We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live up to the hype.”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #106 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype.”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Ok, we've done it, we've stayed at the Atlantis on the palm, so we can tick it off the list.
In our opinion though, there are probably better value hotels else where in Dubai. Two years ago we stayed at the Jumeriah Beach, so if we end up in Dubai again, I would choose to stay there, than the Atlantis and they have the better water park too.
In brief, great aquarium, the kids will love it. Food in most restaurants good, the buffet restaurants have more kids running around obviously, but nice environment and lovely staff.
Drink expensive, £7.50 a pint, £12.00 glass of wine and £5.00 a litre of water, although they did leave a few bottles of water in the rooms daily.
A little busy around the pools, but it wasn't too bad, you can always find a nice spec for the day. The sun beds not too good though, broken shades, with nuts & bolts missing, so you had route for the good ones and whilst staying there over 7 days, none of the broken beds where removed or repaired.
Kids are ok, but some allowed to run riot with water guns and not asked to calm down by the attendants, who also watched kids throw a scrabble board game and all its contents into the pool and was left there all day for you to tread on exiting the pool.....little "F"
3 of us paid £3300 half board for 7 nights, the same deal at the Jumeriah Beach Hotel £2800, so the £500 is your drinks bill paid for.
So save your money and perhaps just visit for the day.
Oh, and ensure you stay at the opposite side to the zero pool, as they have a weekly private pool party that runs to around 2am, so you may not get much sleep that night.
No free Wifi either...i thought all hotels offered that nowadays !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveOrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11,010
    3,355
    1,359
    544
    515
See reviews for
8,734
4,532
209
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,739)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Impressive drive approaching the hotel followed by an impressive week - great food/service/friendly and courteous staff/cleanliness/attention to detail - we loved it.

Room Tip: we had 2 Atlantis rooms - very satisfactory - comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Positives- an incredible standard of cleanliness all over this resort, excellent staff who can't do enough to help. Large comfortable rooms, all extras provided to add that added dimension; including fruit and chocolates. Imperial club worth the extra money. Dolpin experience eco friendly, staff bonafide linked to conservation project.Spa excellent.
Negatives - this resort is run on the lines of Disney with the aim to keep you on the site. We spend alot of money just getting out. Although the hotel is 5* clientle ARE NOT. Larger restaurants how I imagine an upmarket Butlins to be. There is nowhere at any time, and I mean any time when you are not surrounded by many children, fine for a while but there is no quiet area at all; even in the bar areas 11/12 pm. Pools very,very crowded you have to battle past the blocking sunbeds to find a scrap of pool to swim in water park quieter in certain parts but you are still crammed in to a relatively small area. Only advantage of staying here would be early access to the park and the spa. If you don't have children no more than 2 days

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank admiral28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Even during the very hot Summer in DUbai (over 50 D) still this magnifcent hotel and resort give very good value , it is time to stay all day in the Aqua park and the pools and when it's very hot during the day just stay in your room and look to the see ,

Room Tip: all rooms have view to the see but one side to the open see and the other to the palm ,see and the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulwahab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was our second time at the Atlantis. As Gulf residents we know the levels of standards in hotels of this standard far surpass anything in Europe but for visitors from outside the Gulf be prepared topay the highprices for food and beverage in the hotel. However, when visiting the water park restaurants there are more reasonable especially if you have kids. The Emirates Mall is only 10 mins away with a 5 pound taxi ride, and the Dubai Mall is 25 mins away with 8 pound taxi ride. Taxis in Dubai are the best in the world - numerous, safe, reasonable and clean. Taxi from the airport is 45 mins and costs 15 pounds.

Room Tip: Be presentable at check in and hide the kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahrain_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,289 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,269 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and didn't want to leave! We got a good deal on our room on ebookers. When we arrived we were asked if we would like to upgrade to Imperial Club For approx €40 each per night. For this we got breakfast included as well as snacks/drinks in the imperial club lounge all day, afternoon tea from 3-5, canapes 6-8, drinks (including alcohol) from 8-10 and free Internet access. For us, this was well worth it. The selection of foods for breakfast etc was excellent. The staff were fantasic and the IC lounge is very nice.
Now in relation to the hotel in general- it's just brilliant! The rooms are nice, good size- dont be expecting a solid gold toilet now or anything!! The lobby is beautiful and we never found it to be too busy. Check in was simple and quick. There are so many great amenities in the hotel- the waterpark (super and not too crowded), 'Lost chambers' aquarium, great pool, lovely beach and absolutely fantastic staff. Every single member of staff we dealt with was top class. They would do anything to help you.
Overall, we loved our time here and would highly recommend it especially if you get a good summer deal. It's a great place for families too as there's so much for kids to do. Great for people of all ages too though! Truly brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed four days and every staff person we met made us feel welcomed and appreciated. The water park out the back door, the pools, and acquarium were all over the top and provided hours of rest and relaxation. The dolphin adventure is worth the investment also. The restaurants were all excellent. I would recommend this resort to any families traveling in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TryitYoullLikeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#30 of 550 in Dubai
4,245 reviews
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#53 of 550 in Dubai
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#65 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#96 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity. From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing