We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great resort ”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Great resort, staff are excellent, my room was awesome but I did get a free upgrade to villa. Pools are great and beach is nice and private. Breakfast buffet was awesome, rest of the restaurants were okay. I had real trouble with the reservation staff, took them 2 weeks to get my reservation right. Location is out of the way, 30 minister can when no traffic to old Dubai and 15 minute to new Dubai

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JaredDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDxbPalm, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at Sofitel The Palm.

I am delighted to read your review; it gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the service provided by all our ambassadors.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back, and to continue ensuring you have many more Magnifique stays with us.

Yours Sincerely,

C.Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,069
    783
    247
    90
    68
See reviews for
1,390
1,907
89
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked 5 nights in the Sofitel Dubai in February and came away with mixed feelings about this hotel. Firstly the location of the Sofitel is excellent, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Dubai but also only a 15 minute cab ride away from all the major attractions, however you are a cab ride away from any convenience stores so remember to take everything with you. We took a trip on the free shuttle that is provided by the hotel not long after arriving to collect some provisions from the Mall of Emirates, this was a challenge as there is no storage place for prams so we had to squeeze it in on the bus which was a challenge. As for the hotel, we had an apartment within the complex its self which is a few minutes’ walk that you have to navigate through the main reception, as we have a five month old baby, this posed issues, not because of the distance but the lack of ramps and the floor finish. Whilst the crazy paving effect is pretty to look at and in keeping with the theme of the hotel, it is completely impractical for prams (unless your pram is 4X4 and fitted with off road tires). We ended up carrying my daughter in fear of her being shaken to much because of the surface of the paths, again, ok if you are walking but not for prams. The apartment its self was nice, but we couldn’t help thinking that they had tried to over furnish a small space. The feel of the rooms just didn’t feel right (maybe being over critical), the oversized bath took approx. 40-50 minutes to fill and is extremely uncomfortable, maybe a nice gimmick but unnecessary we felt. The floor finish in the apartment was similar to the finish outside on the pathways, meaning that any time your neighbors or the people in the upstairs apartment moved any furniture; you could hear it and feel it as it vibrated through the building. On the occasion that we attempted to eat out in the first night we had issues. We went along to the Chinese restaurant and found we had to book downstairs, when we went upstairs we found a near empty restaurant! One common theme to this hotel for all the restaurants (even room service) seems to be a distinct lack of choice. The menu is one fifth full for food and four fifths for alcohol and beverages. Once we ordered my wife discovered that we had to change our daughter, as time passed and our food arrived my wife still had not returned, when she did she explained that she had to go down two floors across reception to access changing facilities for our daughter, extremely disappointing at the poor lack of facilities. When we did eventually get to eat, our food was dreadful. Our noodle dishes tasted burnt, and when we explained this to the waitress she was less than helpful offering an explanation of “this is how it is meant to taste, that’s the taste of food cooked in a wok”. Having spent numerous years in the food and beverage industry I feel I am well placed to understand the difference. When the second server came to remove our dishes he also asked the same question, and we offered the same response regarding the food, he also just smiled and brought us the bill. Needless to say this put us off eating in the hotel for the remainder of the 4 nights we had left, along with the fact that most of the restaurants don’t open till 7pm (no use if you have a small child who is in a routine) . We decided to have breakfast in the Italian restaurant as it was in our building. Again we felt let down; the lack of choice on offer was disappointing particularly towards to latter part of service. The last thing that I would make comment on is the staff, for the most part they are extremely courteous, however don’t try and find a pool attendant to provide you with a towel after 10 am. We tended to go to the pool late as we tended to wait to late afternoon till it was cooler for our daughter, this was a nightmare. All the beds were taken (well most were empty but had the look of being taken i.e. garments of clothing were on the beds) and we had to get our own towels, and move our own parasol. To summarize, this is a lovely hotel, but not if you have children under the age of 5. If you fancy a few days on a stopover then it’s great, but be prepared to pay, this is a lot of money for what we felt was very little return, poor value for money and I wouldn’t consider staying at this hotel again, as with Dubai you have a vast array to choose from, many who offer much more for you hard spent Dirhams.

Room Tip: Go for pool side rooms, they are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDxbPalm, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on tripadvisor following you stay at Sofitel The Palm Dubai.

Your points of improvement concerning our service are highly appreciated and will be discussed in depth with our management to better serve our valuable guests in the future.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments on behalf of all of my team.
We look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

C.Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here for a few nights and very much enjoyed it. The resort is located right at the end of the Palm (next to the Atlantis) and is very new and big. The resort is Polynesian themed, we checked in very quickly and stayed in a nice room. We usually stay at the Sofitel on Jumeirah but thought we should check out this new place. The rooms in comparison are much bigger and the view was very nice. I think the prices are very reasonable.
The breakfast buffet had a lot of variety although it didn't really suit my tastes. Obviously the location is a bit far away as it is on the palm but the hotel does provide free shuttle services to many places so you would really only need to take a taxi to and from the airport and when the shuttle services are no longer available (after 9pm I think).
The resort is very well maintained, the swimming pool is lovely and definitely a place to stay with kids.

Room Tip: Think the palm view rooms are better than the sea view rooms. They are just a little bit more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoebe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDxbPalm, Guest Experience and Quality Management at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of our hotel following your stay with us.

We are pleased that you found our hotel comfortable and were able to enjoy the facilities and the service provided by our friendly and helpful ambassadors.

We will be sharing your kind words with our team who are always keen to hear from our guests as they strive to enhance service delivery.

We thank you once more and eagerly look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Dubai the Palm.

Yours Sincerely,
Guest Experience and Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a fab week here at the end of Feb 14. The hotel is lovely, very clean and food is great. We were on a half board option and to be fair with the extensive breakfast selection which was fantastic and of excellent quality, we didn't really need much else during the day until dinner.

A few tips for you:-
* Drinks are quite expensive, and they didn't mention there is a 'happy hour' from 6 or 6.30 where they reduce most by 50% - make sure you suss this on day one, it'll help.
* The half board option allows you to eat from set menus in their other restaurants from the buffet - however the menu is quite limit e.g. in the steak/grill restaurant you had a choice of chicken, fish or beef medallions - we were a bit disappointed that there were no steak options included? and when we asked if we could upgrade and pay the difference we were told this wasn't an option (i think they are missing a trick here, as i'd have happily spent more if they'd given me a basic allowance against the main menu).
* The buffet restaurant is fantastic, its a bit more casual than the other restaurants, but the food quality is absolutely fantastic (the fish restaurant was our other favorite).

There is a shuttle bus about 11am every morning which takes you to one of the main shopping malls - this is a great way to get around as its free, and if yu want to go somewhere else it gets you on the Metro line which is so cheap and easy to use.

The Monorail to get off the Palm is expensive, you may as well use a basic taxi if there are two or more of you.

The hotel cars are expensive, but if you ask them to, they will order you a normal cab which is a much cheaper way to get around.

The sea has quite a few jellyfish in it - we didn't hear of anyone getting hurt while we were there but wise to be cautious.

The gym is a really good standard, machines are new-ish and well maintained.

They give you 4 bottles of water a day in your room (two in the morning and the same at night).

If you like a drink it may be wise to buy a bottle of spirits or champagne in Duty free on the way out, you have a fridge in your room, and champagne is really expensive.

We did a Friday brunch at Al Qasr which is fab, which we have done the last few times we have gone to Dubai, not cheap but well worth it as you get food and alcohol for your money (lobster, steak, cocktails - basically the biggest high end buffet you can image) - i would definitely do a brunch while you are away, lots of hotels do them so pick one which suits it is an experience (I hear Atlantis has a good one and that's just down the road from this hotel).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeniseB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-Schnyder, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Sofitel The Palm Dubai.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review with great comments and thank for your thoughtful feedback .

We have shared your comments with the rest of the team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon.

Yours sincerely,

C. Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is beautiful hotel in a quiet location which sometimes has its drawbacks, if you want to go out around tea time and need a taxi it can be difficult because they seem go to the Atlantis Water park for closing time, you can use the the private taxi's which are always on hand but their clocks start at 15 dirhams where as the public ones starts at 3 dirhams but you can barter with them to get it cheaper. You could also walk down to the Atlantis Hotel which takes about 20 minutes and get the Mono rail which runs every half hour but it costs 30 Dirhams for four stops and then you have to get a taxi ? So I wouldn't bother !! The rooms in the hotel are exceptional and staff are brilliant the pool area is stunning but we didn't use this very much as we preferred the private beach which wasn't quite as busy and only a few yards from the pool if you fancied that instead of the sea , so we had the best of both worlds . We went half board thinking this was the best option for cost but it proved to be very disappointing as it was a set menu in the themed restaurants with choices of three starters three mains which one was vegetarian and three sweets, which were all the cheapest out of the main menu and apart from the French restaurant the meals were very small, in the Chinese you didn't even get rice or noodles with the meal. We asked could we put the half board allowance to the cost of a meal from the full menu but was told No. We also felt less important than the paying customers as we were basically eating the cheapest food !! so we went to the International buffet restaurant which was much better , they also offered an upgrade so you could drink as much as you like with your meal this was 185 Dirhams which is roughly £30 each so if you fancied a few beers this was a cheap option as you were paying £7 a bottle elsewhere. We didn't try the Italian or sea food restaurants so as not to be disappointed . Apart from that we had a great time in a lovely new hotel , as for going back , they would have to either put an All inclusive deal on or change their stance on being able to put your allowance towards a more expensive meal as B&B would probably work out too expensive ???

customers with less attention

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelDxbPalm, Guest Experience and Quality Management at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room, the swimming pool and the beach area, as well as the exceptional service provided by our friendly yet professional ambassadors.

We would also like to acknowledge the concerns you had during your stay and inform you that we have since shared them with our team for immediate resolution how we can enhance our services and serve you better in the future.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in our resort.

Sincerely,
Guest Experience and Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We are staying in the hotel as I write this and have one more night to go and we are very sad to be going home. Before booking this resort we had read some of the negative reviews on Tripadvisor and were a little mindful but gave it a chance and boy are we glad we did!! This has to be one of the nicest places we've stayed in. The decor in the rooms are just perfect, contemporary but homely, I love the bathroom with its rainfall shower head and the bi folding doors to the bath that open onto the bedroom... Beautiful !!! The staff in the hotel have all been wonderful, nothing is a problem when asked something, please do praise your staff, their warm greetings of 'hello, bonjour' as we walk around the resort seem nothing short of genuine. Your spa area is to die for and the breakfast selection sublime. I can understand the negative views now that I read before as nothing more than this new resort having teething problems when it first opened but now it's been open a while it seems like a well oiled machine!! It was our anniversary while we were here and we had the two most delightful members if staff arrange fresh rose petals and swan shaped towels with a wonderful fresh chocolate cake in our room, we were in the room while they did this arrangement and looked genuinely pleased with themselves once they had finished, no money can buy that
Amount of pride in your work, thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coolhandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-Schnyder, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay at Sofitel The Palm.

I am delighted to read your review, It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the service provided by all our ambassadors.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back, and to continue ensuring you have many more Magnifique stays with us.

Yours Sincerely,

C.Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Loved this hotel - the room was stunning (best bathroom we have ever come across!), ultra modern and stylish. The facilities and dining options were really good, the staff very friendly and attentive. The only slight negative regarding the hotel itself was that the room equipment kept letting us down (bathroom light packed up - quickly fixed, telephone didn't work - couldn't be fixed before we left , and most annoyingly couldn't get the air conditioning below 23.5 c in spite of reporting and supposedly getting it fixed). Having read the earlier reviews and niggles, these seemed to be due to the newness of the hotel and inexperience of its staff, and we definitely felt that this was now resolved and staff are fully up to speed. The concierge and pool service staff were particularly good!

Be aware that the beach is not ideal as the water is heavily infested with (non-poisonous) jelly fish.

If booking here, you also need to be aware that the Palm location means the only way to get to the rest of Dubai is by a half hour taxi journey - or a long walk to the Atlantis to take the monorail to the mainland. Not a major problem, but if you plan to do a lot of sightseeing you need to factor in this additional cost and travel time.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room with a lovely balcony, but hadn't realised that this was a view of the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lippy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-Schnyder, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Sofitel The Palm Dubai.
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review with great comments and thank for your thoughtful feedback .

We have shared your comments with the rest of the team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon.

Yours sincerely,

C. Schnyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Rixos The Palm Dubai
#36 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#48 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
Address: East Crescent Road | The Palm Jumeirah, Dubai 55558, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#32 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover why SOFITEL DUBAI THE PALM LUXURY APARTMENTS is such a superb destination for family vacations in Dubai. Adults and children alike will be thrilled by the relaxed Polynesian island theme of this luxury 5-star resort on Palm Jumeirah island. Families can vacation in a beach-side suite or villa with Gulf views. Serviced apartments suit longer stays, with kitchens, lounges and up to 3 bedrooms. Babysitting can be arranged if you fancy a night in downtown Dubai, a monorail or taxi.Amura Kids Club guarantees hours of fun for children of all ages, keeping them happy, active and safe while you indulge in well-deserved relaxation. Two of the swimming pools are exclusively for kids, who will love the slides and waterfalls. Seven restaurants and bars offer refined cuisine from around the world so there's something for every taste.Don't miss the popular Friday brunch at family-friendly Manava, which offers heaped buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner throughout the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Shoreline Apartments Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing