We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brash”
Review of Atlantis, The Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Atlantis, The Palm
Ranked #99 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
midlandsuk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“brash”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Returned yesterday from Dubai, have holidayed there many times and like to try different hotels.
We travelled economy with Virgin , plenty of leg room and even good inflight food. The Atlantis is just as I expected colourful and brash. Apparently we were upgraded to an Atlantis room form the deluxe we had booked, not sure of the difference but the room was big and comfortable. The pool area was fairly busy but plenty of sun loungers but no umbrellas, they use canaopies attached to the lounger, pretty ineffienct and impossible to shade both face and body from the sun. The sea was warm but cloudy, and the beach was mainly ground up ballast ( at least that what it seemed to me) not the white soft sand thats usual on Dubai beaches. I can see the hotel would appeal to families with children because of the Aqua adventure park and we did enjoy the Lost Chambers. We ate two evening meals in the hotel and ending up paying for neither as one was cold (served on cold plates too) and the other burned. Would I return to the Atlantis.. No.. Still think The Jumeriah Beach Hotel takes some beating!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10,758
    3,287
    1,321
    531
    503
See reviews for
8,505
4,445
206
606
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,683)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Recently stayed for one week at Atlantis. On arrival, met with spectacle of the Main lobby, absolutely breathtaking, all very sparkly and clean. Check in was very efficient, and we were complementary upgraded to two connecting rooms with full balcony in the west wing overlooking the pool.
The rooms are fabulous, large, luxurious and very clean. The bathroom with the large walk-in shower and separate bath was lovely. Lots of clean towels, bottle of water and fruit bowl daily.
There appears to be hundreds of staff, all very polite and courteous. You cannot fault their attentiveness.
The two pools are lovely and cool. There appeared to be lots of free sunbeds all with their own personal sunshade. Free beach towels (no limit to number per day) were used creatively to cover the shades to shield completely from the sun. Staff being on hand with cold towels was a nice touch.
The beach was pristine, but too hot to sit on during the day. The sea was as warm as a bath, and the majority of people (approx 30 of us) swam in it late afternoon.
The waterpark was great and enjoyed by all. Lots of sunbeds, although those situated close to the main entrance to the pool were taken first. Again very clean and staff/lifeguards every few feet. We tended to have lunch in the waterpark, the food is fine, typical of any theme park including the prices. Only grouch is having to pay for a locker key everyday- should be free to hotel guests.
The lost chambers aquarium is amazing- better than the UK equivalent ‘sealife’ centres. Open all day and up to around 11pm, so lovely place to pop into and cool off. Excellent informative staff. Tip- go in the evening as very quiet and you can spend as long as you like looking at the amazing spectacles.
Food- Ate at saffron for breakfast. Open until at least 11am, busy but always escorted to table immediately on arrival by efficient staff. Lots of choice, catering for all tastes including European and Chinese.
We ate at Saffron and Niasmi restaurants on one occasion each. At each the quality and choice of food was good. However we did find the prices quite expensive. Considering Saffron was a buffet, it cost £160 for 4 people, and that was a special offer of 4 dine, and pay for 3. Drinks were expensive £2.50 for a glass of coke, £9 for a glass of wine. Bottles of wine were from £25. Tip - take a taxi (£5) into town or visit one of the malls and you can eat for a 1/3 of this amount.
Would recommend Arabian Adventures- sundowner trip.4 wheeled desert safari, with meal and henna paining and camel rides. Excellent tour guide, really good fun for the whole family.
A little disappointed regarding the shops in the hotel. The majority were designer jewellery shops selling items in their thousands, with only 2 selling goods at reasonable cost.
The gold souk was also disappointing, went down late afternoon, felt a little unsafe, and we were continuously hassled by men selling fake bags. It made us feel we couldn’t stop to look at anything and left quite quickly.
The malls are excellent; however, we found on comparing prices, all goods were cheaper in the UK.
Overall an excellent hotel, with very attentive staff. Excellent location and facilities. Excellent for a family holiday to Dubai.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly-the-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I have just arrived back from the Atlantis Dubai this morning, me and my friend spent 10 days and we had an amazing time, From the moment we walked through the door our jaws dropped to the floor. The hotel is stunning. This is ultimate in luxury there is not one thing i could fault about this hotel. We arrived to our room and they had upgraded us to a suite and it was MASSIVE.The hotel sparkles because it is always being cleaned, the staff just want to help you and you can tell they really enjoy working there. Threy bring you ice cold towels when you are hot and ice lollys when you are parched. Cant fault it!!The restaurants are yummy and yes they are expensive but you are staying in a 5* star hotel so you have to expect to pay 5* star prices. The water park is so good and as a guest at the hotel you can use this free off charge and as often as you wish. It is great for children and keep them entertained all day also there is a lifegaurd about every 6 meters at the water park. There is so much to do at this hotel we didnt feel 10 days was enough. We were lucky to view the suites that are under water and they are gorgeous if you have lots of money stay in one of them if you are extra rich then the presidential suite is to die for. I can say hand on heart if you go on holiday to the Atlantis you will have a fantastic time and for people to write anything negative about this hotel then i dont know where they have been staying as i can not fault a thing. We had a early morning flight and the hospitality lounge was great, with showers and resting areas to sleep this was perfect as we had to check out at 1pm.
I hope this review has helped people and i hope you all have a great time at The Atlantis

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrylovesDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I was a bit worried about some of the negative review I read here about this hotel, but to my surprised I had a good time right from the time I arrived in the hotel and when I left. I was upgraded for free. The breakfast was very good I had breakfast at the Saffron restaurant; it is a bigger restaurant and had more variety. You are spoilt for choice. I enjoyed every moment. I visited the Kaleidoscope restaurant once; it is a smaller restaurant but also good but not much variety. If you like Lebanese foods go there. The staffs were friendly and very approachable. The kids love every minute and enjoyed the kids club. The Adventure Park was really good better than the Waterparks at the Jumeriah beach hotel. The only negative thing about the hotel is that it was pricey; imagine 56 Dirham (about £9) for two bottles of water for dinner at the Saffron restaurant however the buffer dinner was out of this world, I would say treat yourself after all we have one life to live or if you book through any holiday travels, book half-board it works out cheaper at the end or go the malls for dinner. I would have like if there was fruits everyday in the room like the Jumeriah Beach hotel but you are only give fruits on the first day of arrival. The family would like to go there again. The cold stone creamery is very good situated near the lost chambers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonOnelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

was a bit concerned over some of the negative reviews, but we must have stayed at a different place, because we thought it was great. we were their on our 31st wedding avnniversary and the place staff and weather could not have been better ( well the prices could have been a bit cheaper £8 for beer!!) easist thing is to get one of the very cheap taxis and go up town and eat and drink there, The walk at JBR is good for both food and drink

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tiredoutUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I've watched the reviews for this hotel carefully over the months since it opening, and am happy to report that we had a much better experience than customers who went when it first opened.

Check-in was very busy but efficiently managed. Lessons have obviously been learnt, with maps and a guide on restaurants/happy hours etc given to us on arrival so that we could take advantage of the best deals.

Room was perfectly ok, although nothing amazing - I did however like the fact that the screen between the bath and bedroom could be opened so that I could watch the main TV whilst soaking in the tub.

We had no problems with the bill on departure (following previous reviews we checked very carefully). It's definitely a good idea to eat relatively early to avoid queuing (this suited us best anyway) - the breakfast choice is particular was fantastic and I quickly got into the habit of having a mixture of eastern and western food for breakfast!

We had a great time at the waterpark - my husband skinned his knees and every member of staff (lots!) asked if he needed assistance/plasters etc; we also used all of the different pools (and the beach) and enjoyed them all. My only 'complaint' is that the shades on the sunbeds do not cover the bottom of your legs which made it a little tricky to relax.

Above all, the staff were extremely friendly and quick to smile - from the doormen, cleaners, restaurants, front desk and liftmen. This was a pleasant surprise and really made the stay more welcoming. Value was better than I expected as I'd seen reviews of a can of coke costing £7 - this frankly is complete nonsense. Yes it's more expensive than a lot of places but we had massive meals in the buffet restaurant for around £20 per person, and if you need more water in your room - just ask the staff, we had no problem getting more.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

My Father & I visited Atlantis the Palm for 3 nights in August 2009. Despite looking at reviews that said Dubai was unbearable in the heat. We arrived at around 8am thinking that they would not have our room ready for us so we would be waiting around but they had a room and we went straight up. Staff where friendly and helpful and our room was wonderful. I would recommend getting a room facing the palm not the ocean as the view is a bit boring. As we stayed we had free access to the aquarium and the waterpark which were both excellent. There is also a long private beach for only guests to enjoy. Even though it was 40 degrees and higher everyday the heat was bearable for a short trip for some sun. As long as your by the pool or at the waterpark the heat is fine but make sure you wear flip flops to the water the floor will burn your feet. The hotel is nice and cool as it is air conditioned throughout.
We didn't leave the hotel during the day and spent our time at Aqua adventure then by the pool, the water park was amazing and the staff are so friendly. The only thing is they could do with a few more water rides and finding the slides was a bit tricky. We could always get a sun bed by the pool which was also really helpful.
The only negative point is that the food is quite expensive and is a lot cheaper outside of the resort. We usually ate in the water park in Shark Bites for lunch and had dinner either in one of the many restaurants or outside at a Mall. Also it is quite expensive to go to the waterpark and if we hadn't of got in free we would have only gone the once. The other thing is that both of the pools dont get deeper than about 2 metres which was annoying.
We also did the shallow water dolphin experience which was amazing.
On our last day our flight was at 2am and we had checked out and was worrying about what we would do with our bags and what we would do about showers as we had the whole day with no room. There is a place in reception to store your luggage and a hospitality room with large lockers to keep your belongings during the day until your departure. This was extremely helpful. There are also showers for you to use so after another day by the pool there was no need to worry about not having a room.

Overall the stay was amazing, the staff where friendly and the food was good, but overpriced. I did not want to come home and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieLouise22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.4 mi away
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#30 of 545 in Dubai
4,145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#49 of 545 in Dubai
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
2.1 mi away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
14.4 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 545 in Dubai
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, The Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, The Palm

Property: Atlantis, The Palm
Address: Crescent Road | The Palm Island, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Dubai
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#43 Family Hotel in Dubai
#63 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#92 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantis, The Palm 5*
Number of rooms: 1539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis is the majestic resort in Dubai situated on The Palm, a man-made island that has captured the world’s imagination with its magnificent scale and ingenuity.From the moment you arrive, you will be immersed in a dazzling world of imagination, pleasure and 5 star luxury. The resort offers relaxation and thrills for couples and families alike, including a landmark hotel, unique marine habitats, an exhilarating water park, pristine white beaches, world-class cuisine, indulgent spa and cosmopolitan boutiques. To stay or visit is to live out your dreams amidst warm Arabian seas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantis, The Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis The Palm Dubai
Atlantis The Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing