We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Metro Al Barsha
Ranked #373 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were on a business trip and we stayed in this hotel. The building looks ok not more for the outside. Upon check in they told us that we were upgraded to one bedroom which was very nice but when we entered the room the feeling changed. the room are spacious true but u can see scratched and marks on the wall in all the room, the floor was dusty and hair all over. The towels in the room had stained same as the bed sheets and pillows. the price of this hotel was cheap in comparing to some other hotels but minimum cleanliness should be there.
the only good things about that place is that it is close to Mall of the Emirates and the availability of an underground parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
23
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked a family sized apartment for upto 4 adults. The apartment was about £99 a day plus tax. We were actually given 2 full sized apartments with a connecting door. We had 2 kitchens, 3 bedrooms, a living room and 4 bathrooms. Amazing! The rooms were very clean and the beds made up every day. Staff were very friendly. There is a small corner shop across the road selling most things required to stock up a kitchen for breakfast cooking. There was a chinese restaurant and takeaway and a thai reastaurant and takeaway just 50 meters up the road. Also the Mall of the Emirates was about 10 minute walk away with every shop you could think of and lots of different eating establishments to suit all tastes. The Dubai ski slope is also in this mall. You can also get the metro from the mall to The Creek, the airport and The Dubai mall with the Burj Khalifa. All in all a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach fl.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is as basic as you can get it is a clean hotel with the basic rooms it seems to me that it is old and has not been upgraded in quite some time ,but it is a good place to stay for one night or two ,it has a small dining area that has some good food ,and a nice mall across the street and many shops down the street ,not bad for a day or two

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosco03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've had overnight stays in this hotel whenever we have an event to attend in Dubai... it was always a pleasant stay... not something to write home about but in Dubai where everything is ridiculously inflated, this hotel gives you what your money is worth.. the rooms are clean and big enough.. reception was always friendly and accommodating... they always allow us late check out...we havent tried breakfast (i'm not sure if they offer...) Al Barsha area is pretty okay as it's near the Mall of Emirates, not yet entirely inside the city (so you avoid the traffic and crowd) and also near the Palm Jumeirah..
Could be a bit hard to locate the hotel as Al Barsha Area (back of MoE) looks like a maze with tons of other hotels and streets that look similar (lots of roundabouts).. There was one night that even our taxi got confused in the area! I suggest you get the satellite version map in google and have the hotel's number ready with you.. they would be happy to give you directions...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyrebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Like all my hotel reviews, I base my rating relative to the price paid. Given it was New Years and i manage to book this hotel at $90 USD a night, it was a steal. However, had i paid $150+ I would've been highly disappointed. The hotel just didn't give you that clean feeling.

Arrived rather late at night, check-in was quick and easy. Hotel staff was the highlight of the property. Treated guests like you were at a 5-star hotel.

The apartment/hotel itself was spacious and had all the necessities for a long stay. I just never got the 'clean' feeling of this hotel. Arrived to no towels (they didn't have any until the morning) and a few stains on the couches, rugs, etc...But given my rate and the going rate of hotels during this time of year, it was fine.

Another huge downfall was no wifi. They had wired internet, but come on, spend a few hundred dollars for wifi.

hotel staff was great, hotel itself was so-so and the location left a little to be desired. If i could do it again i would've picked somewhere closer to the beach areas or downtown dubai.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damieniz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I have been to Dubai many times but this was the first time I spent anytime in the Al Barsha area. Normally I am only in town for a few days, but with 9 days on this trip I decided I wanted to be near the Marina and I was looking for a good price. I found both of them with Metro but was worried "you get what you pay for".

I was surprised. The hotel is new, clean and very nice. It is not a 5 star hotel, but then again neither is the price. I would give this hotel 4 stars and I would stay again. The location is near the mall (but a bit hard for some taxis to get to) and there are empty lots around it. I was able to walk 7 minutes to the Metro or take a taxi (always was able to get one out front). The only thing this hotel lacks is the grand restaurants and over the top service. I found the restaurant very nice, the bar friendly and the front office staff very nice and helpful. Frankly I think it is one heck of a deal and my only fear is that the more people that find this place, eventually the prices will rise.

Happy I spend 9 days with them.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed there for a few weeks. The staff simply does not care.
If it happened and you forget a belonging in the room after you check-out simply forget it!
Nobody from the staff takes any responsibility for anything!
Also the laundry service they are using is crap. I had several of my clothes damaged even teared and of course the hotel did not do any damn thing.

Obviously will never visit that hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Icon Hotel Apartments
#454 of 545 in Dubai
53 reviews
Grandeur Hotel
#235 of 545 in Dubai
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dubai, Jbr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Metro Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Metro Al Barsha

Property: Star Metro Al Barsha
Address: Al Barsha 1 | Behind Mall Of the Emirates, Dubai 184786, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#148 Spa Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Metro Al Barsha is a sparking new hotel apartment that brings a new dimension to the concept of hospitality. Designed especially around business life styles. 24 hrs in room dining, spacious apartments, fully equipped kitchenette, 24hrs in room entertainment (LCD TV), business centre, boardroom, high speed internet, in room safety box, covered parking, 24hrs lobby cafe, gymnasium, sauna, steam bath, housekeeping & laundry services, complimentary shuttle to beach and Mall of the Emirates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Star Metro Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Metro Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing