh-e-Jahan square - the most famous tourist spots in Isfahan city - also surrounded by many restaurants and souvenir stores running til late night.

Staff were kind and welcoming.

Wi-Fi is free only for 2 hours and if you need more you must pay for it.

Mini-bar was good and not that expensive.

Breakfast was OK although it was quite simple.

There is swimming pool in -1 floor - I didn't use but seems good.

The problem with this hotel is that it is quite old! Actually most things inside the rooms are old - including the desk, fridge, bed, bathtub, etc. - And seemingly there is no will improve it.

In my idea Ali Qapu hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel! And 3 star is more than enough for it.

Room Tip: Take rooms away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majid35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Ali Qapu Hotel is located on a very busy street lined with a myriad of little boutiques and almost adjacent to a shopping mall.

The brightly lit Reception is attended to formally dressed personnel who were quite helpful in various ways, including a breezy check in process.

My “single” room, located on the 3rd floor, had two twin beds with sort of soft mattresses, one with a very hard pillow and the other with a much softer pillow. There was the usual closet with ample white plastic hangers, a desk with a large mirror, and a flat screen TV with a few channels -- all in Farsi, the national language of Iran.

The bathroom had a shower but no bathtub, commode, sink and the usual bathroom amenities.

The bedroom and bathroom were clean. The entire ensuite was very quite, so I slept like a baby. Having written that, I could hear my next door “neighbors” talking during the day and sometimes at night.

The hotel offers free WiFi (Internet) for 2 hours with a card obtained at Reception. Once the time limit has expired, however, one simply goes to or phones Reception, and another card/number is provided at no extra charge.

I ate breakfast on the main floor: the food was adequate and plentiful, but “average” for most Iranian hotels. I also ate dinner at the hotel’s Italian restaurant (called “Venice”) located in the basement of the hotel. The food there was also average. I had lasagna which was just okay, but tasty.

Overall, this hotel is a 4-start by Iranian standards and 3-star by American standards.

Room Tip: Get a room in the REAR of the hotel where it is relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I didnt like this hotel at all all the things in room were old toilets were old and looked dirty , rooms were dark, restaurant was dark, breakfast was so simple, quality of foods in fast food restaurant were baaaaaddd, but the location was good certainly next time I go to another hotel

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank roshzand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. The location is convenient to local attractions, and reception staff were ok. The room we were initially given was terrible, aircon was faulty and there was a bad vibration coming through the wall from an aircon compressor. We complained and were immediately upgraded to a larger room which was nicer, but very dated decor and had evidence of water leaking on the carpet from the aircon, causing a musty odour. Wifi was so slow it was nearly useless (wifi is never super fast in Iran however, and a lot of websites are blocked, but this was just useless) and blocked my VPN program which worked on most other wifi in Iran. Breakfast buffet very limited too. Our tour guide advised us he has recommended the tour company book accomodation elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andyrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

A little bit "vintage" but well located to go and visit the city by foot. Try to get a room off the street which is busy and therefore noisy. Breakfast is good but we didn't try the restaurant for other meals

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

It's not very cheap but if you can afford it it won't dissapoint you. The rates were around 1,350,000 rials per night for a double or maybe a bit less :)
It's well located, very close to the 33pol bridge but it takes you around half an hour to get to Naghsh-e-Jahan square by foot. The breakfast isn't that great, I expected something more actually, I would give 3 stars for the breakfast.
One nice thing is that it has a swimming pool, I didn't try it but it sounds nice. Morning for women and evening for men if I remember correctly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saeedaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ali Qapu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali Qapu Hotel

Property: Ali Qapu Hotel
Address: Chahar Bagh Ave., Esfahan 81464, Iran
Region: Iran > Isfahan Province > Esfahan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Esfahan
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing