We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“practically perfect in every way”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #98 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“practically perfect in every way”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We travel a lot between Europe and Australasia and usually break the flight to stay at the Atlantis in Dubai. It is one of our all time favourite hotels.

The structure is amazing, the rooms impeccable and the service is outstanding. The price is right for what they offer and it is an amazing place for couples and families alike.
You can wander around all day in the shops or the aquariums, have little nick nacks at the cafe s , or swim with the dolphins and explore the water park. even for adults, it is fantastic and enjoyed it so much, we are making it a yearly thing to go there.

Service and manners from all the staff is outstanding and and all the bills were absolutely correct at all times. Rooms are wonderful and it pays to pay the upgrade for the special lounge.

It is very relaxing at all times and every wish is fulfilled.
We usually even book the pick up from the airport, which is pricey but very worthwhile.

Room Tip: The dolphins and the water lagoon is amazing! Customer service incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estellejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10,766
    3,288
    1,322
    532
    503
See reviews for
8,508
4,450
206
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,684)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Staring to wonder who writes all those reviews of this place before as unfortunately I cannot share same optimistic view about this hotel as my predecessors'. This place is all about getting as much money out of you as possible to ridiculous extend. We stayed 2 weeks in this hotel with hope to have a dream vacation, which turned to be every day struggle. To be fair I will describe both positive and negative experiences we had. Almost everything from arrival till departure was a disaster. Upon arrival we had to wait for 4 hours beyond the advertised check-in time for our room to be ready. I asked for a non-smoking room with a Palm view - we got a smoking room with Gulf view instead. Highly overpriced internet was not reliable and required constant call to IT department to reactivate. Most of the rooms in hotel are connecting separated by thin doors. If you lucky and have quiet neighbours that's not a problem, but we were not so lucky in second week some noisy and heavy smoking neighbours moved in, not only to make our room smell like trash ( all smoke gets through the connecting doors) bout also making heavy noises in the middle of the night and playing loud TV at 2-3 am in the morning. I complained and reported it several times to reception staff , management but no effect. At checkout I discovered that bill is incorrect as additional fee was added to the bill. It took them ONE (hic!) hour to get it sorted. Finally upon checkout I used different credit card to settle my bill then one for pre-authorization. I asked several times to release the pre-authorization amount and was assured that it will happen. Was I surprised that after return home a week later my old CC was still blocked? No, of course not, nothing will surprise me about this place any more. I had to call and mail finance department several times until finally I got my money released and that is after getting legal into picture. When we finally wanted to leave the place and called the bell service for help with luggage we have not received any help for 40 minutes. I had to call and remind 3 times and finally we just took the bags ourselves as we could not wait any longer. Food is also ridiculously overpriced. Take a cab , go to nearby marina or Mall of Emirates and it still will be 10 times cheaper then in hotel. Staff is pretending to be nice, but nothing is natural, everything from the smile to learned greetings sentences feels artificial, exactly the same like entire place.
Even taxi drivers in front of hotel are so greedy that if you ask for a short ride they refuse it.

To be fair I need to say about few positive things. As hotel guest you get a complimentary free access to Aquapark and the Lost Chambers, which is huge advantage specially for kids. Specially Aquapark is stunning and offers a wide choice of water activities for small and big. there are several pools for kids and adults and those are well maintained especially security aspect. We felt very safe seeing life guard nearby water at every 20 meters. We also got some positive experience with business centre and hosting lounge staff as well.

Overall except stunning location this hotel has nothing special to offer unless you feel good in overcrowded and overpriced place where you never get a personal feeling.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our family stayed at Atlantis Dubai in February 2012. The hotel is very beautiful, inside and outside. The ground and facilities are nicely maintained. My kids said that the kids club is a lot of fun. We love the pool although it was a little bit chilly. The lost chamber and the huge aquarium are great attractions. We also did Aquaventure water park and swimming with the dolphins at Dolphin bay. Prices inside the water park and gift shops at the hotel are definitely outrageous. We booked the club room as it includes the club access, internet and breakfast. It is NOT worth it . Food at the club lounge is not great and the lounge get so crowded at dinner time that we were denied access. You get VIP check in but it took longer than if I just get the regular check in. My advise if you want to save money is to stay somewhere else and just come for a day to enjoy the water park, Lost Chamber and look around the lobby. The dolphin experience was excellent. It is expensive but the dolphins are well taken care of, the facility is top-notch, the staff are friendly. The only drawback is when you try to select photos at the end of your session, it takes a long time due to the interface they are using to display the photos. So allow plenty of time, don't plan it on the last day before you have to check out like we did.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank esterlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We've just come back from 6 nights at the Atlantis where we stayed in Imperial Club. Some good points about Club

We had private check in at 8am in the morning which was great. We thought we may have to wait for our room but we were pleasantly surprised when we were led to breakfast straight away after our bags were delivered to our room.

Every day we were served afternoon cream team between 3pm - 5pm followed by evening cocktails and canapes from 6pm to 8pm. Coffee , tea , soft drinks and light snacks were available all day so we found ourselves returning to the lounge with our IPAD to relax and and surf the web through the free wifi.

Breakfast in the lounge was basic. We tried all the restaurants for breakfast despite being club, and found Saffron to offer the best choice for indian breakfast and kids chocolate fountain ! Kaleidscope was also very busy but not so much variety.

The hotel is first class but extremely big which makes it somewhat impersonal. Staff however are extremely polite and professional, and customer service is second to none.

This is the second time we have been to this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We may however not able to afford the luxury of club next time round as are children are getting older and we will have to book 2 rooms in future.

Room Tip: Go to Saffron for your breakfast for the chocolate fountain !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We have just returned from a magical week (our 4th visit this year) at The Atlantis Hotel in Dubai. We've already booked to retrun in June and in February next year!! Our children aged 8 & 10 have travelled with us all over the world and this is their favourite place to stay! They love the Aquaventure waterpark where they spent most of their days. We all went on the "Leap of Faith" . . . a 27 meter near vertical drop slide into a pool of sharks!!!! It was great!!! It was a real bonus having such a fabulous attraction on site and right next to the most beautiful beach, so we could keep our eye on the children without having to move far from our sun loungers!

Also by the beach was Dolphin Bay. We have had many dolphin encounters in different resorts all over the world and I have to say this was by far the best. The children swam with the dolphins, taught them tricks and fed them whilst in gorgeous surroundings. It wasn't the cheapest of activities, however, once you've had this experience at the Atlantis you needen't do it anywhere else.

The service was fantastic and the concierge team filled us in on all of the "must do's" whilst in Dubai. On the Desert Safari we had a magnificent hair raising experience being driven over the dunes into the desert where an oasis of traditional Arabian culture and cuisine awaited, an experience not to be missed.

Asa keen spa-goer, I have to say that the ShuiQi spa was awe inspiring. We enjoyed a sublime range of treatments, knowing that our children were being well looked after and entertained by the underwater theatre, command centre and play zone in the kids club. There was so much for them to do in the kids club they didn't want to leave!! And for the older teenagers there was Club Rush, a chill out zone during the day which turns into an under 18's nightclub in the evening . . .it looked fabulous!

We upgraded our room to and Imperial Club room which I have to say was well worth the extra few pounds. We had all day access to the Imperial Club where refreshments are complimentary all day. All as part of the package was a deliciousafternoon tea served at 4.00pm and then cocktails and canapes from 6.00pm til 8.00pm . . . we didn't need a restaurant reservation (although we made ourselves hold back on several occassions as the restaurants on site are too good to be missed!!! . . . .try the Gnoza bar snack in Nobu. . . .I don't thhink it's on the menu but it's delicious!!!!) Also as an Imperial Club member the children are allowed access to the kids club free of charge until 6.00pm . . .another huge saving!

Whilst in Dubai with children you must also visit Kidzania in the Dubai Mall . . .concierge will arrange this for you . . you can drop your children off there from 10am until 12.00pm!! Suitable for children aged 3 - 11 years I would say. Kidzania is also right next to Sega World . . . an indoor theme park . . you would only need an hour or two there as it's not very big. And after all of that . . .catch the Dubai Fountain right outside of the Dubai Mall. If you would like to eat whilst watching this amazing water feature you must ask concierge to book you a suitable restaurant with an outside table in advance as it gets very busy. The fountain is on every hour, every day and is best in the dark.

We have recommended the Atlantis to all of our friends, and many of them have visited on our recommendation and been as thrilled with it as we are! We just can't wait to get back!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackielindsay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hi all! My wife and I both stayed at Atlantis the palm for 5 nights in September 2011. We were given an upgrade to a much higher room in the hotel to get a breathtaking view of the palm. U can't get this anywhere else so staying here is a must! Lots to do within the resort. The hotel has its own aqua park, sea museum, luxury shops and restaurants that are world famous such as Nobu. It is a bit expensive but when I've stayed once it will stay as fresh in my mind for ever. A must stay hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rammittu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Arrived early on the BA flight - room wasn't ready till 1pm but we had breakfast included so headed off to the restaurant. Breakfast is superb with loads of choice and very tasty. Pool area is great with loads of beds and towels. Room was only on 4th floor but was still spacious and nicely decorated.

The water park is excellent - we went at 9.45 each morning by using the beach shuttle and had the run of the park to ourselves for an hour. The rides are superb and so much fun with a lazy river / torrent going around the outside.

It was my wife's birthday uring our stay and we had a cake delivered to the room.

The hotel is a fair way from the gold souk and burj khalifi but taxis are cheap and the monorail is there although we didn't bother using it.

We had a super 3 days at this hotel and would say it made the trip that much better.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LPH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.4 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#30 of 545 in Dubai
4,146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#49 of 545 in Dubai
5,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
2.1 mi away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
14.4 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 545 in Dubai
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm Island, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#62 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#91 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing