We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing was the milkshake I had at the shop”

Monare Jonban - Shaking Minarates
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best thing was the milkshake I had at the shop”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is not a big deal, yes the building shakes but a little not a lot. Expensive for what it is.
However I enjoyed the traditional Persian melon milkshake at the shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VidaCartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    30
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
215 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Forever stilled!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was part of our itinerary in our visit to Esfahan and we did dropped but only outside the mosque. We were told that it is not worthwhile to go in as the minarets no longer shakes! It happened after a Japanese visitor fell to his death and steps were taken to repair these minarets, which are relatively similar to those of other mosques now that they cannot be shaken! Best to skip it and spend your time on better attractions!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleenlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
323 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“You can skip”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Actually there are some interesting story about that but you can skip this sightseeing, if you compare another places.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamCGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
165 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“They don't shake anymore”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Don't bother going here. They have stopped shaking the minarets, since they are afraid they will get damages. So this is just a plain little mosque, quite far from the city centre.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JLC-1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Just Interesting to Know It's Quake-Proof”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Until some years ago, even people could go inside the minarets of this 700-400 year old monument and shake it to see how the other minaret shakes too. It's not been a good idea as it damaged the building. Now, it's stopped.

What's interesting to know is the fact that 400 years ago the structure had been constructed as resistant against tremors and earthquakes. It can tolerate large earthquakes. I think this is enough to know. Maybe experts would like to have a closer look.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monare Jonban - Shaking Minarates also viewed

Esfahan, Isfahan Province
Esfahan, Isfahan Province
 
Esfahan, Isfahan Province
 

Been to Monare Jonban - Shaking Minarates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing