We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple yet Excellent”
Review of Sumo Sushi & Bento

Sumo Sushi & Bento
Ranked #1,127 of 9,866 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Jumeirah
Description: Sumo Sushi & Bento is the ORIGINATOR of the family friendly Japanese cuisine concept and franchise for the GCC. Since opening our first restaurant in Dubai we have expanded throughout the UAE. We have earned ourselves a solid reputation by providing quality menu items, a relaxing atmosphere and excellent service. At our Town Centre location enhance your day out with a Sumo Sushi & Bento dining experience. Whether you spend your day at the nearby beaches or shop yourself into an appetite at Mercato Mall. At Town Centre you'll roll into happiness with the finest Japanese cuisine, free parking and an escape from the hustle of daily life.
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Considering that this is a chain it is difficult to fault.

Good food, always well prepared and priced very reasonably. A couple can dine with 2 courses for, on average DH150 (approx £20).

Have dined here on numerous occasions. The setting is very casual ( you are basically sat in the centre of a small mall) but that just compliments the whole theme.

The only criticisms are that the menu could do with varying a bit more often and it is very heavily orientated towards sushi with limited non sushi offerings. The staff are very good, friendly and efficient but they do seem to get overloaded quickly and during busy periods service can be slow.

Thank jasejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you so very much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoy dining with us and we appreciate the constructive feedback as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This is to complain about a very unhappy experience when I tried to place an order with your restaurant. After I placed the order after looking at the online menu,I am informed that there is a minimum order of 60 aed for me to get my delivery. It is very unethical for your restaurant to say that because it is not written anywhere that there is a minimum order. Clearly says in the menu that free delivery. Photo attached. Get your facts right for customers when you run business.
I'm not asking for charity when I place an order from the menu knowing the price.

U just lost one customer

Upset is not the word.

John Joseph

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We are very sorry for your negative experience as this is not the kind of experience we strive for our customers. Thank you for giving us your contact info on Facebook so our management can contact you directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The food here is so good and the portions are filling. I ended up coming back to this location twice and was happy to find another location at Masdar City in Abu Dhabi. The service was very good and I would recommend Sumo Sushi & Bento to any sushi fan visiting Dubai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate the wonderful feedback. Thank you for visiting Sumo Sushi & Bento!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Coming from Hawaii, where we have plenty fresh fish, we know freshness. After 19 hours of plane travel, we still got back home quality. The service prompt and respectful. The decor, modern and an open air feeling. My wife had yakisoba, she loved it. The drinks are fabulous in every way. Again, prompt and respectful service with freshness = 5 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenneckes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate the wonderful feedback. Thank you for visiting Sumo Sushi & Bento!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

best sushi in dubai gr8 menu we went for lunch the service is slow as they are full with customers ut the food arrived was great

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank ettroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumoManagement, Manager at Sumo Sushi & Bento, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for the review...we really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumo Sushi & Bento also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Sumo Sushi & Bento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing