We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND STANDARDS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Dubai
Ranked #243 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND STANDARDS”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I was checked in to a room after a long flight and there was a water leak from the roof in the sitting area. Informed reception couple of times. A technician came and inspected and said it take time to fix.
The hotel did want me to stay for more time till they fix the leak. i was so tired and it was 12 midnight. I told reception about my problem and with great difficulty i got my room changed.
The guys at the reception do not know the customer survice and provide you with very poor service. They treat you as someone who has come to seek their help.

No wifi in the hotel which is a mandatory requirment.

I do not recommend this hotel to a anybody.

Room Tip: Ask reception what you need. Rooms are not identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bell412slaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopDxb, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Dear Sir/Ma`am,

Greetings from Copthorne Hotel Dubai!

First of all let me take this opportunity to Thank you for choosing Copthorne Hotel Dubai for your stay. At Copthorne the Management team as we as the Operation team works around the clock to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and are well taken care of.

I understand from your review posted on Trip Advisor that you faced inconvenience during your stay with us. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused, I am writing to you to bring it to your notice that we have addressed the issues and concerns faced and raised by your good self. Please be rest assured that some of them have been rectified and the others which could not be rectified immediately due to technical issues are under process to be solved soon.

Trust the above assures our commitment towards our guest satisfaction being our priority. Do let us know in case you plan your next visit and stay at Copthorne we will ensure personalized services, to makes your stay memorable.

Should you require any further clarifications or assistance please feel free to contact us, we would be more than happy to assist you at all times.

Copthorne Hotel Dubai Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    206
    104
    36
    30
See reviews for
120
118
50
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. i wish I had stayed somewhere else but I assumed that the brand would be similar to other Copthorne hotels, it wasn't.
I booked a Non-Smoking room but was given a Smoking room and when I complained I was told they couldnt move me as there were no Non-Smoking rooms available.
The room was not particularly clean and although it had all the boxes ticked regarding in-room facilities quite a few didn't actually work.
If you are planning a sunshine break - also be warned the hotel has no sunbathing area other than around the outdoor pool but the pool is for females only in the morning and males only in the afternoon so you will need to take a taxi to the public beach if you choose to go with your spouse or friends of the opposite gender.

Room Tip: Book into the Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twoshortplanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Microsoft ,Hyderabad
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Sasta aur sundar..thts d word fr dis hotel .I was travelling with my family frm to US and took a 3 day stopover in Dubai.We booked the hotel package frm www.antilogvacations.com which gave us a nice 3 day/2 night package here On our arrival, we were given the option to upgrade to a family suite for an extra AED 250, an offer we took. Booking thru a reliable agent fr dubai is essential for cheap rates & good services.we r thankful that we got both

Thereafter the cooperative staff helped us check in easily and we were glad to see the suite. The suite was quite large, around 25 by 25 sq. Ft. The rooms had two big king size beds and were clean and comfortable. The mattresses were quite new and the hotel on the whole also gave a novel appearance with all the modern and innovative furnishings.

The sofa chairs though were an anomaly and had coffee stains on it, something which strikingly stood out from the otherwise clean ambience. The bathrooms were nicely decked up with a Jacuzzi and a shower cubicle. There was a wide array of different types of shampoos and conditioners, which my wife enjoyed. However again surprisingly they had only one set of bathrobe and a bathroom slipper in each room. There was a mini bar fridge which was also well equipped with complimentary water bottles.

We got free coupons frm operator for the breakfast and snacks, the array of which was quite lip smacking. Snack choices included fruit and nut cake slices, brownies, umpteen kinds of sandwiches and a host of Arabic snacks. There was unlimited tea, coffee and juice on the house as well. The breakfast too had a similar choice menu.

Next day we visited the city tour & dhow cruise with barbeque dinner.It was a pleasant experience exploring Dubai in quick time.

The Deira Centre Metro Station is located quite close to the hotel and we used it to check out some places in the short time we had. However cabs are also readily available and at the time of our departure the butler hailed one down quite quickly. Hence, an enjoyable stay and a place worth recommending.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandeep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

possible the friendliest staff in Dubai and definitely the most helpful. A credit to the hotel
its a no fuss cheap hotel in Dubai, rooms are okay, shower is old and a little naff , rooms can be hit and miss, they have a basic standard room and a superior, always go for the superior, its a nice apartment with a balcony, has a little kitchen and a better space (maybe 100 AED a night difference ). Bfast is included in your rate but dont bother, go for the no bfast option and get something in one of the malls, its packed every morning in the restaurant and i didnt like the food. Dinner there is good value though but check the buffet selection first, doesnt deal with Veggies. Its a dry hotel and operates a strict seperation policy in the gym and pool, so you cant swim with your wife etc. basically good value for money, reception can take an age and they are funny about early check in and will try to charge you for that. Good for Deira but as you are near the airport, taxis sometimes dont want to take you there so at peak times they just drive past you ( its 15aed ) try and book one early, the concierges are very helpful and sometimes there is a limo driver but he wants 40 AED, okay its fair enough if you leave it late to go to the airport, there is a nice restaurant across the street from the hotel and the Irish village is 14 AED away in a taxi. good central spot and good for people who will be out all the time during their stay, i have stayed there about 25 nights and apart from doors being knocked 4 times a day ( leave your do no disturb sign on all the time ) and kids running up and down the corridor ad your phone ringing at 3am every morning its very quiet. The gym is very small, and the pool is nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were looking for a cost effective stay during the new year rush. This hotel completely fitted our requirement. We got a top floor room, free internet ( please be aware it is not wifi - wired)
The staff were kind and courteous.
Plenty of taxis which are safe, prompt and nice. The deira city centre shopping mall in stone throw away and enjoyed our frequent shopping trips
The Metro is close by so you can whizz around the town easily
only down side was separate time for male and female swimming so we could not swim as family but made it up in the water parks.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at the Copthorne for 10 days. The hotel is in a good location, right across the street from a nice mall and a train station. I was on a group trip so did not pick this hotel. The hotel is an Islamic hotel meaning that amenities cannot be shared by men and women at the same time. As a woman this was the worst hotel. The gym and pool were only open to women between the 8am - 2pm. This is extremely limiting. the rooms all had prayer mats and the Quron, which I thought was authentic.
The room we had was spacious and overlooked the pool and town. The bathroom was large but dingy, definitely needs updating.

If you're there to shop then you can't beat the location. It really is very central to everything.
I wouldn't stay at the Copthorne again as it was way too restrictive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank relaxation-hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My family of four had a reservation via our tour agent for 2 superior rooms for 2 nights. Our flight arrived early in the morning and when we tried to check in, we were told that if we check in earlier than 2pm we had to pay an extra AED200 for the two rooms, otherwise, the reception staff offered us an upgrade to a Executive Suite with 2 bedrooms inside it at the same extra cost and we could check in immediately. We took the offer and was quite satisfied with the suite.

The Suite was reasonably clean in the bedroom, but not consistently, like the sofa chairs in the small living area had stains on the cover. There was only one bathrobe and one pair of bedroom slippers in each room, this is a small detail but it could have made the stay even more comfortable, considering that there were four of us.

The best thing about the suite is the bed. We had king beds in both rooms, they were really comfortable! The jacuzzi in one of the bathrooms was a nice touch, there was also a shower cubicle, but the tap didn't seem to work though.

Breakfast on the first day was average and on the second morning, the hotel thoughtfully arranged for an early morning breakfast, at 4.30am, so that we won't miss our flight at 7.30am. Even though it was just some simple bread and coffee, it was the thoughtfulness that we appreciate.

The hotel is near to the Deira Centre metro station, only less than 5min walk. Otherwise taxis are easily flagged down, even though the hotel's location seemed to be quite deserted, next to a site under construction. On the morning when we left at 5.30am, the concierge got us a taxi in seconds!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novicejourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.1 mi away
Millennium Airport Hotel Dubai
13.0 mi away
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
#260 of 550 in Dubai
617 reviews
4.0 mi away
Millennium Plaza Hotel Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#138 of 550 in Dubai
1,229 reviews
12.3 mi away
Citymax Al Barsha
Citymax Al Barsha
#148 of 550 in Dubai
1,401 reviews
12.8 mi away
Centro Barsha
Centro Barsha
#79 of 550 in Dubai
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Dubai

Property: Copthorne Hotel Dubai
Address: | Port Saeed, Near Deira City Centre, Dubai 119311, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#129 Business Hotel in Dubai
#203 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Dubai is ideally located in Port Saeed, Deira just 300 metres from the shopping and entertainment complex, Deira City Centre and metro station and within 4kms of Dubai International Airport (DXB). Overlooking the picturesque Dubai Creek, it is contemporary in style with 210 spaciously comfortable guest-rooms and suites. Most rooms offer guests relaxing views over Dubai creek and surrounding parks from private balconies and room types include the Superior Room, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom suites, as well as our 4-bedroom Duplex Penthouse Suite. Other facilities include 2 Restaurants serving international cuisine and non-alcoholic beverages, 5 meeting rooms, an outdoor pool terrace and jacuzzi, health club, Spa and ladies hair salon. The Copthorne Hotel embodies Arabian hospitality provided by a multi-lingual team of service driven hoteliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubai Copthorne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing