We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No words to describe this one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shah Mosque - Masjed-e Imam

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“No words to describe this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I've tried to describe just how incredible this mosque it to the people back at home and words just seem to fail me. This mosque (both from the inside and outside) is truly incredible - and for all of the budding photographers out there, it's very photogenic from practically every angle. I could have spent hours here just wandering around.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    61
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Esfahan, Iran
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Its a historical place very amazing.
u must go Esfahan to visit this place
to watching art of buildings.
Drinks,Foods,Snacks,all kind of Iranians food and drinks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank amir-shahrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“one of the most beautiful things i have witnessed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This building is an architectural masterpiece of the highest order and one of the finest structures my eyes will ever witness. From the moment you enter the square and see the facade, to walking around the inside awestruck and finally sitting outside watching the sun set as the call to prayer echoed forth, I left knowing that I had experienced something very special.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ngrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Go around the back of the mosque!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

If you walk down the alley at the south of Naqsh-e Jahan Square and turn right you will be directly behind the Imam Mosque. This area I found atmospheric and offers a different view of the mosque and dome. Some of the buildings here are crumbling away where you can see that the walls have been made of mud and straw, there are also interesting doors. I had wanted to go to Yazd (desert city) but didn't have time and this area kind of reminded me of the photos I had seen of Yazd...narrow alleys and mud walls. See my photos!

Something amazing - behind the dome in the area I mentioned if you look carefully on the ground you will find small parts of the blue tiles of the Imam Mosque just lying there in the sand. There was scaffolding on this part of the mosque and the tiles must have broken off.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Gracie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Farhad Daneshgar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Again, another amazing Mosque. The history, explanation of various rooms, I wonder why they do not have any coffee shops or resting places inside these places? People need to sit down and rest. So, carry your own light-weight aluminium seat if you are not the best walker. Also, water, fruit, etc loool. Renting a talking mobile phone is a must.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FarhadDaneshgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shah Mosque - Masjed-e Imam also viewed

 
Esfahan, Isfahan Province
Esfahan, Isfahan Province
 

Been to Shah Mosque - Masjed-e Imam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing