We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Tak Taku”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Esfahan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tak-Taku Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 28 Esfahan B&B and Inns
Bonheiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay in Tak Taku”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Certainly one of the best homestays in Iran, very quiet. We need that after the busy cities. The owner , Mohammad , is very helpfull and kind.
It is really a homestay , we eated with his family in their house. Famous Iranian cooking!!!
He has 2 rooms and you have to share the shower and toilet with the family. But a new place is coming..
The village and the dunes are wonderfull.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saabcabrio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    26
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
40
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It is probably one of the only few really quiet places in Iran, away from the huge cities. Toudeschk is small village close to the mountain. It is a good experience to be here but one night is enough because there is not much things to do there. You may take a walk around the village, observing local people everyday life, get to the mountain by bike (excellent choice) or stay at the desert overnight in tanksif you want. The guesthouse offers full board and this is the best food we have had during our whole trip in Iran (Fatima - you are amazing). The rooms are simple but clean and cozy, probably in the new place (not ready now) will more comfortable. There is also wifi - better then in other places. The owner speaks english well and help you organise ewerything lime bus, tickets, hotels in your next destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed there for one night in April 2014 and absolutely loved it. If you want a home-stay and experience living with a real family this is the place for you. Owner Mohammad Jalali is a great man with a big heart and good English. I went for a day trip to the desert as well and it was great. It's also a great place to chill and meet other fellow travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My stay at Tak-Taku was the only negative experience on my Iran trip. Some of the other reviewers mention that the owner, Mohammad, may have had a bad day when they visited. For me, it did not only seem like a bad day. Being there, it felt like we had to stay in the living room so that he could deliver a speech about what he thought, what he liked and what he disliked. Many of these things he talked about, I and all the other travelers considered highly inappropriate. I will not go into any detail but suffice it to say that these were not topics any "normal" person would touch on a first meeting and most certainly not in Iran. Mohammad essentially forced information on everybody nobody would have wanted to know and nobody would like to hear being discussed in Iran. The whole atmosphere was very uneasy and whenever he had finished speaking, there was this awkward silence. It was obvious that everybody would have loved to leave as soon as possible but then again, this is difficult in the evening in this village about 100 km from Esfahan. I would not normally write such a negative review but in this case, if a friend told me he was planning to go here, I would strongly discourage him from doing so, as it really for a short while ruined my altogether great trip to Iran. Apart from the negative atmosphere, I also had and still have some health concerns as Mohammad was constantly coughing without once covering his mouth. He later told us that he had been coughing for more than a month, which should be a clear sign for someone hosting guests to seek medical advice. The accommodation itself is ok, it is a shared toilet for about 10 people and the court yard is quite nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank ShahAbbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I didn't planned for going to this "home stay"(the guidebook call it home stay instead of guesthouse), I went there only because of the words from other travelers I have meet on the road.

The village is not picturesque, in the middle of nowhere, not much to see and do around...but the stay was nonetheless a good experience. It's a good place to just slow down, relax from rushing from attractions to attractions, smoking shisha, to meet and chat with other travelers. Travelers I have meet there are rather interesting, each from different country and we had really good chats.

The room was fine, reasonably clean. Washroom and bathroom is bad but is much better than many other guesthouse in Iran.

I did teamed up with 2 other lone travelers to camp in the desert. It was a truely very unique experience but actually relatively very expensive. They "lend" us a tent, got a drive to take us to the desert, and charge us US$40 for each person (food, water not provided). Considered that for US$50 one can get a nice single room in Tehran the capital, and for less than US$20 one can get on a "VIP" bus, travel for 10 hours to another city, US$40 for a return ride to the desert seems relatively expensive. (we still need to pay for our bed in the house).

The owner mentioned his "project" during a conversation, a bigger house for more travelers. When the big house is built, I think the last drop of "home stay" feel would be gone.

Anyway, it was a good experience with get close to the local people. Some of the family members and relatives don't speak English but they are all friendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank wilfredwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We did not actually stay at Mohammeds place, but we booked an overnight desert tour through him because he was recommended by a traveler we met. Booking was very straight-forward, we just called him 2 days in advance and there was no problem.
Mohammed is a very strong personality, you should expect a man who takes pride in offering good quality tours, has a good sense of humour and you can have great conversations with him, but he will not take crap. You would not guess he is only 27 years old!
The tour was great, it's about an hour drive to the sand dunes (larger than the ones near Yazd), and from there we had a 30 min wild ride through the dunes in a modern 4x4. We slept in tents and had a great barbeque, the sun-rise was magical and Mohammeds brother Rezza took good care of us. Thanks guys!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mat00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed in this homestay/ guesthouse for just one short night, but really enjoyed the atmosphere and spending time with the family there. The room I stayed in was warm and clean. There are plugs for charging, wifi (didn't get to try), and a single washroom. I only had time for dinner and breakfast, but they were both ok. Mohammed spoke English and was very helpful. He gave great advice about travels to nearby places (desert dune, Na'in, bike trips...etc.) We even got treated to some star gazing the night! Great place to escape the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cltravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tak-Taku Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tak-Taku Guesthouse

Property: Tak-Taku Guesthouse
Address: Jalali St | Toudeshk-Toudeshkcho, Esfahan 8135154849, Iran
Region: Iran > Isfahan Province > Esfahan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Esfahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tak Taku is a recently renovated, heritage listed guesthouse in the tiny village of Toudeshk Cho. It is surrounded by mud brick homes, near a beautiful mosque and a very old Haman, about an hour away from Esfahan on the way to Yazd. Tak Taku is family run. The guesthouse offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in traditional home cooked Iranian style. Rooms are available with own or shared bathroom. The rooms are surrounding a beautiful courtyard with fountain, offering a family room, open communal area with a small library and wifi. Iranian benches are also offering places to enjoy the peace and quiet of this area. Mohammad the owner can help with bus tickets, organise trips to the desert, camel riding, Gavkhuni Salt Lake Trip, and camping in the sands in the appropriate season. Bikes are available to ride in and around the village. Being 2100m above sea level the climate is more moderate and star gazing exceptional. Tak Taku is the place to experience a true Iranian family lifestyle in a beautiful authentic courtyard guesthouse for people who want a more personal experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing